We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Portao

O Portao
Rua Portao De Sao Tiago, Funchal, Madeira 9060-249, Portugal
291221125
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 421 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hurley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Food wonderful,Staff very professional,If you are in Maderia this restaurant is a must for good fresh fish try the fish stew but only if you are hungry,portions are very generous.The homemade garlic bread is superb.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    111
    25
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good for lunch & dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We dropped into this Old Town restaurant on our first evening in Funchal (having had lunch on at least one occasion on previous visits). As always good local food, lovingly prepared, good service and the addition of complimentary Madeira.
When we stopped by later in the week for lunch it was nice to be recognised as repeat customers by the staff.
This restaurant is one of last in a line of Old Town restaurants - staff here are not as pushy to get people into their restaurant - their food speaks for itself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant in the old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

When we visited there were not many customers (true of many of the restaurants round about), but the food was good and the staff very friendly. Due to the low customer numbers, we didn't have to wait long for our food - but it is freshly cooked as stated. The cook came out at the end and we congratulated him on the food. We will go again next year. You have to 'run the gauntlet' of the many other restaurants on the way to here, as they are all desperate for business.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our favourite friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A restaurant with great character newly refurbished with lovely wood and terracotta flooring and new comfy chairs. We return here on every trip to Madeira and eat here many times. The food is excellent and the lovely staff are very welcoming. All the food is cooked to order, very fresh and comes to the table piping hot. They specialise in Flambes. One not to be missed in our opinion and we many in Funchal.

The 2 Cheesmans

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food and Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have been coming to Madeira since 2001 and always have dinner at Portao once or twice during the week. Sadly, this year we only managed once! The restaurant had been refurbished and looked great. The staff were as welcoming as they usually are - chatty and friendly and always helpful. The food is also always very good. Portao might cost a little bit more than some other restaurants, but it is worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Portao also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to O Portao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Portao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.