We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Loction shame about service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riso Risottoria del Mundo

Riso Risottoria del Mundo
274 Rua Santa Maria, Funchal, Madeira 9060-291, Portugal
+351-291 280360
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 420 Restaurants in Funchal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Loction shame about service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went to tyhis restaurant and yes it has a fabulous vista but I regret the service was a let down. All started very promisingly, the lady running the show was excellent in getting the staff organised etc. However, when the lady left the service quickly detriorated, no attentive staff and we were left to our own devices (we noticed that this was also happening to other tables) We were never offered the menu for dessert and in the end we asked for our bill and then had to wait 10 minutes before we could settle ! Food was good as long as you enjoy rice based meals as there was not a lot of different dishes to choose if you did not like rice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    127
    72
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was the second time I had eaten here ,the first time was on my Birthday having earlier had tea at Reids Hotel and was unable to fully enjoy the delightful food .(too stuffed with sandwiches ,cake etc )
This time I was hungry and Riso did not disappoint,the food was beautifully cooked ,well presented and very tasty
The setting is glorious, with admittedly steepish steps down to the outside eating area but well worth it
In summary , well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a fabulous restaurant this is! Every aspect of the experience was superb, so we went there twice during our seven night stay in Funchal. Location out of this world overlooking the sea, service excellent, even when the restaurant is full. All dishes on the menu were rice-based, but so imaginative that this was not a problem. Don't misunderstand this - you do not get a plate of rice for every course, but there was some connection with rice, such as ice cream made with rice milk (delicious!). All this for a reasonable price! Really well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“If you like rice, you'll love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Set in a lovely cliff-top location on the quiet edge of town, this classy restaurant offers a wide selection of creative rice dishes. Whilst it's not cheap, and the portions are more 'nouvelle cuisine' than hearty, this place feels like a step-up from the surrounding tourist eateries that try to tempt you inside. As such, we came here for our one special night out on holiday and were not disappointed. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Birthday visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you like rice it's ok if not ugh! Dishes not particularly well cooked. Not a very nice place, steep steps to get to main outdoor eating area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riso Risottoria del Mundo also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Riso Risottoria del Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riso Risottoria del Mundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.