We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The divine vine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine, a divine hotel

Save Saved
You added The Vine, a divine hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vine, a divine hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The divine vine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I travelled with 5 friends to Madeira and stayed at The Vine. The first thing to say is that it is in a fantastic position. Apart from the view over the harbour and the sea, access to the town is excellent. There was an easy walk to the old town and the many restaurants, all the restaurants we used were very good. Although when we arrived we thought the modern design of the hotel was a case of form over function, in fact we quickly got used to the lighting, heating etc. the only criticism is that two of our party, who were friends sharing a room, felt the bath, shower and toilet were a little too intimate for them. The beds are so comfortable and the pillows are the biggest, comfiest I have ever experienced.

The breakfast at the vine was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We were there in February and the top floor restaurant was not open so we did not eat at the hotel apart from breakfast, we used it as a base to visit other restaurants in the town. When we took a trip up the coast and saw the block after block of high rise apartments and hotels on the northern side of Funchal we considered ourselves very lucky to have a hotel in such a wonderful position. We would all stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in standard rooms and looked over to the harbour. The rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    177
    42
    8
    4
See reviews for
39
436
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We came across the Vine Hotel by accident in the sense we heard about it but did not go looking for it ,after that we had lunch three times in their rooftop terrace restaurant, the have an a'lacarte menu plus the menu of the day ,great choices and the daily menu proved to be big success so much so this was the reason to return also the view across the rooftops of Funchal down to the sea is also worth a visit, great service by some attentive staff especially Fabio who was always available with great advice of local sites and things to do a man who was proud of his Island and of where he worked .I wish we had stayed there and perhaps on our next visit we will .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerlo, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After staying in The Vine for 5 days in a half board formula, I still have some questions. In most aspects, it is far better than the typical 5 star hotel in a holiday resort but the design has gone a bit too far. I still believe in "form follows function" as adagium (I think it comes from the Bauhaus) and in this case the form is rather predominant over the function.
Anyway : excellent food, great service, friendly staff and excellent sound insulation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My Mum and I went to Madeira for a few days and stayed at The Vine in Funchal. It was a fabulous hotel, very modern and contemporary in the centre of Funchal. The location was great, the staff couldn't do enough for you and the food was brilliant.
We were on B & B but having arrived late we decided to eat in the restaurant on the roof on the first night. Lovely food, service and choice, although quite expensive.
The breakfasts were very good and offered a cooked option every morning. I wondered how the hotel would be with an older person as my Mum is nearly 80 but they were very accommodating and helpful. The only negative for her was the cobbled shower room and bathroom, which she found uncomfortable on her feet (although they do supply slippers)
We didn't use the spa but had a look around and it looked lovely. There is a Holmes Place Gym underneath which I used as guest and was great
We got a very good deal on a fairly late booking which made it fabulous value for money.
We will both be going back

Room Tip: There was some noise at night as we were in the centre of Funchal but no more than you would expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a very particular type of hotel. Its very avant garde by the standard of most hotels I have ever stayed in. I would say it won’t be the cup of tea of everyone.

It’s been mentioned by other reviewers that the hotel sits above a shopping mall with the entrance to the hotel being shared with the mall. Unusual to say the least, but once up the stairs or taking the private lifts (room key card for all floors except reception) you know you are in an unusual hotel. First thing I noticed was the cobbled floor in reception and outside the lifts on every floor. A bit odd pulling your wheeled suitcase across it!

The lounge sitting area next to reception is very modern and hardly used which I didn’t find surprising. It just didn’t seem to have the atmosphere of a lounge to sit in for any length of time. The dining area next to the lounge was well laid out and tables were well separated. This is where half-board and breakfast (both buffet style) are taken. We enjoyed the food and ambience. Service was very friendly and good. Most staff spoke good English and at least one other language.

The roof top terrace though makes up completely for the lounge. A truly wonderful open area with comfortable seating and a bar to order drinks and food. Loungers for sun worshippers, plus slightly separated outside eating tables for the swish restaurant that shares the roof.

The pool is up here on the roof and you can see the complete skyline of Funchal from every part of the roof including from standing in the pool. The view of the harbour, sea and mountains is uninterrupted from every angle and is great in the day and even better at night with all the lights of the town and any cruise liner berthed in the harbour shining away. The Harbour is just a short 5 minute walk away.

We had one of the bigger suites with a bathtub in the room opposite the bed. A large floor to ceiling glassed shower with a fabulous waterfall style of poured water and a really odd sink and faucet arrangement which is style over substance and took me days to work out how fill for shaving purposes! The lighting and other controls took some playing with but once you try them out it became easier to use. There was a button for getting your room serviced, but seems to be ignored by housekeeping. The room was made up at very different times while we stayed there.

A final good point is that the hotel is in the town, so much closer to the action than the many beach type hotels outside the town and great for coffee and cake.

If you like things a bit quirky and you prefer being in the action (though not in a noisy spot) then you would like this hotel. We’re planning another trip to the island and we will definitely stay here again. Can’t say better than that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just back from a ten night stay at the Vine. Overall we had a good holiday. The location is just brilliant only a three minute walk from the main shopping street in Funchal and another two minute walk from the marina (Note.. lots of heavy industrial building work going on either side of the marina to create a beach and additional park area). The top floor sun deck and pool area is excellent with large double sized loungers. We had a lovely big atrium facing room. Yes all the comments re the dull lighting and the slightly leaking showers are true. It is like an old italian sports car..it looks fantastic but doesnt work to the same high standard. The staff were fantastic to us and made us feel special. Breakfasts were good as long as you only use the buffet, if you ordered eggs (as you have to separately) then they could take 20 mins). We thought overall that the design and location of the hotel was 5 star, re lighting and shower problems 3 star, meals (breakfast 4 star..evening meals 2 star, pool area 4 star and staff 5 star. If you get your holiday here for a good price (and we did) then you will be satisfied but dont pay full price or you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: I would say the rooms are good if you pay a discounted price. We were on a third floor atrium room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The standard at this hotel is far from 5 star. The mirrors everywhere and subdued lighting were disconcerting to say the least. There is a lack of easy chairs and the furniture in the Terra Lounge does not match and is in bad condition with lots of frayed chairs and wonky tables.
The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you but there are not enough of them and they are constantly rushed off their feet. The bed linen and towels are luxurious.
The UVA restaurant is excellent and well worth a visit.
The gadgets in the bedroom were fully explained initially but it took a while to learn to use them properly especially the multiple light switches.
I would not return to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vine, a divine hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine, a divine hotel

Address: Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine, a divine hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Vine, a divine hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, a divine hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.