We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence is not just an empty name...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 91 hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellence is not just an empty name...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

... It is something that you need to work for each day... I'm still staying here and I must say it's more than worthwhile: decent service, high standards, great views, nice, polite and helpful staff... relaxing at Madeira couldn't have been so nice.
We have 3 days to go before we need to leave and I can't wait to come back... For a nice unforgettable stay at Madeira, Obrigado Melia!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the ocean and being nice to the hotel staff and asking whether upgrades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your great review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear you had an unforgettable experience with us and that we can expect a visit from you in the not too distant future!

Thank you for rating us so positively.

Look forward to welcoming you back !
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    226
    71
    10
    5
See reviews for
88
488
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in late April and had a lovely ocean view room at the front, sixth floor. Massive deck area with sun for a lot of the day, but shade as well. Rooms are nice size and clean and tidy, very modern. Bathrooms a good size and good walk in shower/ wetroom but it leaks so remember to put a foot towel down!

Breakfast was pretty standard, nothing special and not much fresh fruit... But tinned?? Big selection of cold meats and cheese and the bread was lovely and fresh,though other pastries often stale. Nice omelettes, though ignore the amount of oil they are cooked in!

The pool area is nice, but can't imagine what it would be like if the hotel was full. Deck chairs average comfy and a nice view out to the sea. There was sometimes an issue with a lack of umbrellas, staff saying some were damaged in a storm the previous week. They really need to have that sorted and the deck chairs feel a little crammed in. Fine when It is empty, but would be awful if full.

Nothing hotel can do, but it is increasingly getting annoying when people who smoke monopolise outdoor spaces. As smokers are in the vast minority now, would love to see a hotel have smoking spaces only and not the total outdoors. Also, have smoking floors, enjoying our deck was often disrupted by next door smoking.

Another little bug bear that would set itself aside to a five star service. We rang reception and asked if we needed to book a table at a local restaurant. They said no. But when we got there they could have booked and got us a sea view side. We still had a table, but taking that iniative would surely set them apart.

We ate lunch at the pool a couple of times and nice sandwich for lunch, though burger my husband had not great. Loads of local restaurants and huge variety. All in all madeira was a pleasant surprise holiday destination.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Manager & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us in April albeit not all of our services and facilities met entirely with your satisfaction.
Appreciate your feedback and remarks which have been noted and shared internally with senior management. Your constructive criticism is most welcome and certainly aids us to continuously enhance on our services with a view to achieving complete guest satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you back soon !
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Sunny Island
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My mother and I stayed when the hotel first opened, as I was living in Madeira at the time and we stayed there for my birthday. Since then revisted just for a couple of nights stay in March (on this trip to Madeira, stayed in 3 different hotels, Porto Santa Maria in town, Regency palace further out and this one, simply to see what the different hotels offered, you can see my reviews on these). We arrived at lunch time, after an internal flight from the Azores (see review on Royal Garden Hotel), the room was ready, I had requested a low floor as my mother has some disabilities but we were booked in a room on the 9th floor, there are 10 floors, been upgraded with a better view of the sea as we were returning guests. The room was lovely - two large single beds and very comfortable (a lot of hotels in Madiera the beds are firm, which I hate), there was a soft dhair, a table and hard chair and a large furnished balcony with 2 chairs and a table with a wonderful view of the sea (to the side of us was the Porto Mare hotel complex). There is a digital safe in the room, tea coffee making facilities (ice bucket, ice available on some floors), free wifi good in the room as well as the public areas. The bathroom is the reason why I have marked it an overall 4.5*, as although the bathroom was spotless, some areas looked a bit grubby with some marks, and the toilet door didn't shut fully the magnetic catch (I did report it), (don't worry no one can see you!, if you stay at the hotel you will know what i mean by that comment, as by the bath there is an interior window looking into the bedroom/vice a versa, but there is a blind on the other side.

Facilitiles indoor poor, jacuzzi (free), spa treatments, outdoor pool, lovely terrace lots of seating on different area. Evening entertainment. Outside the hotel you can get the number 6 bus into Funchal city centre (takes about 10/15 minutes depending on the traffic), or you can walk to the road above, Estrada Monumental for a more regular bus service. Taxi to the city is about 6-7 euros and is on a metre.

Food: we did eat in the restaurant, its small but the food was good, breakfast excellent and a very good choice of everything you could think of. I love the open kitchen area and had an omlette each morning freshly cooked. On the day we were due to leave for the airport, checkout I think was 12 noon, but I asked if it was possible to have the room until 2 pm, as we were leaving at 3 pm for the airport, and this was offered with no extra charge to us.

Had lunch in the bar on the day of heading to the airport, we had a tropical salad and a pizza and wow....fab...what else can one say!

All staff very friendly and luggage is taken to the room.

Would I stay here again...yes I would as overall its a fab hotel and next time hope to use the spa facilities.

I travelled with my mother but have marked it as friends as there isn't a suitable option

Room Tip: Highter the floor better sea view, I personally wouldn't want a room overlooking the outdoor poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for your very detailed review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us.

We are truly very pleased to hear we were able to create a memorable experience for you and that our services and facilities met with your satisfaction.

We shall be sure to share your comments with all the staff internally which undoubtedly will serve to motivate us all to continue delivering on our Brand Standards and Service.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon !

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Of Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is very well located and the rooms and décor are excellent but the breakfast is definitely not 5 star. Why have tinned peaches and pears on the menu? Why were there no yogurts available on 2 consecutive mornings? I was told by a member of staff that they were awaiting a delivery. They could have popped across the road to the Spar shop and bought some there! I found it off-putting to see the chef, who was making the omelettes, pouring eggs from what looked like a Knorr carton---bought in already beaten! There was nobody in charge in the restaurant. It sometimes took ages to get a refill of coffee. On our first morning all of the bread was not properly baked--it was very doughy. Because the food wasn't great at breakfast, we ate all our other meals elsewhere. The water in the outdoor swimming-pool was very cols and consequently nobody was using it even though we had lovely sunny weather.

Room Tip: Side sea view room was very good but I'm sure a full sea view room would be amazing. I was sorry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We're sorry we were not able to completely meet with your expectations. Your comments have been addressed and we do apologize for the inconsistency of service experienced. We appreciate all feedback including constructive criticism, which serves to assist us in enhancing our services with a view to achieving complete guest satisfaction.

We do hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just returned from spending our honeymoon here and honestly cannot fault anything about this fabulous hotel. Unfortunately, I fell Ill just as I arrived and needed medical attention , as soon as the hotel staff found out they were unbelievably caring and understanding. Following my return to the hotel and thankfully quick recovery I was welcomed by a bowl of fruit and personal message in my room to make sure I was ok. The pool area was spotless, breakfast selection very fresh and catered for all requirements and the room very comfortable. Surrounding area of lido had a good few restaurants and a very handy Spar across the road. All in all I would strongly recommend this little gem of a hotel for anyone looking for a truly relaxing hotel with staff that are genuinely friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Room with sea view highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you kindly for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We hope you are now feeling a whole lot better and appreciate your preference in our Resort during which to spend your honeymoon; thankfully you recovered quite quickly and we are very pleased to know you managed to enjoy the rest of your stay with us.

Your comments are appreciated and will be shared internally and am certain same will most certainly be an incentive for us to continue working towards complete guest satisfaction.

May we take this opportunity to wish you and your husband a very happy and healthy life together !.

We do hope to welcome you back sometime again soon !.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel every year since it opened in 2009, in fact twice a year. It is a lovely, modern hotel with lovely views of the sea and easy access to the esplanade where you can stroll to either Funchal in one direction or towards Camara de Lobos in the other and an excellent view of Cabo Girao, the second highest sea cliff in the world. The hoel rooms are well equipped and excellent decor with balconies overlooking the sea with no view obstructions except ships or fishing boats going by. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble and all questions answered however trivial. The food is excellent and a good range at breakfast especially the omelettes made to order. If you want a good, relaxing holiday do not look any further than this hotel - a little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views and the higher the better with sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Firstly, Ms Sara W - we have to say a very big thank you for your loyalty to Meliá Madeira Mare since our inauguration 4 years ago and for your preference in our Resort during your stays here together with your family in Madeira Island.

We are delighted to hear that our services and facilities continue to meet with your satisfaction and thank you for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is most certainly an incentive for us to continue delivering on our brand standards and your comments will be shared with all internally.

We are privileged to be able to host you every time and look forward to your next return soon!!..

Kind regards to you and the family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you like more modern interior design, think seriously about staying at the Melia Madeira. Built in 2008 , the Melia breaks the mould for Funchal – most of the 5* hotels surrounding Funchal cater for the ‘older’ guest and are more ‘elegant’ in terms of interior design. You won’t find any gold plated taps or floral bedspreads here… just shades of beige, glass clad balconies and subtle LED lighting. Despite the interior being somewhat minimalist, the hotel is still very comfortable.

Superbly appointed, the rooms themselves (all 220 of them) continue the modern / minimalist theme. The beds are super comfy, the bathrooms are spacious and all rooms come with a balcony (most of which afford stunning views out to sea).

The hotel’s communal areas are excellent. The pool is a good size for Madeira (pool sizes here are typically smaller than elsewhere because space is at a premium). The hotel also offers several sun terraces for people who want to base themselves away from the hustle of the poolside. All the terraces are within easy reach of the poolside bar and café however.

Inside, the hotel has a nice bar area and a superb indoor swimming pool with hot tub for days when the weather is not so nice. There is also a well-equipped gym with cardio machines, fixed weights and some dumbbells. Oh... and there is also a small library and snooker room.

The hotel’s spa facilities are arguably the best in Madeira – the Malo Spa is the only spa in Madeira to offer Thalassotherapy. BUT the sauna, Jacuzzi and steam room area isn’t free for hotel guests which we thought was a real shame - you only get free access to the sauna area if you buy a massage or treatment. You have to pay 22 Euros if you’re a hotel guest just to use the sauna which is crazy – this is our only real criticism of the hotel.

Having stayed at / looked around the majority of the hotels in Funchal, I can honestly say this hotel is one of the very best 5* hotels on the island – especially if you like funky modern design. Also consider the 5* Vine Hotel in central Funchal (my husband’s choice for business), the Four Views Baia Hotel (4*) and the 4* Pestana Promenade.

Don’t be fooled by marketing materials! The Pestana Casino appears to be very modern in the brochures but it really is very dated in places. The Vidamar has nice communal areas and lovely rooms but the pool area is the most lifeless expanse of concrete I have ever seen – not somewhere I would want to spend my holiday.

In conclusion, the Melia Maderia is a great choice for a relaxing holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your very detailed review of your recent stay with us.

We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed our services and facilities once more and thank you kindly for your loyalty and preference. I have to agree with you that we do distinguish ourselves as a brand hotel on the island - being of a minimalist design with chill out areas lending itself to the zen ambient within the resort.

Your comments are truly appreciated and we do look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future..

With kind regards and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.