We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still delivers quality food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olives

Olives
Estrada Monumental 199 | In front of Post Office (CTT or Correios), Funchal, Madeira 9000-065 , Portugal
+351 291 236 004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 421 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still delivers quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our 4th visit. It has become an annual trip. As usual, the food was delicious and the owner (Lewis - Louis?) very attentive. The restaurant is moving very soon to the Estrada Monumental in the Lido district of Funchal (where all the hotels are) which will give them more indoor and outdoor space, plus nice views over the bay. They deserve to do well, so please go and support them. We will be there again next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    106
    38
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth waiting for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We came here based on the tripadvisor reviews, and it's pretty much as expected. The indoor section is quite small, and the kitchen even smaller. The four staff all beaver away to get the food ready, and perhaps the ratio of staff to diners needs changing, as at one point there only ever seemed to be one table with food. On the other hand when the food arrived it was delicious and really special, best quality nosh. Our meal took 2 hours for 2 courses but we felt we'd had a great meal afterwards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a small, intimate restaurant where the food is cooked to order. The staff were all very friendly and spoke good English. I ordered salmon en croute filled with prawns, with a watercress sauce and my husband had halibut on a pea risotto. It was the best food we've had so far in Madeira. The desserts were fabulous. The coffee was full-bodied and rich. I can't fault anything we ate or drank and I'd definitely go to Olives again but I have to say the food took a long time to arrive - well over half an hour for the main course (hence 4 stars instead of 5). The atmosphere in the restaurant was very convivial though, mainly English customers, a comfortable buzz of conversation and Miles Davis in the background. Lovely. Excellent value, too - we had mains, desserts, coffee and alcohol and it came to 40 Euros. I'd recommend a visit but don't go there if you're in a hurry!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant and had a 15 minute walk to find it, but it was so worth it. Being the middle of January it was very quiet but we weren’t the only ones in there. I loved the fact that they didn’t have someone standing outside trying to drag us in to eat – a real plus for them. Both the food and service were excellent, and the price was outstanding – just over half the price of some of the other restaurants we ate in. I particularly loved the work of art which was my ice cream dessert! I tried to take a photo but my flash wouldn’t work, so can’t show you – you’ll have to go there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Such a lovely relief!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited Madeira for the first time in January to walk the mountains and levadas. Although not keen on town holidays, we decided to stay within a short bus ride of Funchal town centre as we wanted a good choice of restaurants in our two week stay and most other towns around the island seemed to have very few of any quality.

Initially I was disappointed with the Funchal restaurants and bars, many with photographed food on big boards, enormous menus in every language (quite impossible to supply that many different choices to any quality) - and pushy staff trying to boss you inside. It became a bit of a battle as you could not read a menu without someone buzzing about almost dragging you into their restaurant. We spent two hours trying to find somewhere and walked just about every street until we came across a small restaurant called Olives just behind the Cathedral in a quiet cobbled back street with about five tables inside and the same number outside. Tasteful decor, small mouthwatering menu, very welcoming with very good informal service. Spotlessly clean, candlelit with elegant glasses and crockery . Run by three brothers, one is the chef, all Madeiran but having apparently worked in the UK for many years also. Superb quality food in manageable quantities at low prices. We tried most of the meat dishes as we are not keen on fish but there is also a good selection of fish. Beautifully cooked fillet of beef on a potato rosti with wondeful vegetables and a small jug of rich gravy (about 15 euro). Rack of lamb, pork, duck all with well balanced accompanyments and a Maderian twist. Home made soup, veloute, and fish starters as well as vegetarian options. The best deserts I have had in years. Three courses for two of us with house wine (which is very good) and coffee and maderia to follow was around 60 euro. Every other diner seemed equally happy and equally complimentary about the place, one family left thanking the owner for 'making our holiday'. We tried five of the top 10 Trip Advisor recommended restaurants in Funchal .... Olives was better in one way or another than all of them and far less expensive than most. We ate at Olives three times and could have easily gone again. I suspect its rating has dropped as a result of the one bad review I saw here - which I must say is the complete opposite of our dining experience. This person obviously had a very unfortunate one off disaster. The brothers are moving to a new premises in the 'hotel quarter' at the start of March and we hope it proves successful for them with a slightly larger restaurant in a busier part of town. We thought the current location charming albeit definitely not easy to find. Strongly recommended if you find yourself in Funchal - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olives also viewed

 

Been to Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.