We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in attractive interior and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ca Te Espero

Ca Te Espero
Rua da Casa Branca, 40, Funchal, Madeira 9000-115, Portugal
+351 291 765 096
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 428 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $11 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ca te Espero is a typical restaurant with a long tradition. It has been known for its quality and for its cosy and homy atmosphere, since 1976.Our food quality is the result of the use of fresh ingredients in the preparation and cooking of our traditional recipes. We point out Bife de Atum com Milho Frito (Tuna fish Steak with fried Maize), Filete de Espada com Banana (Fried Scabbard fish with Banana), Pepper Steak and Pork Fillet Ca te Espero Style.We will be very pleased to welcome you!
wimbledon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food in attractive interior and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were served by a very pleasant lady who might have been the owner (but was not) as she took an interest in us. We both ordered the espetada for which she fixed tall metal rods with a hooks to the edge of our table. Onto this were hung the slewers of meat. Vegetables were good and certainly better than the watery, limp veg which we had at a restaurant a short distance down the street. The interior is attractively furnished and decorated. In all, a pleasant place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben E, Owner at Ca Te Espero, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    57
    21
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds UK
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“won't go again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Can't understand the rave reviews. We were underwhelmed. My scabbard was fine, husband's was all bone. You only get potatoes with the meal, we had to ask about accompaniments, ordered a salad between us as suggested. It was minute and no dressing offered. No wine list offered, we ordered house and it was Ok and cheap. Two staff only in a busy restaurant. Walk 3 minutes further (to the left as you are looking at the restaurant) and go to L'Osteria, it's brilliant compared to this. See reviews, and no more expensive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben E, Proprietário at Ca Te Espero, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest, we apologize for having disappointed you. We hope we can still show you that our food and service are of good quality.
Thank you for your honest opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“family favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This restaurant is the highlight of our year! We return annually and always visit twice during our week. The Pork Chops Madeira are fantastic, as is the Espetada. There is a short menu which makes the most of high quality fresh local ingredients. In twenty years, the quality has always been the same. The same staff have worked here year after year, it's a great place to go for a welcoming tasty dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben E, Proprietário at Ca Te Espero, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion.
It's very important to us to know we are doing a good job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We liked this place so much we kept going back. The tourist menu is good value and the house wine both red or white are very nice. The main reason for us going back is the passion fruit desert, we just couldn't get enough of it. The staff are very helpful and seem interested in their guests even when we asked for things not on the menu such as cheese and biscuits or lacquer coffee. The atmosphere is cosy and inviting both upstairs from the terrace and downstairs inside.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Having been to Madeira a few times now, we ventured a little further up the road, so to speak. It looked a quiet area and having both friends and our parents with us we were keen to find something to suit everyone. We spotted the restaurant, looking very pretty, and on closer inspection a very pleasant veranda. As the evening went on, there really was nothing to fault. The cleanliness, friendliness, food, what a pleasant evening. If there was one thing letting it down it was how the menu was written. It looks like a cafe menu and not too exciting and does not do any justice to the meal you will receive. If the menu was re-written to better reflect what you receive, it may encourage more to visit. Hopefully this review will help people to make the visit to this lovely find. Prices good for what you get. We returned for a second visit before we left on this holiday just to check that the first visit was as good as we thought. it was!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca Te Espero also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Ca Te Espero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca Te Espero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.