We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel just outside of Funchal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great hotel just outside of Funchal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel which we booked online without fuss, the confirmation came almost immediately and email communication with the hotel was unproblematic. I must say we really liked our room which offered a superb sea view and from our balcony we enjoyed watching the sun rise and set. We decided to go for the superdeluxe room with sea view and found its price reasonable at just under 700 pounds for the week. The room itself was spacious and the shower extremely powerful. The facilities were also very good and we took advantage of the gym as well as the indoor pool, although I have to say that one side of the pool was far too shallow to enable one to swim proper lengths (understandably I did not feel like swimming in the outdoor pool). As January is the low season for Madeira the hotel’s restaurant offered a fixed (and limited) menu rather than its usual a la carte menu, so we did not try it, but the breakfast buffet catered for all tastes ranging from muesli to fruit to a fully cooked breakfast. The only inconvenience was the lack of wifi in the room. This meant that every time we wanted to go online to check a restaurant or find out about the weather forecast we had to go out of the room to do it (the closest wifi spot was near the lifts). I suspect that the problem could be solved by boosting the signal so that it reaches the rooms like our located at the end of the corridor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view, it might cost a bit more but the view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mgr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review of our resort during your stay in our lovely island. We're glad you enjoyed your superior seaview room and that our facilities and services met with your approval on the whole. We regret the WI-FI hitches you experienced albeit this seems indeed to be an isolated case of late as our technicians have been in to review and tweak the system and we have had no further incidents of this nature. We hope to welcome you back again during your next visit to Madeira.
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    269
    87
    12
    7
See reviews for
104
574
25
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on one of the higher floors overlooking the water for a week during Christmas and New Year.The apartment was lovely, very clean, well-furnished, very comfortable beds with high-quality bedding, and a beautiful view from the large balcony. The service was impeccable--the staff were professional, extremely helpful, and went out of their way to accommodate requests. Martim, in particular, was wonderful.
The resort is very well-located, in close walking distance to the town center, and there is a lovely promenade where one can walk for miles along the sea.
The only area of improvement (and the reason I did not give 5 stars) was the breakfast. We only ate breakfast there on New year's day, but it was disappointing if you are looking for healthy selections. With all the exceptional fresh fruits in Madeirta, it was odd that most of the fruit selection consisted of several canned options, the orange and grapefruit pieces did not taste fresh and there was only one selection of muesli. There were no plain non-fat yoghurts
and my husband found the scrambled eggs rather unappetizing.
Apart from that, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mgr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind comments and review on Tripadvisor. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your approval on the whole. Your remarks have been noted and will be addressed internally. Thank you too for praising our staff and Martim in particular... your comments are very much appreciated and serve to further motivate us to continue delivering on our brand standards. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira !
With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have been coming to Madeira at Christmas for nine years, it's amazing the lights are spectacular creating a wonderful / special atmosphere. This is our 4th Christmas spent at the Melia Madeira Mare, we obviously love it! Beautiful rooms with fantastic ocean views. Breakfast has an excellent and varied selection. Staff are very attentive and pleasant, overall excellent customer service. One small negative point is the surface surrounding the pool area, it's loose and breaking off, unable to walk without shoes, needs attention to make this a totally faultless experience.

Room Tip: Request a high floor to appreciate the surrounding views better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear valued Guest

Firstly our sincere thanks to you for your loyalty and support during the last 4 years at Melia Madeira Mare and especially for your preference during the Christmas period which as you so rightly say does excude a very special and unique ambience and atmosphere.

Thank you too for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

We're delighted that your all round experience was a positive one and am happy to inform you that the maintenance works on the surface area around the pool are presently under way!
We hope to welcome you back once again sometime soon !
For now, our very best wishes to you for a healthy and happy 2013!

With renewed appreciation and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel. The decor and art are quality. Our room was very well appointed but we had requested a superior sea view and actually stayed in a side sea view, which meant we overlooked the hotel next door. The pretty Christmas lights made up for this though. The food was generally ok. Not brilliant. Tended to be cold when served at the poolside bar. We waited several days for milk to be left in our room and eventually went to the spar shop across the road. Very handy. There are good restaurants close to the hotel but taxis are readily available if required. New years eve was well organised by the hotel and unforgettable.
Over all the staff are fabulous. Very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for your preference in our Resort during the New Year period. We're especially grateful to you for the very kind comments regarding our staff and assure you they will be shared internally with all; your feedback is most welcome, valued and appreciated.
We're sorry not all of our services met with your expectations and have taken note of your comments.
Hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards and our best wishes to you for 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is an impeccable hotel with a gorgeous sea view. We stayed on the 9th floor in a suite with a huge patio overlooking the ocean. It was pretty spectacular. The hotel has beautiful pools both indoor and out. The breakfast buffet can't be beat - probably the best I have ever partaken in. The staff went out of their way to make our stay one of our best vacations ever. The spa is pretty great and we got an amazing haircut at the salon. I would highly recommend this establishment. The hotel is in the middle of the hotel zone which is slightly away from the center of downtown. If you don't rent a car, you are looking at taking taxis or walking alot if you want to get to the more active city center. There are several good restaurants around the hotel but if you want more authentic food try getting out of Funchal.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to get the patio overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you kindly for your praise on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to post same.
We're delighted to read that your all round experience was such a positive one and that we were able to deliver on our brand standards.

We do hope to welcome you back again sometime in the very near future.
With kind regards and best wishes for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel with very nice and helpful staff. I booked a room with a sea view and have discovered on arrival they have 3 categories of sea view, our room is located on the side of the hotel and its true you can see the sea. But clearly you would expect a clear view of the sea and I find this sort of thing misleading.
The food served in the pool area arrives nearly cold although good quality.
Overall this is a good hotel, I have stayed in Madeira many times before and I would say its unlikely I would stay here again as there are quite a few better options.

Room Tip: Request a superior sea view if you want a good view. There's a road between the hotel and the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Melia Madeira Mare to stay during your recent stay in Madeira and for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

Your feedback is most welcome; we assure you that we constantly strive to offer our guests the best possible levels of service and am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the room view and with some of our services ; your remarks have been duly noted and will be discussed internally. Nevertheless, we do hope you will consider our Resort in a future visit to our lovely island and look forward to welcoming you.
With kind regards and best wishes for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very new with good facilities. Good location with several bars and restaurants nearby, frequent bus services or around 7€ taxi ride to centre of Funchal or pleasant 20-25 minute walk. Varied choice at breakfast but quality eg coffee is nothing special. Rooms are attractive and well designed. Some little touches are missing, eg water and towels not provided in gym. Tennis court in Porto Bay next door available at €15 per hour. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience Mngr & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Many thanks for your preference in our Resort and for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback is appreciated and we have taken note of your remarks which will be discussed internally with our team.
We're glad to hear that your overall experience was a good one and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best wishes for 2013!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere, Melia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.