We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Italia

Casa Italia
Rua do Gorgulho, Funchal, Madeira 9004, Portugal
00 351 291 776 510
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 428 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Best of Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Casa Italia on Rua da Gorgulho Ioja is one of our favourite haunts in Funchal. The food is excellent, and the staff are so friendly that we always feel sorry to leave at the end of our holiday. Prices are very reasonable for a good choice of pastas, rice meals and of course, pizzas. The chef is happy to make alterations to the advertised dish to suit the diner's preferences. We recommend this Casa Italia very highly.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    109
    22
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quiet but friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went there for one meal during our recent stay. We must have chosen a quiet night for our dinner beause the restaurant was quiet and so lacked atmosphere. The food, however, was really good and we enjoyed it. Prices too were reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A great Italian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

One of our very favourite restaurants on holiday. Fantastic pizzas and lovely ''specials'' at reasonable prices. Sitting inside or out, the staff there are the best for looking after you in the most friendly Madeiran way. You will not be disappointed. Do go there and enjoy

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“good food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Although the Casa Italia is small in size, it is big on Italian food. My pizza was the best I have ever had, so good that I managed to eat it all. Others in our party had pastas and risotto and all were equally good. As for the icecreams, they were to die for, and just one scoop was more than enough to round off our meal. When the bill came we couldn't believe how small it was! This is a great value restaurant and we shall be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I don't usually do a rubbish review but I feel so strongly about my experience here that I just had to share it. For at least five years now having lunch of half a pizza and salad and a glass of white wine at the Casa Italia has been one of the highlights of our holiday. Not so this time! Where were the young chatty and welcoming young waiters? Where was the best salad in Funchal, all fresh and nicely laid out on the plate? The pizza was cold and the topping was sparse. Our waiter obviously wished he wasn't there - surly and uncommunicative. When he brought the food to the table he put the plates down with such force that the sweet corn on my wife's plate rolled off and onto the floor. Granted, the restaurant was busy and they found us a table, but from then on the whole experience was one of huge disappointment. Needless to say, we won't be going there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Italia also viewed

 

Been to Casa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.