We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Comfortable but some noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Serra Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Serra Golf to your Saves list
Porto Bay Serra Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio dos Casais Proximos | Santo da Serra, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-255, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Serragolf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 161 Hotels in Madeira
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Comfortable but some noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had booked a superior room but were upgraded to the suite which was lovely. The bed in the main bedroom was huge and comfortable.
Direct access to the gardens and a walk to pool.
I enjoyed my swim under the glass covered roof in the rain and the sauna was relaxing.
The night we stayed was stormy, windy, rainy, thunder and lightening. If this is not a very rare occurrence it would be a good idea to fix the windows to stop them rattling. The noise from this and the rain on the shutters, was loud and our sleep was poor. ( We live in an much older farmhouse and manage to stop the rattles). I mentioned this to the front desk who said they would inform management.
Also as suite is under the kitchen or dining room (I'm not sure which) clearing up footsteps go on until about 11.00pm and breakfast preparation starts sometime after 7.00am which spoils the privacy of a luxury suite.
Even so we loved our stay, but the superior room might have been better for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for your feedback about it.

So rewarding to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience at our hotel in spite of the noise. We are already working on a solution in order to minimise the points mentioned by you. Thank you.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regads,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    52
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
136
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were part of a group of 8 friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel. We usually stay at the main hotel in Funchal but tried this for a change. At this time of year as the hotel is in one of the villages in the hills the weather was mixed but it is a lovely place to walk from, play golf or just chill. We found the menu a little restricted but the food was excellent. Would definitely return for a 3 or 4 night relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for sharing your thoughts about it with so many other holiday makers.
Pleased to know that overall you had a very positive holiday experience. Regarding the restaurant menu please understand that the nr of options is somehow "adjusted" to the size of the hotel facilities…

We would be most pleased to welcome you in another opportunity.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

What a lovely hotel and friendly efficient staff. Our room was superb (one of the larger ones). Exactly as described but with style. Bathroom was generous in size and well presented. Cleaned well and regularly. Facilities in spa section were nice and never crowded. Gardens around cared for and pleasant. Food selection limited in evening but generous portions and well cooked. Access to many walks and the golf club easy. Beds were very comfortable. I will repeat myself here; the staff are superb, so helpful and pleasant. We would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Book the better rooms. Private (not overlooked) balcony with the Ballesteros suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review regarding your “march stay” at Porto Bay Serra Golf. So pleased to know that you took such a good impression of our little property, the services provided and the staff. THANK YOU.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,


Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here in the suite for three nights, a very quiet peaceful hotel. There is not a lot to do unless you are a golfer or have a car. We came here prior to staying at The Residence in Funchal just so we could unwind. The staff were very friendly and so helpful. We had a small problem with the smoking area seating moved in front of our suite which meant smoke disturbing us and people enjoying staring at us! No sooner did we mention this, only in passing, the seating was moved and within in a very short time.
The breakfast is maybe their Achilles heel, the hot food was only just warm, but the fruit salad with a yoghurt was delicious. We enjoyed the swimming pool, a walk in the local park and the Sunday market just up the road in Santo Serra.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto Bay Serra Golf and for the nice review about it shared with so many other travelers. Happy to learn that in general you had a positive holiday experience.
We have taken good note of your point regarding breakfast temperature.
We will be most pleased to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira and do not hesitate to contact us in case there’s anything we can do for a future visit to Santo da Serra

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a very good boutique hotel of just 22 rooms. The bedrooms are functional and quite acceptable but the best feature is the dining. The dining room itself is cool and elegant and the food is of a consistently high standard. Wines are reasonably priced. Service is friendly and efficient and you are made to feel important. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for sharing your thoughts about it with so many other holiday makers. Pleased to know that overall you had a very positive holiday experience.

We would be most pleased to welcome you in another opportunity.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent two nights here during a week in Madeira. The room was smaller and more basic than in the other two hotels we stayed in, but still comfortable and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Food from the fixed dinner menu was excellent, as was the breakfast. BUT - on our second night the service at dinner was poor. All tables were occupied but there were only two waiting staff. We requested a dessert menu, which hadn't appeared 20 minutes later, so we gave up. The fault lies not with the staff themselves, who can only do so much. There should have been a packed lunch provided on our second day, which didn't appear. This might have been our fault for not reminding them the previous night.
This is a very good small hotel which probably does better than this as a rule. Perhaps we caught them on a bad day?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto Bay Serra Golf and the feedback about it.
Our apologies for the experience at our restaurant in one of the evenings . Yes we had some days with the restaurant fully booked and the service was not what we are used to offer…we have taken good note of your notes.

We would be most pleased to welcome you once again,


Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After a somewhat dodgy landing at Funchal(!) it was a great relief to find that the hotel was a very simple 10 minute drive up into the hills of Madeira. The welcome was very friendly and warm and the staff helpful. Our room was clean and spacious (although I had hoped there might be a view!), with very comfortable beds! The spa was great when you been out walking or negotiating the sometimes hair-raising roads on Madeira (tip - dont head down a road that is barred with a white concrete block - it means that sections of it are falling away - yes we that but survived to tell the tale!!). If you pressed a button in one end of the swimming pool it turned into a jacuzzi(!) and the sauna seemed new.

The breakfast was absolutely first class and we enjoyed the evening meals we had although my madeiran steak was a little tough. Because of where it is we would recommend a car, although if you are confident I am sure you would be able to get about on the frequent buses that run through the village.

Overall it was a great stay at a fantastic price - we wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for your feedback about it shared with so many other holiday makers.

So rewarding to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience at our hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcmoe you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regads,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Serra Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Serra Golf

Address: Sitio dos Casais Proximos | Santo da Serra, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-255, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Serragolf)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Madeira
#24 Luxury Hotel in Madeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Serra Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Bay Serra Golf is a small charming property surrounded by nature and by the traditions of Madeira, with decoration that is both elegant and comfortable and with the golf course nearby !! Enjoy a stay in the middle of the country, with luxurious greenery, and a welcoming atmosphere. The main house dates from 1920, was restored in 1999 and is classified as part of the regional heritage. The facade, with decorative elements from the Art Nouveaux period, the frieze in floral tiles, windows with white wooden slats, and its fish-scale roof are unique features . .. 22 rooms, living room with fireplace, traditional restaurant, heated covered pool, sauna, library, games room and gym . .. in the heart of nature !! . .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Bay Serra Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Serragolf Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Serra Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.