We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central, nice and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Funchal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Funchal to your Saves list
Residencial Funchal
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua do hospital Velho n0 19 A, Funchal, Madeira 9060-129, Portugal   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“central, nice and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Friendly staff and perfect localization (there's a caffee and restaurant with great and not expensive food just few steps from the entrance to Residencial). Buses and supermarkets are very close too. Free Wi-Fi that was a surprise as it is not added in the description. It is a nice place to stay :)

Room Tip: if you get the room with a viev to the famous funchal market it may be quite loud sometimes during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place took us a little while to find being is as it is a small doorway on a street. Up a steep staircase is the reception and chalk board. This place definitely has more of a feel of a hostel than hotel but that's fine with us. The staff were generally really helpful and friendly despite the language barriers.
Our room was clean but basic and generally pretty dark. Noise woke us up on a few morning but that's more the fault of the locals than the hotel. The shower leaked all over the floor on the first day but after mentioning it too them the problem seemed to have been fixed.
Beds were actually pretty lumpy and uncomfortable and I got very cold the first night being next to the balcony door but they supplied an extra duvet whcih was great.
For us it was perfectly located because it was so close to everything, the Art quarter is about 5minutes away and the cable car station is about 7minutes away. All the decent food also seemed to be been in this area - definitely preferable to the huge hotel area in Sao Martinho.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed a few hours just after plane arrival.it is a "Just for sleep hotel". No Breakfsfast, no amenities. Cheap price. Just in front of Market - very interesting for local products and fresh fish. In city center Funchal close to all main retail streets and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very cheap and with availability for a check-in at 3AM. Right in the center of Funchal. A huge stairs entrance, so be careful with heavy luggage. Nice for a late sleep and get on the move. In front of Funchal's market. No easy to park without paying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here in October on a 16 euro a night 4 night stopover. Location is great for getting anywhere, but noisy early in the mornings on certain days, and a bit dodge at night time. Never had any trouble, but if you're intimidated by a bit of poverty and a few drunks then don't choose this spot. Could be any central London hotel though, so keep that perspective in mind.

Our room was front facing, first floor, a twin. Very clean, basic, quite tight in places and in darkness for most of the day to keep cool and to block noise. We had free wifi too. The guy on reception was very helpful although it was sometimes difficult to communicate due to language issues.

It should be mentioned that we had accidentally booked dates for the previous month and only realised our mistake when the money left the bank for a no-show. On making a phone call to Residencial Funchal, they were happy to honour the payment already made for the dates we had intended to book originally. I think this demonstrates that this is a helpful well run business. Don't expect the world by any means, but if prepared for it, you will appreciate it and you will enjoy your stay in Madeira.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can for better sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for a week from 30 Nov 2012. The hotel is small, clean and basic ( no bar / restaurant ). Our room was clean on arrival, cleaned daily ( + clean towels ) Rooms not huge, but big enough, bathroom and shower fine, though you had to be a bit careful with the shower curtain otherwise you ended up with water on the floor. Not a problem once we realised what was needed. Desk appeared to be manned 24 hrs, staff very friendly and helpful. Just as well because on the way back from eating one night ( about 2130 ) my wife snapped our room key off in the lock. The man on reception could not fix it, but he called someone in and the lock was changed by 2230. Interesting experience given that we speak no Portuguese and he spoke no English.

TV in room, but we never turned it on so no idea what channels available. WiFi also available.

Not all rooms have balconies, worth making sure you get one with, even in early December we could sit out on the balcony until midnight ( though we did have to put a fleece on later )

The location is brilliant, opposite the main market ( Fruit, veg and fish ) Very central, within a few hundred metres of city centre, cable car, sea front, bus stations, restaurant area of old town. Good selection of small bars / cafes very close for breakfast / coffee.

Nice to watch the locals from the balcony, overlooks a busy street but noise was never really an issue.

For the price you would find the Residencial very hard to beat, its not a luxury hotel but its not charging their rates either.

We spent most of the week walking levadas. Brilliant, mostly flat, easy walking. Stunning views and no navigation problems. Getting to / from the levadas was generally cheap and easy by local bus. There are however about 6 different bus companies, and we never managed to find a timetable with more than one of the companies routes so a bit of research needed each evening to work out the next day, Taxis plentiful, and not a lot more than the bus for a group of four like us.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Visited Madeira for six days during July 2012. The hotel was very easy to reach by bus from the airport. It's centrally located near the vegetable market and the city center. The street in front of the residencial is very busy and you have lots of little cafe's nearby and a shopping center with a large grocery store. It's also just few minutes walk from the bus station.

At first we got a room on the upper floor, facing the street which turned out to be horrible at night because it was extremely noisy all night long. The room was also very dark. The next morning we asked the staff if it's possible to change the room and luckily they had an available room. Otherwise we would have left this hotel. We really didn't get any sleep.

The rest of the stay was much better. The hotel is dated, most of the furniture is very old etc. but for this price you really get what you pay for and we honestly think that it's a real good value. You get a decent bed, good cleaning every day, clean linens, functioning shower and very nice staff. The staff doesn't speak much english but they are extremely nice. Note that there isn't an elevator in this building.

All in all, very decent value for your money. The only thing we were missing was air-con.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Funchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Funchal

Address: Rua do hospital Velho n0 19 A, Funchal, Madeira 9060-129, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Funchal 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residencial Funchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Funchal Hotel Funchal
Residencial Funchal Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Funchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.