We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solar de Ajuda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solar Da Ajuda

Solar Da Ajuda
Rua Da Casa Branca 102 | Hotel Belo Sol, Funchal, Madeira 9000-350, Portugal
+351 291 762 318
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 421 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: In Solar da Ajuda you will find the perfect harmony between our delicious food and a luxurious environment. Here everything was thought to please our guests. We are sure that you will feel very comfortable here with us. We pride ourselves to have an experienced and well trained team that will grant you the best of services. Visiting us is to take on the adventure of having new delicious flavours in your month, try our incomparable Steak on Stone or our delicious Mexican Fajitas. If that does not seduce you we have a incredible range of international and Regional Cousine.
Stratford upon Avon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Solar de Ajuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere and staff. The Filet Steak Espetada has few rivals on the island. As the owner's name is Moses he should think about renaming his restaurant ' The Promised Land.'

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    121
    31
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went here on holiday rep recommendation. What a mistake! Overcrowded, over loud and overrated. Tables VERY close together. You get more privacy in McDonalds! I had scabbard fish with banana - horrible greasy batter on fish, accompanied by overcooked vegetables and potatoes so watery they fell apart when I tried to pick them up on my fork. The other restaurants we ate in in Funchal were FAR superior!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Steak to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice in our week in Madeira as family members had been there before and loved it. Most of us has the steak on the stone which was amazing! Huge fillet steaks which just melted in your mouth. Starters were also delicious and some of us even had room for chocolate mousse or apple pie foe dessert were which finished the meal off perfectly. Service excellent and very good value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“good and generous portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The staff is friendly, everyone speaks English; It is a big place with about 50 tables; the steak on the stone is good but there is nothing Portuguese in the air. All guests are English, all the sauces, tartare, mint, mayo etc come in individual little cups, there are plenty of chips or boiled potatoes with some local vegetables like carrots and broccoli... even the weather was British the day we went!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The steak is out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited this place back in Aug 2011.

This isn't a posh restaurant but by god do they serve amazing steaks. They offer a 'steak on a stone' which means you are given a really hot stone and an uncooked steak and you get to cook it to your liking.

The steak has some marinade on it and is served with salad and chips plus a selection of sauces.

We have since found a company that sells the serving plates and stones so we can recreate this yummy food at home. Google: Steakstones and you'll see what i mean.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the drinks were reasonably priced so i'd highly recommend this place to people.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solar Da Ajuda also viewed

 

Been to Solar Da Ajuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar Da Ajuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.