We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beef & Wines

Beef & Wines
Avenida do Infante 60 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-015, Portugal
+351 963 041 993
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 433 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pizza, Portuguese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a brilliant evening here! Would definately recommend you book - I did through their email from website which was easy! Food and atmosphere was lovely. People queing at the door to get a table too. Waitress was great in helping us with our wine choice. Try the Roast Kid - absolutely stunning and a lovely alternative to lamb. 10/10 Great value for money! The sides were too much!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    208
    55
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The best picanhas we ever had !!!! Wine was also very good and the service also !!! The quality of the beef was excellent and it's a nice change in Funchal where you eat mainly fish !!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - Should not be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After visiting on our previous visit to Funchal, we did not hesitate to return this month. Order the Picana (house speciality beef) and you will be looked after, enjoy a great meal and leave wanting to return again and again. Also one of the best wine lists with many wines by the glass, ask the waiter and he will always offer suggestions depending on your requirements.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds UK
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“not quite as good as it was but still worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Absolutely great steaks although they do other things too. I really dislike it when the waiter brings something you haven't ordered, announces it as he puts it down and then charges you for it (garlic bread and cheese). We refused and he then took it to another table. Accompaniments were OK only, and a very small portion of potatoes (4 thin slices each). We had a good bottle of red wine. A very busy place, we booked and wouldn't have got in without a booking, and it was only a Thursday night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a nice place to eat near the Casino. As you might expect the quality of the meat and the wine is good. The wine is predominately Portuguese (no surprise really) and the waiter was happy to advise us on the right wine for the dish. (Lots of wine by the glass). Would definitely go again

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beef & Wines also viewed

 

Been to Beef & Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beef & Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.