We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine, a divine hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Vine, a divine hotel to your Saves list
The Vine, a divine hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very attentive staff from the moment we arrived. Noticed it was my birthday from the passport and provided fizz and chocolate cake. Enjoyed the balcony room with its designer details. Great location with in easy walking distance of old town and restaurants. Will stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    266
    60
    11
    4
See reviews for
60
661
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great location in the heart of Funchal , the staff were helpful, and the hotel was spotlessly clean.
Down side: restaurant was expensive for average food, and the lighting in the room was interesting (difficult to operate) there are no light switches in any of the rooms.
Would I stay there again? Definitely .

Room Tip: Definitely ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned from aweek's stay at The Vine . The central location suited us well though I could imagine some people being put off by the entrance being in a Shopping Mall .
Our room was very comfortable , particularly the enormous bed . Enjoyed the shower . Excellent room service , nice touch the mints on our bed each evening ! Good view of harbour with cruise ships from our room . Only niggle about the room was that the lighting was rather dim , particularly once dark outside .
Great breakfasts , lots of choice , did not go for the bubbly that was available ! Did not use the hotel restaurant but tried several of the nearby small establishments which were very good .
Our first visit to Madeira , would certainly go back - and to The Vine .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is really amazing. The overall service was excellent.
Upon arrival, we were brought to our room, which was very large and nice, but too noisy for us because of the ventilation of the parking downstairs. We mentioned that to the reception and they were very willing to offer us another room. This room had a complete different layout, but was also very beautiful and large. The minibar was filled with the basic drinks, like water, orange juice, coke and beer. This was for free, but if you wanted to have it refilled you had to pay for it.
We never experienced this in another hotel except in an "all in" resort.
The pool at the roof was also very nice. It was very relaxing sitting there in the comfortable sunbeds. Towels and umbrellas were als available.
We had half board. The breakfast was excellent. You had plenty of choice at the buffet and the food was very fresh.
The dinner was served in the UVA restaurant which was also situated on the top level of the hotel. Everyday we were offered a three course menu. The starters and the desserts were very good, but we didn't always like the main course. It was not a problem to choose another dish from the à la carte menu of the restaurant. They also had a really good wine list.
The service in the restaurants was very good.
Before dinner we enjoyed the happy hour. Between 6 and 8 pm most of the drinks were offered at half price.
The hotel was situated very centrally close to the harbour and the old city.
We can definitely recommend this hotel.
We enjoyed our stay and will certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have just returned from a week at The Vine. Having not been to funchal before, we were delighted with the central location of the hotel. It is luxurious and a great base for a relaxing break. Some of the hotel was a bit tired but overall it was fantastic. We had no problems with the lights as mentioned by other reviewers. Pay attention when they show you your room and it's quite simple to operate. The waterfall shower was amazing. The roof terrace had fantastic views and it is a lovely spot to relax, although not many in February were brave enough to venture into the pool. I would have liked chairs on the balcony to be able to sit out there. Otherwise I can't see much point in having the balcony at all. Overall we were very happy with this hotel and would return

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingby, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Having read a few reviews since returning from this hotel, you can understand how some can view a few faults with the hotel, although they never bothered us. Firstly we had reservations about being above the shopping centre, but this proved a welcome distraction and never would have thought it was there. A few people have issues with the pebble floors but we got over that ok too. We loved every minute we stayed in the hotel and it deserves all the accolades it achieves, I really hope it continues to provide a high level of service as we would love to go back one day. The spa, gym, staff, restaurant almost everything about the hotel is worth it's 5*. If there was to be one gripe from me, it would be the balcony doors didn't keep much of the street noise out but that's about it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Very modern and different. We loved the bath in the bedroom. Lighting difficult. Couldn't completely shut the toilet as no handle on inside. Breakfast very good, didn't need lunch! Did not eat dinner in the hotel, too much choice elsewhere. Wardrobe difficult to open. Terrace very good and lovely swimming pool. Would go again and explore the Island further.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vine, a divine hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine, a divine hotel

Address: Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine, a divine hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Vine, a divine hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, a divine hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.