We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine, a divine hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Vine, a divine hotel to your Saves list
The Vine, a divine hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Vine is an interesting hotel! We chose it precisely for its designer description, but, like many other reviewers, we found some of its features a little too challenging (eg light switches). The colour scheme in the room was somewhat dark and threatening (apparently each floor depicts a season of the year - ours was supposedly summer but it felt like the depths of a British winter!) - even the corridor was gloomy. The shower was lovely and spacious - to some the separate toilet cubicle would be appealing but for us it felt cold and clinical - also the door would not shut properly, so there was a lack of privacy as you could see directly into the main part of the room! I can't believe this was intentional, yet I can't believe it hadn't been adjusted. The room itself didn't have any balcony and looked into the interior of the building, so not an attractive aspect.On the positive side very good breakfasts, a great rooftop pool (amazing at night), lovely bed and plenty of underground parking. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    224
    51
    9
    4
See reviews for
48
560
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the moment we stepped in the foyer we knew we had picked the right hotel. The Design part of 'Design Hotel' is in every ounce of its fibre, from the sleek desks to the cushions that look like rocks.

The Vine is designed to let its guests leave the world at its door and sink into the comfort of design. Only guests can access the gym, spa and terrace and guests can only get to their own floors.

Each floor is based on a growing season for grapes, ours was purple - signifying the ripening grapes ready for harvest. The colour scheme meant our room was the polar opposite of the sunny, pale rooms typical of holiday resorts.

The bathroom was perfectly set up with smoked glass and stone sink. The shower and sink surrounds were opalescent dark tiles that glinted like rich wine in a glass. The bath, while white, was a luxurious deep pool with cushions that could be used as seats.

The touch pad controls for lighting, air conditioning and the blinds needed a bit of practice (unless you are familiar with the technology), but the zones of light and dark meant that the room was never too bright and always welcoming.

We were at the front of the hotel, which meant our tiny balcony faced over the plaza with its plants, vegetable seller and busy Funchal life.

The breakfast is served on the lobby floor and is a smorgasbord of local fresh foods and quality imports. With inside and outside seating breakfast could be a quick snack before embarking on the day's adventures or a leisurely way to wake up.

I indulged in a body wrap for 72 Euro and would heartily recommend it. Guests can relax in the relaxation room with recliners, a spa bath, steam room and range of showers - from the warm and powerful to the masochistic.

We didn't use the gym, but it looked well set up with a range of cardio machines, resistance machines and free weights.

The highlight of the hotel is the supremely laid back Terrace. This roof top room gives complete privacy from the outside while affording a 360° view of Funchal. There are changing and showering facilities, tonnes of recliners / sun beds, a spa pool and swimming pool and full service from the bar. If you are just looking for a place to unwind, without the sun, you can sit at the bar on in the cosy wicker shells. Lunch was good quality and good value.

The Terrace is also home to Uva, a top class restaurant which provides BBQ meals at lunch.

It is worth quickly mentioning that the minibar is stocked with free drinks (they charge for refills) and pods for the coffee machine are supplied upon request.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front, above the shopping centre entrance. There was some noise and the sun wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We wanted a hotel that had luxurious surroundings with a difference. ..We found it.

The Vine is above a wonderful shopping centre, don't let that put you off as you would not know it was there.

The staff are all friendly and very helpful and not just because it is 5*.

The bathrooms are different but in a good way and the low lighting in the bedroom has it's advantages!!

The food and the drinks are reasonably priced.

The roof top terrace has fantastic views and a great pool.

Over all a great stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Similar to previous reviewers booked this deal through Voyage Prive. Divine hotel with a certain quirkiness. Rooms are very modern in their set up touch pad lighting and blinds best thing to do is a have a little play around with them before getting into bed for the night. Make the room work for you! Yes the bathroom arrangements are a little open plan but you get use to it. Our room was a Prestige room on the 5th floor over looking the whole of Funchal what a view, sat in our open floor to ceiling doors glass in hand watching the lights of Funchal twinkle away and in the morning with a cup of tea. On that note take a kettle. Mini Bar in room with a selection of alcoholic and soft drinks and snacks all at no extra charge ..only charge if you ask it to be refilled. We enjoy the Portugese Superbok Stout so we made good use of the Supermarket in the shopping centre under the hotel to replenish our provisions. The Infinity Pool on the roof with sun loungers and bar is a real treat ..great views over the city and after a day walking the levadas what better place to enjoy a cocktail or two. Happy hour is a little longer than a hour we had two sessions 6 - 8.30 then 10.30 to 11.30. UVA restaurant also on the roof is an excellent choice just for the view never mind the food quality and choice of wine. Breakfast is buffet choice with seating inside or out..hot and cold choices available. Including sparking wine,freshly squeezed orange juice,smoked salmon,cheeses,fresh fruit /cereal,fresh breads pastries and a wonderful lemon curd cheese cake. Small request can we have some Portugese custard tarts. Hotel is ideally situated for exploring Funchal and the Island with bus stops a few minutes walk away and Taxis just outside the hotel. We did look at hotels on offer in the hotel zone but we felt we made THE VINE was the right choice for us being in the centre of Funchal with Luxury on hand..full spa and gym also withing the hotel ( sadly we ran out of time to use it) maybe on our next visit which we are already planning! All of the staff at The Vine are extremely helpful and accommodating nothing is too much trouble...

Room Tip: HIgh floor room over looking the city...the view is magic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I booked The Vine hotel through a TravelZoo promotion for £499 per person based on B&B with a 3 course meal in their Michelin Guided Restaurant on one of the nights AND flights from Gatwick AND a welcome drink on arrival AND complimentary double upgrade (9th July for 7 nights).

Have got to say, this is a truly amazing deal for such a fantastic hotel! Everything from the check-in experience, to the bedroom, food and staff were brilliant. They really couldn't do enough for you throughout our 7 night stay.

On arrival, our room wasn't ready, however they took us straight up to the roof top bar and offered us our welcome drink - a cool refreshing beer! It's here that we met the lovely Theresa who was new at the hotel but someone they should never let go! Theresa was a fountain of knowledge on the island and gave us some great advise on where to go and what to do during our stay.

We were then shown to our room - they had upgraded our room further to a Junior Suite (triple upgrade!!). Theresa spent a good 5 minutes with us explaining how everything worked and made sure we were happy before moved on. The rooms are very high tech - everything is controlled by panels around the room. Basically the only standard machine is the TV - everything else is controlled electrically.

This is the only main challenge of the hotel - the room is very modern with dark colours or grays and browns surrounding. With this in mind, it couldn't be classed as a 'romantic' hotel, more a 'cosmopolitan' hotel. The only other possible objection is that everything is quite 'open' - if you are a little prudish, you might find the open bath and non-soundproof toilet a little not to your taste.

The roof top pool and bar is brilliant - very relaxing with great sun lounges and big enough pool for everyone to use comfortably. It couldn't be classed as a large pool - but it is not required.

The bar prices are not too bad - what you would expect from a 5 star hotel (approx. €4 for a beer I believe). There is a happy hour between 6 - 8.30pm that is very popular by the guests - take advantage of the cocktails at this time!

The Michelin Guided restaurant is fantastic - the food just brilliant and the view to match. Special mention to our waiter Hender, who was more than helpful. He always made sure our glasses were topped up and was polite and attentive throughout our stay (even during the breakfast shift).

Finally our package included breakfast - I have had bigger buffets on offer, however with the selection available, you couldn't complain. Full range of English cooked to continental and cereals. Special mention here to Charles, the main host for breakfast. He was always so polite and was actually interested in asking us how we were. It was also nice that he remembered us (or made us feel that way anyway).

Wouldn't recommend the hotel for children - not really designed for them! Perfect for a relaxing adult holiday in very comfortable surroundings.

I won't be visiting again as I like to travel around the world, but if someone is going to Madeira, I would recommend this hotel fully!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nootdorp, The Netherlands
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel on top of Dolce Vita shopping center with private parkingspace. Room was spacious with luxurious design. They clean the room twice a day with a little surprise on the pillow at night. Everything works with touchscreenpanels. The extensive breakfast was tasty with a personal touch. The infinitypool at the top of the building was a nice place with beautiful views over Funchal. Loved the cocktails at happy hour! And delicious food at UVA restaurant also on the top floor. A must visit! Personal were really friendly and well educated. I LOVE this place!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a lovely week we had in Funchal at The Vine. From our arrival we were treated with VIP treatment and the hotel is stunning and certainly delivered and looked just like the website. The rooms were really lovely, just a few issues with the shower leaking a little but the bed was amazing and we slept very well. We were disapointed to see that we didnt have an Nespresso machine in the room, even after requesting one we didnt get a machine but was never explained why. Our mini bar never got topped up either which when you have to request water every night gets quite teadious.

The pool and sunbeds were great and very relaxing with lovely fluffy towels daily. Service at the bar and restaurant could have been faster, especially happy hour when every body in the hotel wanted a cocktail and with 1-2 bar personel they struggled to give the great service this hotel deserves to give. The prices for drinks were very expensive also with a GnT being nearly 10 Euros, you do expect better service. However the bar personel and also the waiters were nothing but professional and very friendly especially Bruno who gave us exceptional service. The food in the restaurant was a bit pretentious and we only ate in there once. The food was well cooked but none of the staff knew what they were serving which was a shame as the chocolate souffle was one of the best I had eaten in a long time.

To get good local food go to the local restaurants in The Old Town where its cheaper and fresh local daily fish is served alongside great polenta and fresh vegetables.

The inclusive breakfast was OK, a good selection, however the cooked food was always warm/cold and we always had to wait for fried eggs, which is annoying. Waiting for a pot of coffee was also frustrating when it could have been available to get from a machine if it was available. The breakfast was the same every day pretty much also, which if staying for 2 weeks would have got a bit boring. Would be nice to be offered an omlette, porridge or poached eggs for a change. The homemade jam was lovely though and a nice touch was offering champagne in the morning to start your day off well.

Overall we would recommend the hotel and the area for a great relaxing holiday. We didnt want to leave and will for sure be back for the wine festival.

Funchal is great and a brilliant spot for a holiday and we recommend the wine tasting and the catamaran trip. The local market is also a great find, but beware of the fruit sellers who are great sales people!! The Ritz Saturday night buffet and caberet is a must and a very funny night. Also check out the number 1 Tripadvisor restaurant which has great food but make sure you book. The Fort is also good for dinner and Riso has great views.

Wifi very slow so choose a time when its not so busy to download emails and make sure you stay near the courtyard and a high floor as there is lots of building work going on around the town and can be very noisy.

Overall we couldnt complain for our relaxing week we had at The Vine and would recommend it.

Room Tip: High floor and courtyard nearby rooms for the peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vine, a divine hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine, a divine hotel

Address: Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine, a divine hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Vine, a divine hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, a divine hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.