We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but terrible service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Funchal Design Hotel

Funchal Design Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Funchal Design Hotel to your Saves list
Funchal Design Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Alegria, 2-2/A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-040, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location but terrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Funchal Design Hotel for 4 nights. The location is amazing. We walked everywhere from the hotel. However, the service really disappointed us. Every question we asked the staff the answer was always: "I don't know".
They could not tell us whether the hotel had a parking lot for our rental car. We ended up parking at a paid underground lot nearby, which as it turns out is used by the hotel. When we decided to get our car the next day the lot was closed and we had no way of getting out. The staff never helped us. They gave us a garage door opener with no batteries and that was that. They told me to ask around for help at the bar in front of the lot! We were lucky enough that someone that regularly parks at that lot was arriving and able to let us out.
On our last night, we asked if we could pay our bill in advance because we had a very early flight and wanted to make sure we could leave right away. The answer was no! Who does that?!?
In addition, the breakfast is terrible since the bread is old. They do not offer anything to drink but coffee. No fruits are available.
Forget about using internet in your room, wireless in treated like gold at this hotel
They charged me 4 euros for a bottle of water. The restaurant is never really open.

Finally I have to say, it was a cheap option (60 euros per night) and it served its purpose. However, if you are looking for a nice place...my advice is to skip this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Close to everything in Funchal, 1 block to shopping center 2 blocks to city center, 3 blocks to the port. Polite, english speaking staff. Very clean rooms with A/C and cable TV. Restaurant and bar. While the bedrooms were all white, the bathroom is black ceiling, walls and floor. Reception and entrance to rooms, elevator and stairs down also completely black. 4 floors with 15 rooms total. Recommended especially for yours couples, you'll understand what I mean. In the street, no pool and no garden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here on 2 occasions en route to Porto Santo, had 2 bedroom suite for the family (2 &5) room ideal, good value and spotless clean. Breakfast simple but good. Had a late check out on both visits and the staff were very helpfull and accomodated us with a late check out on both occasions. Centrally located in Funchal ideal for a few days to do the main sites. Great hotel great staff.

Room Tip: Some suites have a little kitchen and fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

Very good food at the restaurant, excellent architecture an example of thoughtful use of space in a confined space the visual from outside is carried inwards into the interior the theme fits the historic location of the hotel and the artistic futuristic design goes well together, the use of black colour in the walls gives a feeling of space and is relaxing, from the materials used to the furniture and equipment of rooms and kitchens of the suites this hotel is unique in the world there is no comparisment. Well achieved, my congratullations to the architect, designer(s) and owners of the project.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Well, this hotel definitely has a unique style to it. The walls are all painted black, and the hotel is decorated with funky chairs, paintings and fixtures. It's a bit dark but at the same time has its own charm to it.

One thing to note about this hotel is that it is small and can feel a bit cramped, however there are few rooms so there are few guests, and the hotel by no means feels crowded. It almost feels as though you are getting personalized one on one service from a bed and breakfast, which made it feel nice.

The hotel is far from the airport of Madeira. It might cost a bit if you just grabbed a taxi from the airport. I highly recommend arranging an airport shuttle to the hotel if you can. It will probably save you a substantial amount of money.

Despite being far from the airport, the hotel is quite close to the downtown part of Funchal. It is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, down Rua da Carriera, to get to the heart of Funchal. It is a walkable distance to the port (approx. 20 minutes), if you decide to take the Porto Santo Line to Porto Santo.

The hotel room was small and lacked table and shelf space. We found it difficult to move around in the room with all our stuff on the ground. However, as other reviewers have noted, if you do not intend on staying in the room all day - you will be fine. The bed is nice and firm and there is little noise that penetrates into the room. We slept very well.

You can also open the window which gives nice fresh air. Note that the washroom is completely enclosed in glass. In other words there is no privacy in the washroom.

The breakfast was good. They personally serve you a basket of bread that you can choose from, orange juice, yogurt and fruit. You can then order a "la carte" at no extra charge. There is a choice of a boiled egg, eggs and toast, eggs and ham etc. Note that if you get the boiled egg ask for 8minutes or more. I had a 5minute boiled egg and it was almost raw.

Room service is excellent.

There is a desk at the front with a computer on it that can be used for checking email.

Other than that, the hotel was nice and we would stay again if we were in Funchal. It is a quiet hotel, with its own charm, friendly staff and wonderful service.

Enjoy Funchal!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viseu, Portugal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The hotel is nice and central if you are to visit Madeira and not to stay much time in teh room. It is about 5 minute walk from the university and for the city centre.
We were 4 of us and they gave us 2 rooms, one of them with kitchen and table for small meals. The rooms were not connected nut if you wanted a suite all we had to do was to close the common door and leave the rooms' doors open - it eas nice.
The decoration is sober and nice and the cleaning had the necessary standards. My husband had an asma crisis I thonk due to the carpet which was later removed.
Breakafast is basic but good. The recepation area had a suage smell but not really anoying. For 60 euros in Funchal that is good.

Room Tip: The rooms are noisy of you leave the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We spent three nights at the Funchal Design Hotel over two occasions. The hotel itself is "chic" with black walls and greater than life size murals of dancers in white, giving it a very trendy feel. The rooms also had a lot of sharp angles and interesting lamps to carry off the feel.

It is small, with a small restaurant downstairs with good food and is within 5 minutes walk of the downtown. There seemed to be few nice hotels with decent prices in the area, so this is definitely a plus. If you know nothing of the city - think downtown is "funchal" with everything you are there to see and the lido area is a resort area packed with tourists there to be catered on. Our holiday was about exploring, so the downtown was the way to go.

The most notable thing about the hotel is the service. There is only one-two people (plus the cleaner who is very sweet) visible there at any time, so you get to know them. They were the most accomodating and friendly people we could have asked for (notably Nuno and Zalena) and we had needed the help due to lost bags (for two days thanks to Continental's awful service) and illness.

This is our first trip advisor report and only to do so to tell people about the exceptional service at the place. Thanks to Funchal Design for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funchal Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funchal Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Alegria, 2-2/A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-040, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Funchal Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Funchal Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funchal Design Hotel Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funchal Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.