We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine, a divine hotel

Save Saved
You added The Vine, a divine hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vine, a divine hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 91 hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Heavenly Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was not a resident at the hotel but was warmly welcomed at the basement spa for a treatment package which included the use of the relaxing room with a huge jacuzzi and a steam room. The treatments were first class and I was not rushed out afterwards but encouraged to relax with a glass of delicious red vine tea. I returned a few days later for a facial, which was very good and the products used were excellent. I will return for another holiday treat when I next visit Funchal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    177
    42
    8
    4
See reviews for
39
436
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend and was pleased with our choice. Location in Central Funchal is great for walking to shops and restaurants. No grounds but the roof top pool area has wonderful views, is relaxed and a comfortable place to read and laze.

Our room was great- very stylish but does take a while to get used to some of the mod-cons. Where are those light/blinds switches??? As with a lot of ultra stylish places there is sometimes a danger of style over substance. Such as the 'tables' in the lobby area where we had a coffee one day- the silver rocks are wonderful until you try to balance a cup on them!

Staff were always friendly and helpful and breakfast was high quality and varied.

Only one frustration- that was the wifi- every time you used it you had to log in once again - with a complex password which was tiresome when you have phones, tablets etc to check. Really does need to be sorted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We travelled to Madeira for my wife's birthday celebration she guessed at the airport where we were going but had no idea on the hotel.

You arrive outside a shopping centre and there is no obvious sign for a hotel. Once in the centre doors with our cases a concierge appeared and escorted us to the lift and up to reception.

The design theme and philosophy grabs your attention as soon as you leave the lift and continues throughout the hotel. It is not to everyone's taste I know but we loved it.

Our room on the 4th floor was spacious very comfortable and well equipped with great shower and bath. The lighting system took a little while to work out so perhaps a bit clearer information on that would help. The blackout blinds are very effective.

The restaurant on the same floor as reception was good for a filling breakfast but the evening meal we had on our first night was mediocre at best. Fortunately we were able to dine at UVA the rooftop Michelin starred restaurant on the other nights we were in Funchal (see separate review) which is excellent.

We had Spa treatments which were very good quality if a little on the pricy side compared to the UK but you pay for the ambience as well as the treatment so overall we were happy with them.

The shopping centre was convenient and useful as well as not having to get wet, the city centre is only a few minutes walk away with its shops, cafes and restaurants we particularly liked The Ritz.

About 25 minute stroll away is the old town and fort museum where we had a lovely lunch at The Fort restaurant (see separate review). From the old town area it is easy to catch the cable car to Monte Palace Gardens and then a second cable car to the Botanic Gardens a bit more expensive possibly than a taxi but far more enjoyable.

Previously we had stayed in the Zona Turistica in Funchal and my wife did not like it greatly this time she loved it and I doubt we would stay anywhere else if and when we return in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Vine Hotel is architecturally first class and has great facilities all round particularly the rooftop pool area. Also, its reception team are about the most helpful and friendly I have ever met. I want to say a special thank you to Ana Marques in particular who was so helpful with email responses to queries in advance of my visit and gave us a lovely upgraded room on arrival and was so kind throughout our visit.

Breakfast was very good but service was slow for items ordered from the menu. However, the selection of foods on self service was faultless and of the highest quality.

The bedrooms are ultra modern and also of the highest standard. However, many elements in the room need closer attention from a comfort standpoint i.e. the night stand ledge beside the bed, a simple guide on how to manage the lighting system and the temperature of the fridge which was barely lower than lukewarm. Other housekeeping matters were stains on sideboard (which could easily be treated) and the toilet door which grated off the stone floor. But when we brought the door problem to the attention of the hotel it was fixed immediately.

The hotel location is superb but my greatest praise is reserved for the pool area on roof. It is simply outstanding and sunbathing there during our holiday was an infinite pleasure, what with the comfort of the day beds, the jacuzzi, infinity pool, ultra luxurious changing rooms and towels and of course the magnificent view.

The bar area off the lobby needs more comfortable seating and more atmosphere if it is to attract evening custom.

The two occasions we had dinner at Uma were a big disappointment, I fail to understand how this restaurant receives such good reviews and has a Michelin star. Service was anything but good but the food was amongst the worst I have ever had. But the lunches we had at the pool which would have come from the Uma kitchens were outstanding so its hard to reconcile the different standards between lunch and dinner.

The spa experience was also very good and a really fab jacuzzi.

All round a very good hotel but the food at Uma, the seating in the bar area and service at breakfast need urgent attention as they are negatively impacting on what is otherwise a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Fun to go to this 'funky' hotel for drinks and dinner. We were staying elsewhere.
Staff were all excellent and very friendly.

We went for the four course tasting menu at UVA. I made better choices than my wife and enjoyed dinner. Starter was excellent, but the later fish, meat and dessert courses lacked a little finesse if a michelin star is sought.

It's funny how by setting up expectations through the publicity I have scored 4 as I felt it didn't quite meet the offer. Whereas if they had positioned and piced the offer a bit lower I would have been pleasantly surprised and gone up to 5.

Overall a very pleasant evening. Good food, great location. Recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went here for dinner one evening. Lovely atmosphere and decor (not many other guests though) and friendly staff (albeit dressed in the bizarre corporate grey pyjama uniform).

Happy hour pre-dinner drinks are great.

Went for the degustation meal which was mixed. Some courses were overwhelmingly salty, and others just didn't "work" in terms of the flavours. We asked the sommellier to choose wines by the glass which were pretty mixed in terms of quaffability.

Would recommend "Beef and Wine" as a better, and lower priced alternative.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The dismal lighting was the main problem.4 touch pads for all the room lights,-- take a torch to help see how to manoever the many variations--they were annoying. Reading difficult, most of the hotel is dimly lit.No dressing table, so I moved a small mirror by the window to use in the daylight hours to put on makeup.
Cobbled floor for all washing/toilet areas uncomfortable with bare feet.Shower 4ft .high from floor, can be hand held. Torrential strong water from above if wanted.
Street & traffic noise at times at night, even with the window closed.
No drawers in room. Some shelves in the wardrobe area. Wardrobe handles thin, so not easy to use. I hurt my nails more than once.
No kettle. Plug socket can be found.The safe is high up--so I had to climb onto a chair to use it.
On the positive side the room was a good size, clean with a comfortable bed.The window can be opened onto a small balcony.
The roof area with pool & jacussi is pleasant. No drinks were available when we stayed, even when many sun beds were in use.
It was surprising not to have written information of meal times, time to vacate room etc.
The staff were always helpful.
The hotel is more artstic than designed for ease of comfort.We wuold not return there

Room Tip: Away from road if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vine, a divine hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine, a divine hotel

Address: Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine, a divine hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, HostelWorld, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Vine, a divine hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, a divine hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.