We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless and enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 9 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Faultless and enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Have just returned from an amazing trip to Funchal. Truly the nicest place I've ever visited and somewhere I hope to return to.
This hotel really contributed to our trip. My first impression was how luxurious it looked all over. It really does deserve it's 5 star status. We are still in disbelief at the price we paid and how much we got for our money.
Check in was quick and simple and extremely friendly. We made various enquiries over the holiday with various reception staff about facilities and directions. Every member of staff was always happy to help and explained things clearly to us each time.
The room was spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed, powerful hot shower, fridge and a free safety deposit box. We couldn't ask for more than that!
The breakfast buffet on offer each morning was plentiful and delicious. When I think back to what was available to us, it would be too numerous to list it all! All I can say every requirement is catered for here and was always of the highest standard.
The location was very decent for us, the centre of Funchal being about 30 minute walk away but regular bus services running nearby. However if you do not wish to venture far there are plenty of decent bars and restaurants located across the road.
All in all, I cannot find any fault with this establishment at all.. As said we hope to return to Funchal at some point in the future and the Melia will without a doubt be our top priority.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you kindly for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
It is always most gratifying to receive comments such as yours and can assure you that same is very much appreciated by all our team.

We're delighted we were able to create a memorable experience for you and that we were able to deliver on our Brand standards.

Thank you again for your great and positive review.
Look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    204
    60
    9
    5
See reviews for
79
436
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Upgrade to a suite was unexpected and appreciated; very spacious but for 2 people it seemed almost vast. we had a sea view but minimal sun so had to go down outside for sunbathing.
The ambience of the hotel is very quiet; not sure any one really showed they were having fun as the atmosphere is very subdued. The lifts are silent and very efficient.The breakfasts were of a good quality, especially the fruit. They had no muesli and did not understand a decent pot of tea so we often had to leave breakfast still in need of our second cup of tea.
The buffet meal in the evening was quite expensive but was of a good quality and choice but the £10 per person drink buffet was a poor choice for the 3 younger members of the party.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. All our guest's comments are appreciated and serve to enable us to enhance on our services and facilities.
We're sorry not all our facilities and services met with your expectations and can assure you that your remarks have been taken note of and shared internally.

We would like to make mention though that our hotel is more of a "chill out" type resort with many relaxation areas - hence the quiet ambiance; most of our guests find this ideal for those looking to unwind ...
We do hope to welcome you back though sometime in the near future and thank you once more for sharing your review.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good hotel near amenities. The hotel has all the usual facilities you would expect, however pigeons bathe in the out door pool which is not ideal The cost of drinks and food is expensive, it is significantly cheaper in Funchal.
The hotel over all is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We thank you for your comments and feedback. Your remarks have been taken note of and brought to the attention of the respective departments. We do hope you will consider returning to Madeira and hope to welcome you back !
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is just off the Estrada Monumental about a half hours walk into the centre of Funchal
There are a variety of bars and restaurants around the hotel, from fine dining at the Villa Cipriani to cheap and cheerful at the hole in one
The hotel is not huge, about 200 rooms, the rooms are fairly standard for a 4 star plenty of storage space, the in room safe has no extra charge and the free in room wifi is reasonably fast, the bathrooms are of a high standard, rooms are clean and linen changed as often as you want
Its a personal preference but I found the beds hard and not that comfortable
The pool area is not big although it was not crowded I could see it getting that way at peak times
The pool area is overlooked by the bigger hotels on each side and the glass balcony rail around the pool overlooked the bus stop, it felt there was a lack of privacy at times
Breakfast was the only meal I experienced and was at the top end of this type of buffet breakfast offer
The service from all of the staff I dealt with was good
The hotel is listed as a 5 star I think the extra star is for the spa which I though was expensive compared to other resort spas
This hotel is a good compromise between 5* standards and 5* prices

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you kindly for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
It is only with comments such as yours , that we are able to ensure that we continuously improve on our service levels.
We're sorry that not all our facilities met with your expectations and do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a great week in the Melia Mare Resort! We were upgraded to a suite with a sea view which was so beautiful, as it was my birthday the day we arrived they left a bottle of bubbly in the room, so thoughtful and it made us feel special. The view from the balcony was stunning which had beautiful loungers etc. The room had a big bed which was so comfortable, bathroom was well laid out with separate shower and double sinks, dressing gowns and lots more. The staff at reception were so helpful and nothing was a problem. Breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruits, beautiful breads and pastries, lots to choose from. The pool area was lovely but not enough umbrellas. Housekeeping staff were so lovely and came and turned down your bed every evening with chocolates left on your pillow. It was a fantastic week in Madeira and made that bit special by the Melia Mare!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your very positive and encouraging comments posted.

We're delighted to have been part of your special birthday celebration and happy we were able to create a memorable experience for you! Our very best wishes for many more wonderful birthdays filled with loads of health and happiness !..

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future !
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almada, Setubal, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very comfortable, amazing breakfast with fresh fruit and local specialities. Perfectly clean, new, lovely design. I only regret the dinner, because the chef cuisine seemed, to me, a bit "flat". But it wouldn't stop me from advising it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your preference in our Resort during your stay in Madeira. Your comments regarding chef cuisine have been passed on internally.
Do hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the very near future !
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've just come back from a very nice week at this hotel. The staff at breakfast and the bars and also the chamber maids were friendly and courteous. The rooms were fine with comfortable beds and spotlessly clean.

My one criticism concerns the pool area. There were not enough staff and I sometimes had to wait for towels. There were not enough umbrellas either. At a five-star hotel, I would expect to have at least one umbrella for every two sunbeds. Another slight annoyance was the fact that you could not have food at your sunbed but had to eat at the tables.

Despite that, I had a good time and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole and apologize for the umbrellas issue; some of them were damaged during a recent storm and we were awaiting the new shipment at the time of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back though when you next decide to visit Madeira.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal
Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Melia, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.