We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine, a divine hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Vine, a divine hotel to your Saves list
The Vine, a divine hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Quirky but nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a very particular type of hotel. Its very avant garde by the standard of most hotels I have ever stayed in. I would say it won’t be the cup of tea of everyone.

It’s been mentioned by other reviewers that the hotel sits above a shopping mall with the entrance to the hotel being shared with the mall. Unusual to say the least, but once up the stairs or taking the private lifts (room key card for all floors except reception) you know you are in an unusual hotel. First thing I noticed was the cobbled floor in reception and outside the lifts on every floor. A bit odd pulling your wheeled suitcase across it!

The lounge sitting area next to reception is very modern and hardly used which I didn’t find surprising. It just didn’t seem to have the atmosphere of a lounge to sit in for any length of time. The dining area next to the lounge was well laid out and tables were well separated. This is where half-board and breakfast (both buffet style) are taken. We enjoyed the food and ambience. Service was very friendly and good. Most staff spoke good English and at least one other language.

The roof top terrace though makes up completely for the lounge. A truly wonderful open area with comfortable seating and a bar to order drinks and food. Loungers for sun worshippers, plus slightly separated outside eating tables for the swish restaurant that shares the roof.

The pool is up here on the roof and you can see the complete skyline of Funchal from every part of the roof including from standing in the pool. The view of the harbour, sea and mountains is uninterrupted from every angle and is great in the day and even better at night with all the lights of the town and any cruise liner berthed in the harbour shining away. The Harbour is just a short 5 minute walk away.

We had one of the bigger suites with a bathtub in the room opposite the bed. A large floor to ceiling glassed shower with a fabulous waterfall style of poured water and a really odd sink and faucet arrangement which is style over substance and took me days to work out how fill for shaving purposes! The lighting and other controls took some playing with but once you try them out it became easier to use. There was a button for getting your room serviced, but seems to be ignored by housekeeping. The room was made up at very different times while we stayed there.

A final good point is that the hotel is in the town, so much closer to the action than the many beach type hotels outside the town and great for coffee and cake.

If you like things a bit quirky and you prefer being in the action (though not in a noisy spot) then you would like this hotel. We’re planning another trip to the island and we will definitely stay here again. Can’t say better than that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    224
    51
    9
    4
See reviews for
48
560
31
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just back from a ten night stay at the Vine. Overall we had a good holiday. The location is just brilliant only a three minute walk from the main shopping street in Funchal and another two minute walk from the marina (Note.. lots of heavy industrial building work going on either side of the marina to create a beach and additional park area). The top floor sun deck and pool area is excellent with large double sized loungers. We had a lovely big atrium facing room. Yes all the comments re the dull lighting and the slightly leaking showers are true. It is like an old italian sports car..it looks fantastic but doesnt work to the same high standard. The staff were fantastic to us and made us feel special. Breakfasts were good as long as you only use the buffet, if you ordered eggs (as you have to separately) then they could take 20 mins). We thought overall that the design and location of the hotel was 5 star, re lighting and shower problems 3 star, meals (breakfast 4 star..evening meals 2 star, pool area 4 star and staff 5 star. If you get your holiday here for a good price (and we did) then you will be satisfied but dont pay full price or you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: I would say the rooms are good if you pay a discounted price. We were on a third floor atrium room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The standard at this hotel is far from 5 star. The mirrors everywhere and subdued lighting were disconcerting to say the least. There is a lack of easy chairs and the furniture in the Terra Lounge does not match and is in bad condition with lots of frayed chairs and wonky tables.
The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you but there are not enough of them and they are constantly rushed off their feet. The bed linen and towels are luxurious.
The UVA restaurant is excellent and well worth a visit.
The gadgets in the bedroom were fully explained initially but it took a while to learn to use them properly especially the multiple light switches.
I would not return to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed in early March and were delighted with the location and high standard of accomodation but sadly disappointed with the service at breakfast. We only stayed for four days but on two of those the service was not acceptable, on the first occasion we waited 20 minutes for tea to be served and a further 20 minutes for eggs to be cooked, on the second occasion the wait increased considerably and it transpired that our order had not been processed at all! The usual platitudes were offered by the head waiter but did not satisfy us.

Simon B

Room Tip: Although sea views are offered they are interupted by existing buildings and ongoing adjacent buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent 8 days in Madeira in December 2012. Also during the Christmass we were there.

- location:
The hotel is very well located, it is next to the pedestrian area in the centre. It is not very close to the seaside, but wee had sea view room.

- room and room service:
The rooms are modern and very comfortable, we had the standard double room which is quite big enough for two. The room service is also very good.

- personal:
... we had an incident with them.
For Christmass Evening we also subscribed for the special dinner immediately after arriving to the hotel during the check in, with 4 days before the dinner.
On Christmass Evening when we arrived at the top floor in the restaurant, we were surprised that we received table outside although there were some empty tables for 2 inside. The reason was, that when we made the booking, there were already reserved all the indoor tables. This was strange, because we were in the first half of the list of reservations and outside there were prepared just 3 tables, all the rest were inside. We didn't want to seem difficult guests, so we took the table which was prepared for us.
By the way, I have also to mention that I was pregnant in the 5th month and outside there were maximum 12 C degrees and a quite strong wind was blowing.
We asked them if we can move later inside, but the lady answered, that no, but instead she can provide me some blanket if it is needed.
So we tried to have our dinner in strong wind, in 12 C degrees.
We were served much slower than people who were inside. They also forgot to bring the water we ordered and so on.
After we had the starter and we were still waiting more than half an hour in the cold wind we decided to move inside. We thought if it is no place for us in the restaurant (although there was stil an empty table for 2 since we arrived), than we will continue our dinner downstairs in the bar, because the cold weather was unbearable. The lady told that it is not possible to serve dinner in the bar.
Then my husband got angry and asked them why we need to stay outside in the cold weather if we made the reservation in time and there is one empty table inside. Also he mentioned that they don't even care that I am pregnant and I can not have slow dinner of 2 hours in 12 degrees covered just with some blankets.
People in the restaurant were starting to look strange to the personal, so in a short while we were guided by the arrogant lady to that empty table inside and we could continue our dinner there. I have to mention that after we got inside just 1 family of 4 arrived later, but until then 3 tables were already free, because people started to leave.
For a 5 star hotel, and for a restaurant with Michelin star this behaviour of the personal is under any critics. They don't care about people at all. They don't take in consideration your comfort, will and your health.

Instead the personal at the reception was very helpful.

- breakfast:
First of all they serve everybody with fresh orange juice which was very tasty. What we liked is that there is a very nice selection of fresh bakery, and also nice selection of cereals and seeds.
What was a bit strange is the fact that vegetables were completely missing. But in rest I can say that the breakfast is fine.

All in oneI can say that the hotel is a modern one, nice and comfortable, quite well located. It has a very nice atmosphere, and you can enjoy the city view from the bar on the roof.

Because of the incident we had, I have to say that the hotel needs to improve more regarding the restaurant personal, because it is definitely not a 5 star and Michelin star attitude and behaviour.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Me and my wife were first timers in Madeira, and were so glad to have found this heavenly paradise. As soon as we walked into the lobby we were quite amazed - you feel you're walking into Paris' or New York's finest - and we kept being positively surprised. Very good service, warmly staff constantly thriving for you to have a great stay, the rooms were outstanding with beautiful design, and the spa was memorable - don't miss the treatments with some exquisite wine products. But the winning vote definitely goes for the rooftop - truly amazing views of the city, from the sea to the mountains, hard to say if better by day or by night. We spent most of our time up there - reading, at the jacuzzi, relaxing, by the bar - unforgettable. Overall fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were upgraded to a superior deluxe room without having to ask, and all the gadgets were fully explained to us- where the touch buttons were for the lights, curtains etc. The room was beautiful, but the one downside was it was so dark- us ladies like to be able to see our faces when putting on makeup and doing our hair, please note! The corner where the safe and mini bar was located was in darkness day and night, and several times I nearly tripped over the step up into the bath ( which, incidentally, is behind the bed!). Other niggles, included no toilet roll holder in the loo, the wash basin was highly decorative black marble with a waterfall tap, but you couldn't get more than 2 inches of water in it before it overflowed! Breakfast was very good, and we ate twice at the UMA restaurant on the top floor, which was fantastic. The staff are amazing, so polite and helpful, you couldn't better them.

Room Tip: Double glazing not brilliant so try to avoid the entrance to the shopping mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vine, a divine hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine, a divine hotel

Address: Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine, a divine hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Vine, a divine hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, a divine hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.