We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantic Ocean view to die for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 91 hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Atlantic Ocean view to die for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This swish modern hotel certainly delivers in terms of facilities - pool, spa, gym. And if you are prepared to lay out a bit extra on a "superior ocean view" room, you certainly get a spectacular view of the Atlantic from a sun terrace, complete with two loungers, that's almost as long as the bedroom itself. At breakfast, there is an excellent help yourself buffet, with a chef on hand to provide fresh omelettes.

The staff on reception are very pleasant and helpful, particularly. Over things like booking tours.

True, the hotel is about 3 kilometres from the centre of Funchal, but the local bus service into town is fairly frequent and good value, particularly if one buys the prepaid giro tickets that give unlimited travel on the municipal buses for a set period of days. In any case, a good variety of restaurants, cafés and bars is close by the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Mr Charles M

Many thanks for your very kind review on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations; yes we're very fortunate to enjoy an oceanfront setting and indeed have magnificent ocean views especially from the superior ocean view rooms - which have huge terraces complete with sunloungers - where you can enjoy not only breathtaking sunsets but wonderful moonlit seaviews too !

Appreciate your positive comments relative to our Reception team - who are always on hand to assist and guide our guests with all their needs.

Do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    234
    75
    10
    5
See reviews for
95
504
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel is a modern contemporary hotel located in the Lido area of Funchal which is around a 20/30 minute walk to the centre of Funchal. The hotel offers garden/side sea view rooms both offer a sea view to one degree or another, if your looking for a room with sunshine on the balcony for the majority of the day then you will need to book an ocean view/superior ocean view or suite as these are all located facing the ocean and benefit from sunshine on the balconies from early till late. If you like sun in the balcony I suggest you request an even numbered room as these are located over looking the street but get the sun from late morning/early afternoon.

It is worth knowing that subject to availability you can upgrade from a garden/side sea view to ocean view for 25€ or 50€ for a superior sea view room. The latter offers a bigger room a bathroom with a separate shower and a large balcony with sun beds and umbrella included worth the money if you can afford it.

Overall the hotel staff are friendly and helpful and an added bonus if you book your room directly on the melia.com web site you get a 15€ credit to spend on food or drink each day of your stay. The breakfast buffet though not the biggest choice we have experienced does have a good choice of both hot and cold food and the added benefit of sparkling wine so you can enjoy a Buck's Fizz with breakfast each morning .....a very nice treat whilst on holiday!

As we only booked B & B we did eat in the Il maestro a la carte restaurant on 2 evenings and the food quality was first class and represented good value for money. There are plenty of good quality restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel and you can get a very good 2 course meal including a bottle of wine for around 70€ for 2 adults.

The hotels other facilities include free wifi, car parking and both indoor and outdoor pools and good gym.

Overall we had a great holiday and the hotel represents good value for money in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Mr. PS_OtleyUK

Many thanks for taking time to share your positive review.

We're all delighted to hear you enjoyed our services and facilities; thank you too for making mention of our staff; your feedback is fundamental to us in our daily efforts in working towards achieving complete guest satisfaction and are happy to know we were able to create a memorable stay for you.

We hope to welcome you back again to our lovely island and to Meliá Madeira Mare.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel is excellent, from the reception right to the end they were very helpful and informative. They also gave us a guidebook on arrival containing trips and other information with discount vouchers for various things included. The pool area is really lovely overlooking the sea, with plenty of beds to take. The food ordered for lunch was always excellent and good quality. The breakfast room was large and had plenty of variety to offer and you could not really ask for more. Some mornings fizz/bubbles were available too which is nice to have when you are there celebrating. It was very easy to walk into town or catch the bus and the bus service was regular so you didn't have to wait too long. The hotel in general is in tip top condition, staff excellent, we have just come back from our trip early March and the hotel even though was busy busy at breakfast did not have a crowded feel to it as there was plenty of space. The room was nice and big and well decorated, and even with a side room had lovely views. Everything worked well and there was plenty of plug sockets for all your devices. I would definately recommend this hotel, it's in a great location in a nice area and it is nice to step a little out of the main town as it's more peaceful (and more sunny too)!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Ms Nicola Suzanne ... J

Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor; we're delighted you enjoyed your visit and stay with us.

Appreciate your taking time to share your experience and happy we were able to create a memorable holiday !.

Hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future !
With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have just returned rfom this hotel. Lovely place and very well presented. On my first look around in the early afternoon I was mortified to find the outdoor pool was empty. It was being given a makeover and all retiled / or grouted. Sorry not sure which. I was very sad as I love swimming. However the reason I booked here was the fact that they have an indoor pool. Which I have to say was very a pleasant temperature. Then the following morning the water started to fill the new clean pool. that was freezing, I did go in twice.
I also have to mention that I had unfortunately had an accident a week before I travelled and was unable to sleep easily. My dilemma was sorted by Catarina, a lovely young lady working on the front of house on the reception. With more bedding and feeling more comfortable I was much better. I would stay again no hesitation, very easy to find places to eat, and to take a walk and explore. Breakfast was fine and many choices. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy a drink, read a book and relax. My only tip is if you book a side sea view, and like the evening sun then ask for the side over the car park I think. We had the morning sun but wished I had remembered the sunny side. Enjoy it if you decide to go.

Room Tip: In the above review
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear forgetmeknot21

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We're delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us albeit you were not too well when you arrived.

We sincerely hope you're completely recovered and happy we were able to make you feel more comfortable and you were able to rest during your stay. Glad you enjoyed our indoor pool too..!

Thank you too for mentioning Catarina who I am certain will appreciate your kind words. She is a lovely girl and always happy to assist our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely island and to Meliá Madeira Mare.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful return visit to the Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa.We was very kindly allocated a Superior Ocean View room on arrival and was very pleased with it.These rooms benefit from large balconies which besides having a table and two chairs also have two sun loungers & parasol.

The rooms are very well appointed and are spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel.The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms have a walk in rainfall shower plus separate shower head over the bath Twin sinks with a very large mirror.The WC & bidet are separated by a frosted glass wall.Fluffy white cotton towels,face cloth and bathrobes and bath gels etc replenished daily.
Tea and coffee making facilities are provided and replenished daily.There is a large flat screen TV for those telly addicts who feel the need to watch the goggle box.We feel Madeira has more than enough to view without resorting to the TV though.

The outdoor pool had been decommissioned during our stay so that they could refurbish the tiling but this did not affect the enjoyment of our holiday at all.The hotel had made arrangements with the neighbouring hotel so that guests could make use of their pools but the Melia Mare has a fantastic heated indoor pool and hot tub with a spa complex which we made good use of early in the morning before going for breakfast.Sublime.

We was on a bed and breakfast tariff so cannot comment on the evening meals but the breakfasts was very good with enough variety for all tastes and nicely presented and even a couple bottles of alcohol (Espumante) for those who prefer sparkling wine with their bacon.Due to the hotel attracting professional business people as guests besides people on holiday there is a cosmopolitan feel to the restaurant at breakfast which makes for a pleasant change from the usual clique of the British holidaymaker at breakfast moaning about the bacon being undercooked/overcooked,not enough bottles of booze and the weather!

The hotel is situated in a very picturesque position in the lido area and although they have rerouted the main road down past the hotel it does not affect the hotel at all and they have now nearly finished building the new contra flow road system to improve traffic flow.The area is well served by restaurants,supermarkets and a newsagents just round the corner for those wanting a paper etc.It is a pleasant stroll into Funchal from the hotel and the old quarter of Funchal is an absolute treat to meander around soaking up the atmosphere of the locals and the quaint little shops ,bars etc.and no litter! It was carnival week while we was there which was very spectacular.

The staff are very obliging and hospitable without exception.We can highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a relaxing comfortable holiday base on the beautiful island of Madeira but maybe not suitable for those who like booze with their bacon,watching TV and reading the Racing Mail and Football results.Blackpool maybe a more suitable resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear MrsTDrBob

Firstly thank you for your loyalty and preference in our Resort and for posting your detailed and positive feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. Appreciate your taking time to share your experience and happy we were able to create a memorable holiday !.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was a fairly last minute holiday, booked in an attempt to escape the rain in Britain, so perhaps our hotel research wasn't quite as thorough as normal. However Melia hotels are usually a consistent quality product and we have enjoyed holidays in Melia hotels before. First impressions were really good: a large room and spacious bathroom which had two sinks, a dual shower head, a bath that couldn't be used as the plug wouldn't seal, and plenty of toiletry and towel space. The window looking into the room from the bath was rather bizarre and I struggle to imagine how anyone could have designed the room thinking that was a good idea!

The room had a side sea view, and was really designed for a short stay business trip or conference delegate, rather than a couple on a fortnights holiday. We really didn't need the two desks that we had in the room - the furniture was stylish though chunky, and we would have appreciated a little more drawer space. The bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable and we slept well. We swam in the pool and used the gym, and enjoyed our daily breakfast.

So how could the management of this hotel enhanced our stay? They could have made the room feel less cluttered by taking out one of the desks. They could make their balconies non-smoking and enforced the non-smoking policy in the hotel (Just walk around the corridors and you will smell the culprits) They could restore BBC news which has vanished from their listings. (Believe me, CNN is absolutely no substitute). They could provide a small collapsible clothes drier on the balcony, as they have at the Porto Mare. They could replace their pool towels which are looking well past their best. They could chain the single English newspaper to reception to stop the selfish idiots from walking away with it and not returning it. (We watched one morning as a couple appeared on the poolside carrying that days paper that they had taken from reception. They then took the previous day's paper out of their bag and threw it in the bin, clearly they had had it overnight. After they read the paper, they kept it on their sunbeds for the rest of the morning, left it there whilst they had lunch and it remained with them for the rest of their time on the poolside. Many of the other residents just wanted a quick look at the paper, check the sports news and return it to the reception. Due to the selfishness of a handful of individuals others were denied this facility, and that was a shame)

Without exception the hotel staff were lovely - cleaners, reception, breakfast room, poolside - everyone we came into contact with was charming, polite and helpful. This is a good hotel, but could be better if attention was given to some small details.

So my tips if you are thinking of staying at this hotel would be:
1. The hospitality tray in the room contains good quality products. Tea drinkers are well catered for. Coffee drinkers might consider taking better coffee or buying milk from the local supermarket.
2. The soap and shower gel provided are fine. The shampoo isn't so good - take your own.
3. The library on the 2nd floor contains plenty of English books to swop with and keep you entertained.

The unannounced repairs to the hotel pool gave us entry to the Porto Mare hotel next door. We thought that it looked a much nicer pool and garden area and should we return to Madeira in the future we would investigate staying at that hotel instead.

Room Tip: Reject rooms by the lifts or the noisy ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks your taking time to post your very detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We regret that not all our facilities met up with your expectations and appreciate your feedback and suggestions.

In regard to the BBC News channel, this is presently being attended to and will be available for our guests very soon.

We're also aware of the newspaper issue and the control of same shall be reviewed internally to avoid the unfortunate abuse.

Insofar as the pool maintenance issue is concerned, we regret this was done with short notice, however, we had to take this step to ensure guest safety and comfort. (Information on the pending repairs to the pool was displayed at the reception desk and in all the elevators prior to the works taking place)

Your kind remarks relative to our team is much appreciated and will shall be shared internally with all.

We do hope you will reconsider returning to our resort when you're next over on holiday in Madeira.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I visited Madeira in the last week of February, we stayed at the Melia Madeira Mare hotel, I must say that I enjoyed this visit immensely! The staff were thoughtful and attentive and the view is lovely overlooking the Atlantic ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor; we're delighted you enjoyed your visit and stay with us. Appreciate your taking time to share your experience and happy we were able to create a memorable holiday !.
Hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future !
With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Melia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.