We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay. Just one little warning.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensao Residencial Mirasol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pensao Residencial Mirasol to your Saves list
Pensao Residencial Mirasol
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua Bela de Sao Tiago 67, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Funchal B&B and Inns
Mississauga
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay. Just one little warning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

This is an awesome place, friendly service, minutes from downtown. However, if you're renting a car, there is no parking for several blocks, the closest street parking is close but be prepared to wake up to insert a coin before 8 am every day. There is local auto park hopefully they can work out a deal to park there, I wouldn't mind paying extra because the hotel was well worth it and very well priced.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
33
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I can't speak too highly of this bed and breakfast. Had been staying for the previous 6 nights in one of the most expensive hotels on the island so was expecting a bit of a `come down'. Our en suite room on the ground floor of a house on a quieter side street oposite the main Pensao was large and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was basic but personally served and more than adequate. The father and son team were kindness itself, even driving us (myself and wife) to the bus stop on the morning of our departure. The location is also brilliant as it is very near restaurants (I recommend Embairador Madeirense on Rua dos Barreiros for atmosphere, value for money and lack of touts outside).as well as close to the town centre, bus station, etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Upon arrival to the Pensao Mirasol we were greated warmly by Mr. Horta. Mr. Horta was very helpful with offering us information about the hotel and the Island. He also served a hearty breakfast of eggs, bread, jam and coffee. The hotel was a little outdated but with old world charm. It was located on a busy street without sidwalks but within minutes of many restaurants and the center of town. Our room had a nice balcony, television and a decent sized bathroom. The room was cold at night but there were extra blankets in the closet.
Although a 24 hour pensao, I felt as though I was coming in after curfew in the evenings. We would have a few drinks at night and began to feel a bit guilty for arriving late and waking up the night duty person to open the door and give us our key.
Pensao Mirasol was a great value and I would recommend the Pensao Mirasol to persons looking for a quiet and peaceful visit to Madeira.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

If you're looking for a place to stay in a great location, with a clean, tidy room, friendly and helpful hosts, great value for money, then come to this b&b. Ok it doesn't have a swimming pool, room safe or tea-making facilities but if, like us, you are going to be out and about all day and really just want somewhere to sleep then this is ideal. Breakfast is a little basic and a bit more choice would not go amiss - perhaps croisssants, more cereals, more choice of toppings for toast, sweet and savoury - but we had enough to eat. The Horta family are very friendly and so helpful - if you need any information you only have to ask. We had a small balcony with lovely views of the sea and the mountains. All in all we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

First, what Mirasol is not. It's not a modern luxury hotel with all mod cons. Frankly, it's a bit dowdy. So why would I gladly go back there and recommend it without hesitation to friends? Well, there's the location. It's right on the edge of the Old Town, five minutes walk from the sea and three minutes from Funchal's last remaining fado bar. (The only disadvantage is that the street it's on is something of a traffic artery, yet has no pavements.) Second, the price: at only a little over £30 a night for a double room with en-suite facilities in February, this is a bargain by Madeiran standards. Most of all, though, for the hotel manager, the excellent Mr. Horta, a genuinely kindly man who takes a real interest in his guests' welfare. Thanks, Mr. Horta, for an excellent stay, to which you made a real contribution.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We booked this family-run guesthouse after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, and we weren't misled. The house was originally owned by a local dignitary, and has a lot of charm, with solid wooden banisters, tall ceilings and a well-proportioned dining-room. The family are all very pleasant, and speak several languages between them. This was handy, because we were with my son, his German girlfriend, and her Polish mother, who spoke no English!
Mrs. Horta does the beautiful fresh flower arrangements, and the room towels were changed frequently. We had asked for a quiet room, which we had, but it was up 2 flights of stairs, and was very small for 2 people with cases! However, there was a little balcony with good views of the mountains, and to the side we could see the bay, and visiting cruise-liners.
There was no hairdryer in the room, or tea/coffee facilities, but considering the price (£35 euros per night for two people) we didn't expect them.
Breakfast was very good: eggs cooked however you want them, cereal, yoghurt, rolls or toast, cheese and jam, and as much tea or coffee as you want.
The rooms across the street where my son etc. stayed were newer and larger, but there is a rather excitable dog next door, which barked whenever anyone went in or out, so as we wanted peace & quiet, I think we were better off in the main building.
The only improvement I can think of would be some heating in the rooms. We were there at the end of Jan/early Feb so it was quite chilly at night, and although there was extra bedding, it was was very heavy! The bathroom was small, but had a loo, bidet & quite a good shower, all very clean.
The house is within easy walking distance of many small restaurants and the interesting cobbled streets of the old town (avoid high heels!). We found a great little bar in the Rua Santa Maria where you could buy vegetables, then sit down & have a Poncha (local drink) or beer & snack very cheaply. For an evening meal, we loved Le Jardin, where they specialise in flambée, or "O Velhinho", where they do the local speciality of scabbard fish with banana, among many other reasonably-oriced dishes.
The Fado restaurants (where they have traditional musicians & singers) are more expensive: we got stung for the wine in one place, so ask the price beforehand if you're on a budget. On the other hand, it's nice to have some entertainment, & the meals were still good value.
We were glad to be staying in the old town, rather than the hotel zone on the other side of the bay, which looked like blocks of flats, with no local features or atmosphere. We could walk to the main promenade, cable car, market & bus stops within 10 minutes so it was very handy.
Mr. Horta's son Umberto even gave our son's party a lift to the airport, and Mr. Horta kindly drove us to the bus stop to catch the Express bus to the airport, as we had heavy luggage.
I would certainly stay there again, but maybe take a hot water bottle if you go in winter!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Pensão Mirasol is good if you are looking for a cheap place to sleep and visit the center. The owner is very friendly and caring for his clients. The breakfast is ok and included in the price.
The rooms are ok, although old fashion in the furniture. It had a very nice balcony with a great view! One bad point: the bathroom had no water pressure.

If you are a young traveller solo or with your boyfriend/girlfriend I would not recommend this place. It is very oriented for families or older travellers and I personally enjoy more independence in my travels (for example you have to leave the keys at the reception each time you leave, after 7 pm you have to ring the door to come in, etc). Also there is no parking place so if you rent a car you will have some difficulty with that.

Nevertheless if you looking for a familiar place, cheap, clean and next to the center this is certainly a very good option!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensao Residencial Mirasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Mirasol

Address: Rua Bela de Sao Tiago 67, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensao Residencial Mirasol 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pensao Residencial Mirasol is a traditional Madeiran guest house set in the Old Town of Funchal and is situated near almost everything. Each room is well furnished and consists of private bathroom, cable television, telephone and balcony with sea and mountain view. Whether you come to Madeira for the spectacular flowers, the famous levada walks or simply to relax strolling around in the sun - the Pensao Residencial Mirasol is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pensao Residencial Mirasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Mirasol Hotel Funchal
Pensao Residencial Mirasol Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensao Residencial Mirasol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.