We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Vine Hotel to your Saves list
The Vine Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua dos Aranhas, 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Let down by service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed in early March and were delighted with the location and high standard of accomodation but sadly disappointed with the service at breakfast. We only stayed for four days but on two of those the service was not acceptable, on the first occasion we waited 20 minutes for tea to be served and a further 20 minutes for eggs to be cooked, on the second occasion the wait increased considerably and it transpired that our order had not been processed at all! The usual platitudes were offered by the head waiter but did not satisfy us.

Simon B

Room Tip: Although sea views are offered they are interupted by existing buildings and ongoing adjacent buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    315
    67
    16
    4
See reviews for
84
810
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent 8 days in Madeira in December 2012. Also during the Christmass we were there.

- location:
The hotel is very well located, it is next to the pedestrian area in the centre. It is not very close to the seaside, but wee had sea view room.

- room and room service:
The rooms are modern and very comfortable, we had the standard double room which is quite big enough for two. The room service is also very good.

- personal:
... we had an incident with them.
For Christmass Evening we also subscribed for the special dinner immediately after arriving to the hotel during the check in, with 4 days before the dinner.
On Christmass Evening when we arrived at the top floor in the restaurant, we were surprised that we received table outside although there were some empty tables for 2 inside. The reason was, that when we made the booking, there were already reserved all the indoor tables. This was strange, because we were in the first half of the list of reservations and outside there were prepared just 3 tables, all the rest were inside. We didn't want to seem difficult guests, so we took the table which was prepared for us.
By the way, I have also to mention that I was pregnant in the 5th month and outside there were maximum 12 C degrees and a quite strong wind was blowing.
We asked them if we can move later inside, but the lady answered, that no, but instead she can provide me some blanket if it is needed.
So we tried to have our dinner in strong wind, in 12 C degrees.
We were served much slower than people who were inside. They also forgot to bring the water we ordered and so on.
After we had the starter and we were still waiting more than half an hour in the cold wind we decided to move inside. We thought if it is no place for us in the restaurant (although there was stil an empty table for 2 since we arrived), than we will continue our dinner downstairs in the bar, because the cold weather was unbearable. The lady told that it is not possible to serve dinner in the bar.
Then my husband got angry and asked them why we need to stay outside in the cold weather if we made the reservation in time and there is one empty table inside. Also he mentioned that they don't even care that I am pregnant and I can not have slow dinner of 2 hours in 12 degrees covered just with some blankets.
People in the restaurant were starting to look strange to the personal, so in a short while we were guided by the arrogant lady to that empty table inside and we could continue our dinner there. I have to mention that after we got inside just 1 family of 4 arrived later, but until then 3 tables were already free, because people started to leave.
For a 5 star hotel, and for a restaurant with Michelin star this behaviour of the personal is under any critics. They don't care about people at all. They don't take in consideration your comfort, will and your health.

Instead the personal at the reception was very helpful.

- breakfast:
First of all they serve everybody with fresh orange juice which was very tasty. What we liked is that there is a very nice selection of fresh bakery, and also nice selection of cereals and seeds.
What was a bit strange is the fact that vegetables were completely missing. But in rest I can say that the breakfast is fine.

All in oneI can say that the hotel is a modern one, nice and comfortable, quite well located. It has a very nice atmosphere, and you can enjoy the city view from the bar on the roof.

Because of the incident we had, I have to say that the hotel needs to improve more regarding the restaurant personal, because it is definitely not a 5 star and Michelin star attitude and behaviour.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Me and my wife were first timers in Madeira, and were so glad to have found this heavenly paradise. As soon as we walked into the lobby we were quite amazed - you feel you're walking into Paris' or New York's finest - and we kept being positively surprised. Very good service, warmly staff constantly thriving for you to have a great stay, the rooms were outstanding with beautiful design, and the spa was memorable - don't miss the treatments with some exquisite wine products. But the winning vote definitely goes for the rooftop - truly amazing views of the city, from the sea to the mountains, hard to say if better by day or by night. We spent most of our time up there - reading, at the jacuzzi, relaxing, by the bar - unforgettable. Overall fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were upgraded to a superior deluxe room without having to ask, and all the gadgets were fully explained to us- where the touch buttons were for the lights, curtains etc. The room was beautiful, but the one downside was it was so dark- us ladies like to be able to see our faces when putting on makeup and doing our hair, please note! The corner where the safe and mini bar was located was in darkness day and night, and several times I nearly tripped over the step up into the bath ( which, incidentally, is behind the bed!). Other niggles, included no toilet roll holder in the loo, the wash basin was highly decorative black marble with a waterfall tap, but you couldn't get more than 2 inches of water in it before it overflowed! Breakfast was very good, and we ate twice at the UMA restaurant on the top floor, which was fantastic. The staff are amazing, so polite and helpful, you couldn't better them.

Room Tip: Double glazing not brilliant so try to avoid the entrance to the shopping mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It's not a "bad" hotel; it would be a very good 4* hotel, but as a 5* it needs to correct a few things.

The good:
- price: we got a good deal for the 4 nights we stayed at The Vine (we stayed in one of the suites); in comparison with the other 5* hotels in town the price is good;
- breakfast: good breakfast with nice service;
- the rooftop pool / lounge area: very nice if the weather permits;
- the location: right in the center of town. No need to book taxis to walk around town (10 min. walk to the "old town");
- free access to the gym (Holme's Place)

The "not so good":
- service: we arrived early in the morning... we managed to check in around 9h30 in the morning, but we asked if we could have breakfast and we were told we couldn't. It's a small thing, a detail, but nonetheless, in terms of "service" vs. "cost for the hotel" I don't think they would lose much by having said yes;
- more service: one of the nights we didn't feel like going out to dinner. The rooftop restaurant is "gourmet" and we didn't want a 5 course meal. We went the the other restaurant and asked if we could dine... we couldn't as it was only for "half board" guests. We ended up asking for room service. The food was reasonable, but it was not a good service experience;
- the room: we booked a suite and we were under the impression that it had a separate "area" to rest or work which would not be in the actual bedroom. It turns out the extra area is in front of the bed and has no space;
- the lighting: we consider ourselves reasonably "techy", but the lighting sistem is a bit complex, especially if one needs to get up in the middle of the night;
- the sound: the walls don't appear to be too thick; you can hear the next door neighbours at times;
- in room facilities / amenities: these are details but for a 5* hotel make a difference:
. no replacement of bath soap, shower gel, cotton buds, etc. during the 4 nights),
. some corners need painting, correction, etc. (not a lot, but if you're attentive to detail you'll see them);
. the bathroom leaks water out (isolation is not that good), the towels are in a rack outside the bathroom and away from the lavatory (again, details)
. not enough plugs to connect phone chargers, laptops, etc.
A few more details...

Spa and the restaurant(s): we didn't use them.

All round: it's ok... if they corrected the "details" and the "service" I wouldn't mind going back (and even paying more).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was not a resident at the hotel but was warmly welcomed at the basement spa for a treatment package which included the use of the relaxing room with a huge jacuzzi and a steam room. The treatments were first class and I was not rushed out afterwards but encouraged to relax with a glass of delicious red vine tea. I returned a few days later for a facial, which was very good and the products used were excellent. I will return for another holiday treat when I next visit Funchal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham UK
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend and was pleased with our choice. Location in Central Funchal is great for walking to shops and restaurants. No grounds but the roof top pool area has wonderful views, is relaxed and a comfortable place to read and laze.

Our room was great- very stylish but does take a while to get used to some of the mod-cons. Where are those light/blinds switches??? As with a lot of ultra stylish places there is sometimes a danger of style over substance. Such as the 'tables' in the lobby area where we had a coffee one day- the silver rocks are wonderful until you try to balance a cup on them!

Staff were always friendly and helpful and breakfast was high quality and varied.

Only one frustration- that was the wifi- every time you used it you had to log in once again - with a complex password which was tiresome when you have phones, tablets etc to check. Really does need to be sorted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#18 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,575 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
0.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Address: Rua dos Aranhas, 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Splendia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.