We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel Without Breaking The Bank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel Without Breaking The Bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is just off the Estrada Monumental about a half hours walk into the centre of Funchal
There are a variety of bars and restaurants around the hotel, from fine dining at the Villa Cipriani to cheap and cheerful at the hole in one
The hotel is not huge, about 200 rooms, the rooms are fairly standard for a 4 star plenty of storage space, the in room safe has no extra charge and the free in room wifi is reasonably fast, the bathrooms are of a high standard, rooms are clean and linen changed as often as you want
Its a personal preference but I found the beds hard and not that comfortable
The pool area is not big although it was not crowded I could see it getting that way at peak times
The pool area is overlooked by the bigger hotels on each side and the glass balcony rail around the pool overlooked the bus stop, it felt there was a lack of privacy at times
Breakfast was the only meal I experienced and was at the top end of this type of buffet breakfast offer
The service from all of the staff I dealt with was good
The hotel is listed as a 5 star I think the extra star is for the spa which I though was expensive compared to other resort spas
This hotel is a good compromise between 5* standards and 5* prices

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you kindly for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
It is only with comments such as yours , that we are able to ensure that we continuously improve on our service levels.
We're sorry that not all our facilities met with your expectations and do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    275
    88
    12
    7
See reviews for
108
581
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a great week in the Melia Mare Resort! We were upgraded to a suite with a sea view which was so beautiful, as it was my birthday the day we arrived they left a bottle of bubbly in the room, so thoughtful and it made us feel special. The view from the balcony was stunning which had beautiful loungers etc. The room had a big bed which was so comfortable, bathroom was well laid out with separate shower and double sinks, dressing gowns and lots more. The staff at reception were so helpful and nothing was a problem. Breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruits, beautiful breads and pastries, lots to choose from. The pool area was lovely but not enough umbrellas. Housekeeping staff were so lovely and came and turned down your bed every evening with chocolates left on your pillow. It was a fantastic week in Madeira and made that bit special by the Melia Mare!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your very positive and encouraging comments posted.

We're delighted to have been part of your special birthday celebration and happy we were able to create a memorable experience for you! Our very best wishes for many more wonderful birthdays filled with loads of health and happiness !..

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future !
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almada, Setubal, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very comfortable, amazing breakfast with fresh fruit and local specialities. Perfectly clean, new, lovely design. I only regret the dinner, because the chef cuisine seemed, to me, a bit "flat". But it wouldn't stop me from advising it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your preference in our Resort during your stay in Madeira. Your comments regarding chef cuisine have been passed on internally.
Do hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the very near future !
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've just come back from a very nice week at this hotel. The staff at breakfast and the bars and also the chamber maids were friendly and courteous. The rooms were fine with comfortable beds and spotlessly clean.

My one criticism concerns the pool area. There were not enough staff and I sometimes had to wait for towels. There were not enough umbrellas either. At a five-star hotel, I would expect to have at least one umbrella for every two sunbeds. Another slight annoyance was the fact that you could not have food at your sunbed but had to eat at the tables.

Despite that, I had a good time and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole and apologize for the umbrellas issue; some of them were damaged during a recent storm and we were awaiting the new shipment at the time of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back though when you next decide to visit Madeira.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Let me start by saying that both the reception staff and housekeepers are fantastic, diligent workers. On top of that, it was a very comfortable and well appointed hotel with both an indoor and outdoor pool. The sights and sounds of Funchal are only a 10 minute bus ride away and must be seen. The only drawbacks we experienced were poor air conditioning in the bedroom and a disappointing dinner for 2 of the nights we stayed there. As someone previously mentioned; the breakfasts are much better than the dinners. Unfortunately our budget didn't stretch to any spa treatments, but the staff were very helpful. Overall a great long weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, go for a breakfast only option as there are plenty of local food options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor and please accept our apologies for this somewhat delayed response .. for some unbeknown reason, we seemed to have missed out on this review.

We're sorry not all of our services met with your approval and expectations and thank you for your feedback.

Maintaining and improving on standards is important to us and we value your remarks.

Hope to welcome you back to Meliá Madeira Mare in the not too distant future !
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff go out of their way to help, they are like shadows, never in your way, but they always seem to be their at the right moment, nice, friendly, professional and predictive to your needs. They could do with more international tv Stations, however, that's just a personal like. The food is good and endless, the location is just right and the views are super, 100% on all fronts, no faults from a guy that takes a lot to impress. I find that even if you forget your key or other tickets, the staff just rush to your requests as if some how they made a mistake leaving you feeling good. we booked it through the travel department in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your very kind review on Tripadvisor!. We appreciate your positive comments and your emphasis on our staff - truly very much appreciated and has been shared internally with all... its comments like yours that motivate us all in delivering on our service standards. Your remark on more international tv channels has been taken note.
Hope to welcome you back in the near future !
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We are a family of seven adults who spent a week at this fantastic hotel in late April. The hotel met all our expectations and is well located, we were a bit afraid regarding that it as aprox. 3 km from downtown, but it did not matter at all. The rooms were clean and tidy and very modern. The pool area is really lovely and a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the sun.

The breakfast buffet was really good with a lot of variety, the only downside towards it was the fruit selection. Wit out a doubt our favorite restaurants around the hotel are Basilique and Brasserie.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Caldeira, Vitor and Martim who gave us excellent advice on what to do and see in Madeira and where to have dinner.

A very kind gesture was made for my parents 40th wedding anniversary and my sisters 5th anniversary. It made our stay at MMM truly memorable. Truly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your very kind and positive experience at our resort. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and will be sure to pass ame onto all - and especially to Caldeira, Vitor and Martim ! Its comments like yours which serve to motivate us all to continue delivering on our Brand standards.

We're delighted we were able to play a small role in your parents and sisters anniversary and thank you all for your preference in choosing our Resort in which to celebrate these very special occasions. our heartiest congratulations to your parents and sisters and very best wishes always!.

We do hope to welcome you and your family back to Meliá Madeira Mare sometime in the not too distant future !..

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Melia, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.