We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine, a divine hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Vine, a divine hotel to your Saves list
The Vine, a divine hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Kent
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“luxurious 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in this centrally located 5 star hotel. We stayed in Room 506 with a lovely view of the sea. Very ultra modern room with glass walls separating the toilet, shower and bath areas - I was able to soak in the bath while watching the TV.
Holmes Place gym was accessed via the lift as was the shopping centre. Excellent and attentive staff.
Reids, the Ritz and lots of lovely restaurants are all within easy walking distance. We plan to return next Easter.
Anne and Gary Skerritt

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    193
    49
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
490
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just got back from 1 week at the vine, check ok, man took us too our room 508 and showed us how to work everything, great view of Funchal and the sea. Twin room with shower, toiletries in shower were half full not new, windows in the room were so dirty I had to ask for them to be cleaned, bed and bedding ok, towels ok, had to ask for the robes, room very tired and worn marks on Walls and tables. Breakfast each morning was ok, pool area, some of the sun beds were very worn and plastic coming away at the sides which was sharp if you caught your leg on it , especially the one by the jacuzzi , the cushions were a little dirty, the jacuzzi was very cold and so was the pool, no problem getting a sun bed. The spa area was ok beds, steam room and jacuzzi which was only 31deg but the notice on the wall said it should be 34 deg it never was even though I did complain it then went to 32 deg.
The staff on reception were always very helpful and would print off bus time tables, find out what ever you wanted to know about your trips etc , they were 5 star, they even sorted out a taxi tour in a village after we got off the bus tour which was a great help as the bus did not go we're we wanted to go.
I would rate it as a 4 star, it just needs a bit of attention to the sunbeds, cushions and decorating etc to keep it up to the 5 star standard, as it is it will never make the leading hotels of the world list.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the town. 508 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sure very expensive but very beautiful. Not a stereotype design hotel, very particular and personal. Nice time there. Enjoy the pool on the roof, with the better panorama of the city. Mountains and sea.

Room Tip: The suite are really exceptional, with bath in front of the windows, in the center of the room. A sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very modern hotel, we loved it. The rooms were lovely - we had an internal view over the shopping centre roof so no view to speak of, but that's ok: we weren't there to sit and admire a view. The service is excellent, rooms cleaned perfectly every day, breakfast was fantastic (lovely fresh OJ and loads of choice) and with a sensible closing time of 10:30 so our teenage daughter didn't have to get up at crack of dawn! The roof top is everything we thought it would be - very stylish and no problem getting a sunlounger. Drinks are pricey, but then hotels always are.The location is totally central so ideal for the great selection of restaurants and cafes, and the port, but there is no noise whatsoever from outside when in your room. My only small critisisms would be regarding the bathroom: the shampoo and shower gel were extremely difficult to get out of the bottles, the mirror was a bit too dark/tinted to do make up well, and the hairdryer is not very good. It's in a drawer under the sink, which would be ok if the wire would stretch, and if it wouldn't cut out on a regular basis due to it getting a bit hot!Otherwise - well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid, spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Gorgeous views from the 360º Bar, great buffet (eggs and pancakes made to order, huge variety, champagne, freshly squeezed juices, homemade pastries), the service was beyond this world. The pool at the 360º Bar was amazing, the restaurant UVA was great too.

Our room was on the smaller side with views to the roof of the shopping mall, but other than that, we loved the design and quirks.

The spa was tiny but never crowded so basically just for the two of us, there's a sauna, the showers and the jacuzzi, good enough given it's free.

It remains our dream destination after having stayed at different hotels around the world.

Location was unbeatable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Apart from the rooms on the top floors and to the south elevation, rooms either have street or internal views which are/were slightly disappointing.
Also the out door breakfast room is in the middle of the hotel and is enclosed by the seven floors of the hotel.
The hotel is attached or part of the dolca vita shopping complex and has an entrance off of the mall entrance.
On the positives the hotel is in the centre of Funchal and has great view from the roof terrace. The dinner menu is limited with a lot of fish incorporated within it's content but good value at 40 euros a head plus wine and drinks.
Cocktail happy hour 6-8pm average usual cost 9-15 euros and well presented from friendly staff.

Room Tip: choose or request a room on the east or south elevations for road or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at The Vine for one week. On first impressions the hotel looks ok, bit strange that you walk through the entrance of a shopping centre to get there. The reception area looks nice, origional and stylish. The reception staff are very very helpful and friendly. The cleaning staff in particular are excellent and provided such an excellent service. The bar/waitress staff are a different kettle of fish!

The hotel room- stylish and you have free access to the mini bar, which is mini. However, it costs to get it refilled. The shower was good, with two different heads one detachable, one not. The beds are very comfy but you are in darkness and there is no mirror in the room do your makeup, so this has to be completed in the dindgy bathroom. The hairdryer is rubbish and the cable hardly manages to stretch from the draw to your hair. It also overheats causing it to turn off. The touch screen lighting facilities are unique and appear quiet fancy but they soon get annoying. The room was very clean though and maintained well. Shame there was no balcony and the views were of other rooms, dull!

The food- not at all divine. We had a bed and breakfast deal. The breakfast is lukewarm at best. The lukewarm food is kept in these metal containers, kept warm by only a candle underneath which they only light once the food is been put in. The bacon is very greasy, the eggs undercooked, it really was awful. The orange juice was literally freshly squeezed, take a sieve unless you like bits, it was barely a liquid more like a lumpy soup. You can order off the menu but they want you to pay extra for this. If you decide on this hotel, give breakfast a miss and go to the cafe/bakery on the edge of the shopping mall. Cheap and delicious.

The drinks- ugh! The hotel has a gorgeous roof top terrace. The views are beautiful and its so pleasant up there. The only problem, the miserable, amateur staff. We were informed that they were out of two spirits, which took out half the menu!!! So we decided on a white Russian and a Manhattan. The moody waiter served us our drinks, one was drinkable one was not. The Manhattan- DO NOT go there. I had to order a lemonade to dilute the toxic solution. We nicknamed the waiter Manhattan and quite frequently saw him around the bar and for this reason did not order any more drinks. The waiters do not taste their cocktails before serving, I wonder why? Blow there head off.

Good location as you feel out of the tourist part of Funchal, therefore not surrounded by hotels. One concern on a night, a prostitute and her pimp hanging around outside the hotel on an evening. Made you feel wary especially when getting into the lift to take you to your room, as anyone can access this lift. You need your room key to make it work but if someone follows you in, you've had it! Interesting and a gorgeous roof top terrace, not 5* though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vine, a divine hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine, a divine hotel

Address: Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine, a divine hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Vine, a divine hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, a divine hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.