We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the staff that make it great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It's the staff that make it great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for a week, full board, in a suite from 25th October 2013. The staff were fantastic, they could not have been more friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is not perfect, some areas could do with a refresh but the food was excellent, our room was spacious and the pool area very nice indeed. Overall a great and memorable week in a beautiful location, we will go back for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean facing Rooms are good value. Our suite had a beautiful sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your positive review on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your kind comments relative to our staff, which will be shared internally with everyone. Yes, Meliá Madeira Mare is pretty well located in the Lido area of Funchal - on the oceanfront and within walking distance to restaurants and pubs.
We're glad we were able to contribute towards your memorable week in Madeira and look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    275
    88
    12
    7
See reviews for
108
581
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights with half board. God breakfast and dinners. 4,5 euros for glass of beer or wine at dinner table 6 euros for at gt in the bar. live music in the bar all days, but the lights kill the mood. Generally bad use off lights true all areas in the hotel. The spa was OK, but big differences on the staffs performance. Ask for for Roy he was the best masseur. Pool area was big, the pool not so large, and the indoor pool was shallow more for treatment. Less for swimming.The area the hotel is located in is great for walking and swimming in the sea. And important for me, it offers free indoor parking. Room 507 is good and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor and for your preference in our Resort.

We're sorry not all our services and facilities met with your approval and apologize for any inconsistency on staff performance; your feedback is of vital importance to us in our constant efforts in achieving complete guest satisfaction.

We do hope to welcome you back to Meliá Madeira Mare sometime in the near future.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

this is without a doubt one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in.its top class yet casual and reaxed with every member of staff more than willing to assist with your every need..the room was super with sea view,nice bars and a choice of lobby bar with music,pool bar,buffet restaurant or a la carte.it located 20 mins walk from central funchal,a little further to old town.lots of restaurants and bars close by.we were invited to captains table for dinner one night and it was lovely,the manager is always available and a really nice guy,cant say enough good things about it

Room Tip: has to be sea view not that much extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking time to post your review.

We're absolutely delighted to read your positive and kind comments and happy we were able to deliver on our Brand Standards.

Glad you enjoyed the Captain's dinner with our Manager and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back sometime in the near future !

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here 13 to 2o October, and was most impressed with Fatima, who worked at breakfast and the pool bar. She just a great girl, so hard working, and so friendly. She is an asset Melia. Hold on to her and reward her well!!! Great hotel overall, no complaints. We got bottle of bubbly for our anniversary on arrival, much appreciated. Only thing is we enquired re bus services as wanted to visit sao lorenco to walk, and information regarding times was not great. We hired a car in the end. Better idea anyway!!

Room Tip: higher numbers as in floor no say 5, and higher number after that, ie 534 better than 522 as nearer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your review.

We will be sure to pass on your very kind comments to Fatima who will be very pleased and appreciative of same and this will undoubtedly motivate her even further in our efforts towards attaining complete guest satisfaction!.

We're happy you enjoyed your stay on the whole and thank you for choosing our Resort to celebrate your anniversary!. Our very best wishes to you for many more wonderful anniversaries filled with lots of health and happiness always!.

We apologize for the times issue relative to the Sao Lourence walk and have made a note to address this internally.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went to Madeira to write, study and relax. Worked out fine. Quiet hotel, nice room for computer work, ok wifi. There was access to the sea nearby, which was great. Great breakfast buffet.
Only problem was heat in the night. Not very useful air condition at nighttime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole and apologize for the air conditioner problem, which has been addressed internally.

Thank you for your preference in choosing our Resort for "study and relax".. do hope your studies are going well and that you had a relaxing time with us !

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Good location, friendly staff, clean. Comfortable room. Good food .
Yes , I would stay again. Didn't have a sun umbrella but was soon sorted. Free safe which is always a bonus. Balcony with sea view. Free Internet .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted to hear our services and facilities met with your expectations and look forward to welcoming you next time you decide to visit our lovely island.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and were not disappointed. It is a destination for older people I would suggest and although we love kids this was a great choice for good food, comfort, great weather with peace and quiet. Even the flights were scream free. The hotel is excellent and the staff helpful and polite, so hard working. Breakfast was from a buffet which provided a good choice although on our last two days there was no muesli. We didn't have a dinner in the hotel but the menu looked interesting but when there are so many too choose from a few are going to get missed. Anybody in the industry should go and make Fatima an offer she can't refuse, she speaks at least 3 languages and just never stopped working, what a gem. The public areas were clean and tidy, the indoor pool looked great and the outdoor was well supplied with sun beds although a couple of the parasols were broken.

Our room faced east so got the morning sun and the balcony was a great place to get shade later in the day. A good size, well kept and comfortable. The bathroom was kept supplied with toiletries and towels changed as require. The aircon was quite noisy though.

Not badly placed, there is a pleasant promenade walk and shops and restaurants on the doorstep It's a bit of a hike down to the old part of town, anywhere between 35 and 45 minutes, mostly uphill coming back! but there are some great restaurants worth a visit for a bit of atmosphere. A good way to pass a couple of hours is to sit in the Ritz café/bar, listen to the live music and watch the world go by.

However opposite the hotel is the White Candle which does great food and specialises in Flambe, The fillet steak was superb, service is possibly a little slow but who cares when your on holiday, a glass of wine in hand and great weather.

Would we go back? most certainly. Well done the Melia and staff.

Room Tip: Probably best to spring for the extra cost of the South facing larger rooms with big balconys and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Many thanks for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us at Melia Madeira Mare and that our services met with your expectations.

We thank you too for your kind comments relative to our staff and special mention of Fatima - (she will be delighted to know that) - same will be shared with all internally.

Your feedback is fundamental in our constant efforts to meet with brand standards and appreciate your taking time to share your experience.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the near future!

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.