We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, basic hotel, cheap, clean, central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Funchal

Save Saved
You added Residencial Funchal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residencial Funchal
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua do hospital Velho n0 19 A, Funchal, Madeira 9060-129, Portugal   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Specialty lodging in Funchal
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good, basic hotel, cheap, clean, central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for a week from 30 Nov 2012. The hotel is small, clean and basic ( no bar / restaurant ). Our room was clean on arrival, cleaned daily ( + clean towels ) Rooms not huge, but big enough, bathroom and shower fine, though you had to be a bit careful with the shower curtain otherwise you ended up with water on the floor. Not a problem once we realised what was needed. Desk appeared to be manned 24 hrs, staff very friendly and helpful. Just as well because on the way back from eating one night ( about 2130 ) my wife snapped our room key off in the lock. The man on reception could not fix it, but he called someone in and the lock was changed by 2230. Interesting experience given that we speak no Portuguese and he spoke no English.

TV in room, but we never turned it on so no idea what channels available. WiFi also available.

Not all rooms have balconies, worth making sure you get one with, even in early December we could sit out on the balcony until midnight ( though we did have to put a fleece on later )

The location is brilliant, opposite the main market ( Fruit, veg and fish ) Very central, within a few hundred metres of city centre, cable car, sea front, bus stations, restaurant area of old town. Good selection of small bars / cafes very close for breakfast / coffee.

Nice to watch the locals from the balcony, overlooks a busy street but noise was never really an issue.

For the price you would find the Residencial very hard to beat, its not a luxury hotel but its not charging their rates either.

We spent most of the week walking levadas. Brilliant, mostly flat, easy walking. Stunning views and no navigation problems. Getting to / from the levadas was generally cheap and easy by local bus. There are however about 6 different bus companies, and we never managed to find a timetable with more than one of the companies routes so a bit of research needed each evening to work out the next day, Taxis plentiful, and not a lot more than the bus for a group of four like us.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Visited Madeira for six days during July 2012. The hotel was very easy to reach by bus from the airport. It's centrally located near the vegetable market and the city center. The street in front of the residencial is very busy and you have lots of little cafe's nearby and a shopping center with a large grocery store. It's also just few minutes walk from the bus station.

At first we got a room on the upper floor, facing the street which turned out to be horrible at night because it was extremely noisy all night long. The room was also very dark. The next morning we asked the staff if it's possible to change the room and luckily they had an available room. Otherwise we would have left this hotel. We really didn't get any sleep.

The rest of the stay was much better. The hotel is dated, most of the furniture is very old etc. but for this price you really get what you pay for and we honestly think that it's a real good value. You get a decent bed, good cleaning every day, clean linens, functioning shower and very nice staff. The staff doesn't speak much english but they are extremely nice. Note that there isn't an elevator in this building.

All in all, very decent value for your money. The only thing we were missing was air-con.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I got a triple room with my friends and, overall, apart from a few minor things, we had little to complain about.
The beds were fairly comfortable, there was cable TV and a remote, a phone, a small desk, chairs, a nice balcony for you to smoke, in case you want to, or just rest, if the weather is nice.
The bathroom had all the basics. Towels were changed every day, as well as all the linen in the beds. The rooms were always clean, which is always a nice thing!
A wireless connection to the Internet is also available, and there is no need for an extra fee, you just have to ask for the username and password at the reception desk.
To get to the Residencial, though, you have to go up a considerable flight of stairs, since there is no elevator (so this is not an option for the disabled or if you have any problems going up and down stairs).
The Residencial is located near the market, and though we were told there would be a lot of noise early in the morning, it wasn't really that much of a problem (maybe we were lucky). It is also in the centre of the "Old Town", which is not particularly beautiful, but just a walk away you have plenty of nice places to see and visit.
No breakfast was included, which is a shame, but you have plenty of cafés nearby.
The people at the reception were nice, though not exceedingly nice, just enough.
Overall, it is a nice and simple place to stay if you are on a budget and just want a clean place with no particular luxuries.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Arrived much later than expected as our flight was diverted to Gran Canaria, Canary Islands, on account of bad weather. Finally landed in Funchal about four hours late and arrived at the Residencial at midnight, very tired.

Greeted with the news that the Residential was overbooked and they had made arrangements for me to stay somewhere else: upgraded room, two minutes away. They were apologetic and seemed rather embarrassed, but I wasn´t too bothered. This kind of thing does happen. The place I did stay (Residential Parque) was very nice and very close. All staff at both places were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Very cheap and ideal location. Rooms nice and spotless although we did struggle to use the shower without getting water on the bathroom floor. Service ok but don't expect to strike up a lasting friendship with the reception staff!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Located in the centre of the city, away from the tourist ghetto, Residencial Funchal is one of the most affordable places to stay in. It is opposite the (fish) market, and there is some issue with noise in evenings and mornings in the street outside, but as price conscious traveller, I would recommend it. There are no great luxuries, and fellow guests tended to be either Portuguese or backpackers.

Rooms are large, although the fittings, furniture, and electricity plugs have all seen better days. Staff are helpful when asked for assistance.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deep South, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Hotel clean and modern (3 floors no lift). Rooms small, basic but en suite facilities a plus. Constant very hot water. Small high wall mounted TV with many channels. There is a large top floor balcony which also doubles as the hotel's laundry area. Staff friendly. Low cost option in Funchal. No food served but many cafes, bars and restaurant within walking distance. Some early morning noise from the nearby central market. Unfortunately hotel was in the centre of the recent Madeira flooding (should be OK by 1st week in March).

Funchal is a good walking town (explore the back streets at higher level, the many gardens and the Lido area. Good well-priced restaurants in Rua da Garreia (O Funil, Jardin da Garreira - full tourist menus 8 euros).Good trips out (2/3 hours) include Santa Cruz, Camara de Lobos and Machico.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Funchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Funchal

Address: Rua do hospital Velho n0 19 A, Funchal, Madeira 9060-129, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Specialty lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Funchal 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Residencial Funchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Funchal Hotel Funchal
Residencial Funchal Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Funchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.