We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must improve the quality of the services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine, a divine hotel

Save Saved
You added The Vine, a divine hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vine, a divine hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Must improve the quality of the services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel wants to be elegant, but the staff are not prepared to this.
On check in we have to wait more than 90 minutes at the lobby to have our room ready
OK, sometimes problems happens. But you have be prepared to deal wit them. In this case the staff should have, at least, offered some compensation to their frustrated and tired guests. They don't offered even a coffee or a glass of water!!!!
It's clear that it's a lack of staff training. But a hotel that charges more than 300 euros for a room must have an efficient, warm and polite staff.
On the other hand, the rooms are very nice, clean and well decorated. We had a beautiful view of the mountains. There is a big bathtub inside, Breakfast it's only good.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    187
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
472
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is about a 7 minute walk from old town and has awesome views from the pool on the roof. It is attached to a shopping mall which seems odd but was great as it doesnt feel like it and you are an elevator ride away from a supermarket and anything else you need. Also it has the best gym of any hotel i've seen. Some negatives, The hotel room we had was very small and had a lighting system that was very confusing. After 2 days we still couldn't figure out how to turn on or off certain lights. The water fall shower was awesome but the floor slopes away from the drain so it overflows into the bathroom. Definitely eat at UVA the upstairs restaraunt if you like tasting menu type food. It's a Michelin 1 star and deserving of it. We ate there for the New Year's Eve event and couldnt beleive we felt like we got a deal for 350 euros each. That included all the wine you could drink and an open bar party afterwards on the roof. We definitely recommend the gala if you are in town for New Years.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. The air conditioned room was clean, the bed was lovely, and the room lighting controls were ‘interesting’ but not unfathomable. We stayed in a deluxe superior room (409) overlooking the front entrance of the hotel (and the shopping centre that it is built on top of.) We switched the air con off and had the window open every night - the street noise was just about ok, but that was Christmas week – it would be busier in the summer. As you walk into the shopping center there is a lift on your left, this takes you to the public reception and terrace, and with a key card you can access the bedroom levels.

The loo and shower rooms had smoked glass walls and typical Madeiran pebble stone floors – dark and attractive but nothing that absorb sounds which then echoed within the room. The room floors were not carpeted - cool and less dust for those with allergies.

The room safe had a plug socket in it. This was useful to leave items on charge - camera batteries/phones/iPad whilst out (the safe door also had a notice warning of the possible danger of suffocation– had to laugh given the size!) It was difficult to see inside the safe as it was above my head height (1.5m) so we put a small box into the safe to put valuables/credit cards in.

We enjoyed a great breakfast every day at the hotel. There is a small outside tabled area which we used once for breakfast, but were put off by others who smoked during their meals – each to their own, but we then ate inside.

The breakfast restaurant also serves meals to those on half board (which we were not.) The main restaurant is accessed via a lift to the roof terrace, it has stunning views and is open to both residents and the public. The roof terrace is also where the swimming pool/pool bar are and as we found out you can be sat there on a Sunday afternoon sunbathing, and local people dressed in their finest walk out of the lift doors, round the terrace and into the restaurant for their lunch reservation. This is not a bad thing, but I did feel a little ‘on show’ at one point with young children and grandparents taking in all the views on the terrace on Dec 26th prior to their meal!

I had read in previous articles about private parties using the roof terrace and made a point when we checked in on the Saturday of asking if any private parties were booked, and was assured none were. However, that night the roof terrace restaurant was booked for a party of 20 people! There was no restaurant space and we were offered food on the terrace from the bar menu (Chicken Caesar salad and very nice.)

We ate in the main restaurant on Christmas day – there was no vegetarian main course option. My partner’s food was fine, mine was refunded.

After this and even though it is Michelin starred restaurant, we chose to eat several times in one of the local restaurants just 3 minutes walk from the hotel and to be found at the back of the large garden opposite The Ritz.

The shopping center beneath the hotel has 3 floors and the lowest has a supermarket which is open till 2300hrs – useful for shampoo if you don’t want to pack it. Talking of which - the hairdryer in the room over heated and cut out several times after only a few minutes – wish I had taken my own.

We used the indoor steam room and Jacuzzi, but not the spa massage facilities. The gym was excellent and was free to residents – my partner uses a gym at home daily and was very happy with the range of free weights/treadmills etc at this one. He forgot his training shoes, but a trip to the shopping center downstairs soon sorted that out.

We chose to have a taxi from the airport to the hotel = €35, but on the way back we walked across the road from the shopping center to the SAM bus station and paid €6 to take the local bus to the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium are probably quieter. but Room 409 facing the front was great for people wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As some other TA reviewers said The Vine is a pretty good hotel to stay at but there are some details to improve… I would say too much details to be a Divine hotel so far.
The hotel is above a shopping centre and hotel entrance is same as shopping one… it sounds odd, but is not at all a problem and in fact is cool (and practical if you need to buy something without spend much time).
Pros:
Central Location – few steps from everywhere in old town. Near restaurants, Marina (harbour), taxis, bus, everything is nearby.
Hotel – small hotel (comparison with resorts at Lido area), nice people (good service and hospitality), very good breakfast (pancakes and omelets to be ordered a la carte and huge buffet available… great fruit and orange juice). A superb roof Terrace where is a great pool (obviously not a big one) and also a great jacuzzi. From my experience rooms are generally spacious and some nice touches: great beds for good sleep; complimentary minibar (no refill … or refill with payment). Free Internet is available and works well.
Cons:
Rooms - it seems hotel has several types and so it is understandable some may be worst than others. I was not lucky and got one looking the “backstage” … The rooms are stylish but the main point are details: it is lots of high-tech but not practical as there is excessive focus on design and excessive amount of electronic buttons and motion sensors ( not easy to deal with light controls as some looks like to be “alive”).… The shower leak water so be prepared for flooding after using it. And A/C not always working properly.
Moreover as my room was so near neighbor building I had to use the blinds to get some privacy (curtains too much transparent)… but due to that I got a dark room with no view. In general

Parking - again it is not practical as they use "vallet" system and so you do not know where the car is... each time you go or return you have to ask for / give the keys and wait. it is a good example ... as for high-tech instead of keep it simple they "complicate".

Overall the 5* are due to location, roof view and hospitality. All in one this is a very good hotel and will be better as they can amend the mistakes…

Room Tip: floor 5 looks like to have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I wished you had kept to your 5* rating.
Charged for an omelette for room service, where as, there is no charge, at breakfast.
We waited over an hour for an iron and ironing board, called 3 times.
You cannot sit on the balcony, that was really disappointing.
For £300 a night i don't think so.
Everything else,was simply perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hulst
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor and booked it for a reasonable price we had a lovely time at this hotel. Room was marvellous and they checked the room twice a day and changed towels when used. My girlfriend liked the candy. We liked relaxing at the pool on the roof. We had also an excelent dinner at the restaurant at the top. The location near the city center and not in the hotel district made it perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Vine was a pretty good hotel to stay at but there were a couple of small things that let it down

Positives
1. The breakfast - is very generous and generally made the hotel
2. The price was pretty good

The negatives
1. The room service generally sucked. They had some really strange icecream from the restaurant on the room service. Just Vanilla and chocalate would have been great!! The bolognese was good. Caesar salad was strange tasting
2. The shower leaks onto the bathroom and toilet floor. I dont really like water on the toilet floor.
3. Lack on light for my gf to put on make up. Fix the lighting!!!
4. The lack of food options in the hotel. You could only choose from the restaurant upstairs but once you ate there once you dont really want to eat there again.

Overall it was the breakfast that really redeemed this place!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vine, a divine hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine, a divine hotel

Address: Rua dos Aranhas 27A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine, a divine hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Vine, a divine hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, a divine hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.