We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for lunch & dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O Portao

O Portao
Rua Portao De Sao Tiago, Funchal, Madeira 9060-249, Portugal
291221125
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 432 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good for lunch & dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We dropped into this Old Town restaurant on our first evening in Funchal (having had lunch on at least one occasion on previous visits). As always good local food, lovingly prepared, good service and the addition of complimentary Madeira.
When we stopped by later in the week for lunch it was nice to be recognised as repeat customers by the staff.
This restaurant is one of last in a line of Old Town restaurants - staff here are not as pushy to get people into their restaurant - their food speaks for itself.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    144
    30
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant in the old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

When we visited there were not many customers (true of many of the restaurants round about), but the food was good and the staff very friendly. Due to the low customer numbers, we didn't have to wait long for our food - but it is freshly cooked as stated. The cook came out at the end and we congratulated him on the food. We will go again next year. You have to 'run the gauntlet' of the many other restaurants on the way to here, as they are all desperate for business.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our favourite friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A restaurant with great character newly refurbished with lovely wood and terracotta flooring and new comfy chairs. We return here on every trip to Madeira and eat here many times. The food is excellent and the lovely staff are very welcoming. All the food is cooked to order, very fresh and comes to the table piping hot. They specialise in Flambes. One not to be missed in our opinion and we many in Funchal.

The 2 Cheesmans

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food and Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have been coming to Madeira since 2001 and always have dinner at Portao once or twice during the week. Sadly, this year we only managed once! The restaurant had been refurbished and looked great. The staff were as welcoming as they usually are - chatty and friendly and always helpful. The food is also always very good. Portao might cost a little bit more than some other restaurants, but it is worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place, great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Its definetely one of the best restaurants on Madeira. Stuff is very attentive, helpful and professional. The latter, judging by the delights you will be served there, goes both for waiters and cooks. You can not go wrong if you choose to enjoy one of traditional Madeiran dishes and wines. And all of this in very reasonable prices. 3 course dinner with wine can cost you up to 60 euro. No dobut you can eat cheaper, but doubtfully better.
Out of four nights on Madeira we have eaten there twice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Portao also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to O Portao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Portao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.