We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“515 good view up to Monte” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine, a divine hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Vine, a divine hotel to your Saves list
The Vine, a divine hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire Uk
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“515 good view up to Monte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is very convenient for the centre and old part of Funchal. Ideal for us as it is away from the main hotel area.
Very modern design. Room large with bed in centre, bath was also in the room. Walk in shower, 'waterfall' design; unlike other reviewers ours did work and there were no draining away problems.
We were lucky that our room was at the back of the hotel and we had a good view up to Monte.
There was an even better panoramic view from the roof top bar.
The room was very clean and well maintained by the maids.
Breakfast buffet had very wide choice of conitnental or English, hot and cold.
We generally eat out but the meal we had in the roof top restaurant, UVA was excellent.
All staff were friendly and extremely helpful and efficient.
We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room facing towards Monte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    266
    60
    11
    4
See reviews for
60
664
35
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at The Vine. The staff is absolutely great, the room is extraordinarily the food is outstanding and the view takets the breath out of you. We will definitively come back very soon!

Room Tip: Rooms at the fourth floor has some view overlooking Funchal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just returned from Madeira having stayed at the Vine Hotel for a week.

What an experience, from walking into the reception the staff couldn't have been more helpful and the decor is stunning. Designer bedrooms and even including the public rest rooms have not been overlooked in style.

The rooftop pool, bar and restaurant are stunning and the food some of the best I've eaten - ever.

Go, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Choose a balcony, the atrium rooms look over glass, still lovely though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Really excellent hotel .Excellent location and very friendly staff. Wonderful infinity pool. Everything is cutting edge .Walk in shower is let down by badly laid floor which leads to flooding .Otherwise I would have given 5.

Room Tip: avoid 308 and faulty shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here just over a week ago.
Most things were really good, large rooms, all the design features etc, breakfast each day was excellent and loved the rooftop bar. Great central location too.
However, disappointed with no tea/coffee facilities in my room but main problem was with the shower. Every time I used it, it never drained so I either had to ring reception or get the housekeeper to fix it. Admittedly it was done promptly each time but no effort made to fix the problem, just get rid so the water until the next time. No offer of a room change even though the hotel was not full.
Would probably return, good experience that could have been great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for a week having carefully read reviews. Hotel were very helpful arranging a taxi transfer for us upon arrival, and we were checked into a room with a better view than we'd expected. We were helped to our room and shown how to work the lights etc, a source of much discussion on TA! It was fine, could be easier but its all a bit of fun. The blind did a very efficient job of keeping the room dark for sleeping. We did open it during the evening to do make up etc and the room was plenty light enough.
We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities which were not provided. But a kettle was brought to the room once we requested one and we bought coffee etc from the supermarket. But I would have expected all this to be provided in a 5* hotel. Fruit kebabs or plates of homemade sweets were brought to the room daily which was a nice touch though.
The bed was huge and very comfy and the room was well insulated from noise. The mini bar was complimentary for the contents provided which was good. If you wanted refills these needed to be paid for.
The supermarket in the shopping centre below was great for buying water and sandwiches for days out.
Breakfast wasn't always top quality. Scrambled egg always seemed to be empty, burners not always on keeping food hot and coffee often served in the teapots! For a tea hater the bitter taste of tea was obvious but after asking for fresh coffee it was just the same result.
We dined at UVA a couple of times and had drinks at the bar, both very good.
Getting a lounger by the pool wasn't always possible but the bar seating was comfy so we just used to wait there until a bed became free. The jacuzzi outdoors didn't seem to be working when we were there which was a shame.
We used the spa once just for the steam room (very, very hot!) and jacuzzi (not that warm), but it was very quiet and relaxing down there.
Overall the appearance of the hotel is quite spectacular, but maybe more focus is needed on the small things that could make it top quality. But it is in an ideal location close to many good restaurants, cafe's, gardens and tourists attractions.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Booked the Vine on the strength of its 5 star rating and location in the centre of Funchal close to the old town etc.
It located above a busy shopping centre and unless you were directed it might be a little difficult to know where the entrance was, but once inside the staff were very attentive and always helpful.
Ok the design, its a boutique hotel whatever that's supposed to mean in the real world, its very pretty and quite striking dark lighting with pebble floors all very artistic however the rooms themselves have a few odd quirks such as have been mentioned before, the showers can leak into the room area and the electronically controlled lighting and A/C system are at times frustrating with you hitting buttons until eventually something happens!
I did like the low level under bed lighting with an automatic sensor that lights up when you get out in the middle of the night for the bathroom a great idea!
Very quiet despite its location except when you were outside on the bar or breakfast terrace as there is a lot of local area building and demolition going on at the moment but that's hardly the hotels fault and would affect everyone around.
Breakfast was good a large selection and buffet style so as much or as little as you wanted, free Wi-Fi and access to a business suite with printers etc, again free, so all in all despite the minor quirks a very good hotel for what we paid for it.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be fairly quiet but perhaps an atrium room would be quietest if that was an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vine, a divine hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine, a divine hotel

Address: Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine, a divine hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Escapio, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Vine, a divine hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, a divine hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.