We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but needs some tweaking to be excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Northumberland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good, but needs some tweaking to be excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was a fairly last minute holiday, booked in an attempt to escape the rain in Britain, so perhaps our hotel research wasn't quite as thorough as normal. However Melia hotels are usually a consistent quality product and we have enjoyed holidays in Melia hotels before. First impressions were really good: a large room and spacious bathroom which had two sinks, a dual shower head, a bath that couldn't be used as the plug wouldn't seal, and plenty of toiletry and towel space. The window looking into the room from the bath was rather bizarre and I struggle to imagine how anyone could have designed the room thinking that was a good idea!

The room had a side sea view, and was really designed for a short stay business trip or conference delegate, rather than a couple on a fortnights holiday. We really didn't need the two desks that we had in the room - the furniture was stylish though chunky, and we would have appreciated a little more drawer space. The bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable and we slept well. We swam in the pool and used the gym, and enjoyed our daily breakfast.

So how could the management of this hotel enhanced our stay? They could have made the room feel less cluttered by taking out one of the desks. They could make their balconies non-smoking and enforced the non-smoking policy in the hotel (Just walk around the corridors and you will smell the culprits) They could restore BBC news which has vanished from their listings. (Believe me, CNN is absolutely no substitute). They could provide a small collapsible clothes drier on the balcony, as they have at the Porto Mare. They could replace their pool towels which are looking well past their best. They could chain the single English newspaper to reception to stop the selfish idiots from walking away with it and not returning it. (We watched one morning as a couple appeared on the poolside carrying that days paper that they had taken from reception. They then took the previous day's paper out of their bag and threw it in the bin, clearly they had had it overnight. After they read the paper, they kept it on their sunbeds for the rest of the morning, left it there whilst they had lunch and it remained with them for the rest of their time on the poolside. Many of the other residents just wanted a quick look at the paper, check the sports news and return it to the reception. Due to the selfishness of a handful of individuals others were denied this facility, and that was a shame)

Without exception the hotel staff were lovely - cleaners, reception, breakfast room, poolside - everyone we came into contact with was charming, polite and helpful. This is a good hotel, but could be better if attention was given to some small details.

So my tips if you are thinking of staying at this hotel would be:
1. The hospitality tray in the room contains good quality products. Tea drinkers are well catered for. Coffee drinkers might consider taking better coffee or buying milk from the local supermarket.
2. The soap and shower gel provided are fine. The shampoo isn't so good - take your own.
3. The library on the 2nd floor contains plenty of English books to swop with and keep you entertained.

The unannounced repairs to the hotel pool gave us entry to the Porto Mare hotel next door. We thought that it looked a much nicer pool and garden area and should we return to Madeira in the future we would investigate staying at that hotel instead.

Room Tip: Reject rooms by the lifts or the noisy ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks your taking time to post your very detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We regret that not all our facilities met up with your expectations and appreciate your feedback and suggestions.

In regard to the BBC News channel, this is presently being attended to and will be available for our guests very soon.

We're also aware of the newspaper issue and the control of same shall be reviewed internally to avoid the unfortunate abuse.

Insofar as the pool maintenance issue is concerned, we regret this was done with short notice, however, we had to take this step to ensure guest safety and comfort. (Information on the pending repairs to the pool was displayed at the reception desk and in all the elevators prior to the works taking place)

Your kind remarks relative to our team is much appreciated and will shall be shared internally with all.

We do hope you will reconsider returning to our resort when you're next over on holiday in Madeira.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    275
    88
    12
    7
See reviews for
108
581
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I visited Madeira in the last week of February, we stayed at the Melia Madeira Mare hotel, I must say that I enjoyed this visit immensely! The staff were thoughtful and attentive and the view is lovely overlooking the Atlantic ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor; we're delighted you enjoyed your visit and stay with us. Appreciate your taking time to share your experience and happy we were able to create a memorable holiday !.
Hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future !
With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Spent a week at MM returning yesterday. We have been there three times now and continue to rate it very highly. The rooms are spacious and we had a great side view of the sea from our balcony. The right hand side of the hotel gives ample sunshine from around midday until 7.00pm. The room was clean and bright although no access to BBC news was a disappointment.
Breakfast once again was up to scratch although we detected a slower and almost limited level of table service for coffee and or tea. Similarly the supply of sparkling wine to accompany breakfast seemed limited and often ran out before the bulk of residents had arrived. These minor quibbles could be a sign of the times as the hotel did seem quieter than on previous visits at a similar time of year. The outdoor pool was out of action due to much needed refurbishment but the temperature was not quite warm enough for outdoor bathing and the inside pool was a reasonable alternative for the keen swimmers.
No happy hour in the bar this year and one moan at the selfish British holiday maker who seemed to snaffle the hotel's Copy of the Daily Mail each morning and never returned for others to enjoy. Suggested to reception that they impose a 30 minute maximum time with room card as a deposit to curtail such selfish behaviour.
All in all an enjoyable week once more and we will certain consider this hotel again but we did detect a slipping of standards/services this year. Still a bargain however.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your preference and loyalty in our Resort and for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We regret that some of our services and facilities did not meet with your expectations and apologize for the inconsistency.

We're presently attending to the BBC News channel and same should be available soon for our guests.

We shall also be discussing the Reception desk newspaper control with a view to avoid the unfortunate abuse by some guests.

Insofar as Happy Hour is concerned, please note this has not been dismissed at all and continues daily; the information is displayed in the weekly program and public TV channel in the lobby outside the elevators; we're sorry you did not enquire during your stay therein.

Your feedback is important to us and a vital took in our daily efforts in attaining complete guest satisfaction; hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

As part of a package holiday we arrived to receive the great news that our room had been upgraded and we enjoyed a luxurious sea view room for our ten night stay.
All staff were friendly and helpful without being overpowering and booked a hire car on our behalf.
The breakfast spread of choices was excellent and the whole hotel was sparklingly clean and without fault. Bedroom refreshing service was exceptional.
Unfortunately the weather inhibited the use of the outdoor pool that was drained for maintenance on our last day - obviously the best time to carry out those works!
We would highly recommend this hotel and said so in the hotels own customer satisfaction survey.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking time to share your positive and very kind review.

We're all delighted you enjoyed our services and facilities and your room upgrade; we're fortunate to have beautiful sea views of the Atlantic.

Thank you too for making mention of our staff; your feedback is fundamental to us in our daily efforts in working towards achieving complete guest satisfaction and are happy to know we were able to create a memorable stay for you.

We hope to welcome you back again to our lovely island and to Meliá Madeira Mare. Pity you did not stay a little longer to enjoy our fabulous carnival festivities which took place this weekend.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Price of room was excellent for such a luxurious hotel; room was very clean and comfortable, had an outdoor and even an heated indoor swimming pool which was great.

Receptionists were very friendly and approachable; helped to solve many problems, especially with booking of tours.

Buffet breakfast was very yummy with a wide variety of food available for selection. All in all, a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you kindly for your review on Tripadvisor.

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to create a memorable experience at Meliá Madeira Mare.

Your feedback will be shared with all internally and I am certain our Reception colleagues will appreciate your special mention too!
Also glad you enjoyed our Buffet breakfast!

Do hope to welcome you back to Meliá Madeira Mare sometime in the not too distant future.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly with a fun sense of humour. From reception to pool staff all tried to make our stay special, nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel was modern and clean in a perfect position overlooking the sea. Lovely for the afternoon sun bathing. Indoor pool a delight. The beauty shop reasonably priced. Also lunches at the poolside were value for money
Breakfast was everything you could imagine, from continental to cooked bacon and eggs. Milk shakes on tap.
Do not go through Thomas Cook for excursions as these can easily be found a fraction of the price elsewhere
Arriving on the Island was quite scary, and we were diverted to Porto Santos because of high winds Soon forgotten!
All in all Thomas Cook arranged a fantastic holiday. Let's hope we can do it next year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking time to post your feedback!

We're all smiling very widely and are very delighted that you had a memorable experience with us.

Your very kind comments are appreciated and have been shared internally with the entire team back here; its feedback like yours that encourages and motivates us all to deliver on our brand service standards and provide memorable experiences for our guests.

We're also fortunate to have a dedicated and friendly team of staff members working with us and glad you enjoyed their fun sense of humour.

In closing we're sorry about the landing, however, passenger safety is always top priority and the experienced pilots opt to re-route to the neighbouring island until the high winds subside - which incidentally only happens occasionally.

We do hope to welcome you back again to Meliá Madeira Mare sometime in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards and best wishes from Funchal !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our recent stay in this excellent hotel was very relaxing. The staff were attentive without being intrusive and always happy to help. My wife is a coeliac but had no problems with the food with recipes adapted for her as appropriate (this doesn't happen in most hotels we go to, she is usually given very limited options no matter what the star rating is). There was music entertainment most evenings in one of the bars despite it being low season. The hotel is on a reasonably busy street but there was surprisingly little disturbance from it.The staff are the hotel and the staff here are superb. Full marks all round!!

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces east to overlook the decking and a side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor.

We're glad you had a relaxing stay with us and thank you for your kind comments.

Also pleased to hear we were able to provide meal options for your spouse and thank you too for making mention of that.

Appreciate your complimentary remarks relative to our staff which will be shared internally with all and can assure you that your feedback serves to incentivate us all to continue in providing friendly and personalized service - without being intrusive and thus allowing our valued guests to relax and enjoy their holiday experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.