We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but with reservations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Vine Hotel to your Saves list
The Vine Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua dos Aranhas, 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great but with reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 10 days 27/04 to 7/05. The hotel is great and the staff could not be any more pleasant and helpful, in particular Joao, Marco, Irene and Fabio. Our room no 216 is an Atrium room which is on the 1st floor above the lobby and is lovely and very modern but there is a taxi rank directly below and can be noisy. The only thing wrong with it the lack of storage space - one drawer, one wardrobe although there are two but one is taken up by the safe and mini bar ( the contents of which are free until exhausted and if replenished at your request then there is a charge thereafter) The internet is free with two terminals and printer.
One thing which has us confused is that there are 79 rooms - the roof top pool has 13 double loungers and about the same singles so will accommodate maybe 40 people what happens when the hotel is fully booked and everyone wants to sun bathe?
we were on B&B the breakfasts were very good, no waiting for 20 minutes for eggs as other reviewers have mentioned.
The lounge and restaurant furniture are worn almost to collapse and the arm chairs are uncomfortable. But overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    322
    67
    16
    4
See reviews for
84
821
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed four days at the hotel and was stunning. I am a mother of 3 small children and was looking for a great place to celebrate 10 years of marriage. could not have found better paradise.

We've travelled to Madeira a few times and love the island, so it was our first choice and have found a hotel of this quality, made our trip memorable.

We had a great reception at the hotel, the service was really good, friendly people and always ready to help.

The room was beautiful, spacious, nicely decorated. I had read other reviews here, but didn’t had any difficulty with the control of lights, actually found a greater value, since you can create different ambiences. I found it very original the flooring of showers. Excellent bed, was probably the best bed I’ve ever slept.

The hotel has a very good energy, is very central allowing great walks, but we were always willing to return ... We had great luck with the weather and we enjoy the rooftop, oh the rooftop was amazing, the first time that we were there, as soon as the elevator doors opened, a breathtaking view. The best point of the hotel, where you can enjoy the 360º view. We had every day a drink in the afternoon in the bar, really a nice place to be.

We had dinner in UVA, which was another delightful surprise. What a wonderful dinner, very good food, beautifully served and excellent service. The wine was recommended by Vitor, who was a sympathy and helped us choose the best nectar for the occasion.

We loved the couple massage at the spa. What a relaxing place! I found the reduced light, perfect for total relaxation. The girls were very nice and invited us to the relaxation area and served red tea, delicious

Thank you all that made our holidays perfect.
A special thanks to Charles from the restaurant, for treating us so well.

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I travelled with 5 friends to Madeira and stayed at The Vine. The first thing to say is that it is in a fantastic position. Apart from the view over the harbour and the sea, access to the town is excellent. There was an easy walk to the old town and the many restaurants, all the restaurants we used were very good. Although when we arrived we thought the modern design of the hotel was a case of form over function, in fact we quickly got used to the lighting, heating etc. the only criticism is that two of our party, who were friends sharing a room, felt the bath, shower and toilet were a little too intimate for them. The beds are so comfortable and the pillows are the biggest, comfiest I have ever experienced.

The breakfast at the vine was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We were there in February and the top floor restaurant was not open so we did not eat at the hotel apart from breakfast, we used it as a base to visit other restaurants in the town. When we took a trip up the coast and saw the block after block of high rise apartments and hotels on the northern side of Funchal we considered ourselves very lucky to have a hotel in such a wonderful position. We would all stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in standard rooms and looked over to the harbour. The rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We came across the Vine Hotel by accident in the sense we heard about it but did not go looking for it ,after that we had lunch three times in their rooftop terrace restaurant, the have an a'lacarte menu plus the menu of the day ,great choices and the daily menu proved to be big success so much so this was the reason to return also the view across the rooftops of Funchal down to the sea is also worth a visit, great service by some attentive staff especially Fabio who was always available with great advice of local sites and things to do a man who was proud of his Island and of where he worked .I wish we had stayed there and perhaps on our next visit we will .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After staying in The Vine for 5 days in a half board formula, I still have some questions. In most aspects, it is far better than the typical 5 star hotel in a holiday resort but the design has gone a bit too far. I still believe in "form follows function" as adagium (I think it comes from the Bauhaus) and in this case the form is rather predominant over the function.
Anyway : excellent food, great service, friendly staff and excellent sound insulation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My Mum and I went to Madeira for a few days and stayed at The Vine in Funchal. It was a fabulous hotel, very modern and contemporary in the centre of Funchal. The location was great, the staff couldn't do enough for you and the food was brilliant.
We were on B & B but having arrived late we decided to eat in the restaurant on the roof on the first night. Lovely food, service and choice, although quite expensive.
The breakfasts were very good and offered a cooked option every morning. I wondered how the hotel would be with an older person as my Mum is nearly 80 but they were very accommodating and helpful. The only negative for her was the cobbled shower room and bathroom, which she found uncomfortable on her feet (although they do supply slippers)
We didn't use the spa but had a look around and it looked lovely. There is a Holmes Place Gym underneath which I used as guest and was great
We got a very good deal on a fairly late booking which made it fabulous value for money.
We will both be going back

Room Tip: There was some noise at night as we were in the centre of Funchal but no more than you would expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a very particular type of hotel. Its very avant garde by the standard of most hotels I have ever stayed in. I would say it won’t be the cup of tea of everyone.

It’s been mentioned by other reviewers that the hotel sits above a shopping mall with the entrance to the hotel being shared with the mall. Unusual to say the least, but once up the stairs or taking the private lifts (room key card for all floors except reception) you know you are in an unusual hotel. First thing I noticed was the cobbled floor in reception and outside the lifts on every floor. A bit odd pulling your wheeled suitcase across it!

The lounge sitting area next to reception is very modern and hardly used which I didn’t find surprising. It just didn’t seem to have the atmosphere of a lounge to sit in for any length of time. The dining area next to the lounge was well laid out and tables were well separated. This is where half-board and breakfast (both buffet style) are taken. We enjoyed the food and ambience. Service was very friendly and good. Most staff spoke good English and at least one other language.

The roof top terrace though makes up completely for the lounge. A truly wonderful open area with comfortable seating and a bar to order drinks and food. Loungers for sun worshippers, plus slightly separated outside eating tables for the swish restaurant that shares the roof.

The pool is up here on the roof and you can see the complete skyline of Funchal from every part of the roof including from standing in the pool. The view of the harbour, sea and mountains is uninterrupted from every angle and is great in the day and even better at night with all the lights of the town and any cruise liner berthed in the harbour shining away. The Harbour is just a short 5 minute walk away.

We had one of the bigger suites with a bathtub in the room opposite the bed. A large floor to ceiling glassed shower with a fabulous waterfall style of poured water and a really odd sink and faucet arrangement which is style over substance and took me days to work out how fill for shaving purposes! The lighting and other controls took some playing with but once you try them out it became easier to use. There was a button for getting your room serviced, but seems to be ignored by housekeeping. The room was made up at very different times while we stayed there.

A final good point is that the hotel is in the town, so much closer to the action than the many beach type hotels outside the town and great for coffee and cake.

If you like things a bit quirky and you prefer being in the action (though not in a noisy spot) then you would like this hotel. We’re planning another trip to the island and we will definitely stay here again. Can’t say better than that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#18 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Address: Rua dos Aranhas, 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.