We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Serra Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Serra Golf to your Saves list
Porto Bay Serra Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio dos Casais Proximos | Santo da Serra, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-255, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Serragolf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 161 Hotels in Madeira
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

2 night stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Peaceful location. Plenty of walking, reading and swimming in heated pool. Rooms are clean modern and cosy. As with all porto bay hotels the beds are incredibly comfortable. We ate a la carte fillet steak medium with porcini mushroom sauce. As good as it gets, I prefer steak medium. Sea bass was superb. Breakfast has plenty of fruit or hot breakfast if you prefer. I had both. Will return for sure.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for sharing your “Weekend Break” review about Porto Bay Serra Golf hotel.

It is really rewarding to know that you took such a good impression of our hotel and services provided.

We will always be pleased to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    52
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
136
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waidhofen an der Thaya, Austria
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Nice little Hotel with character. Groupe of 11 Amateur Golfer and 2 Professional had a very good Time, enjoyed the tricky and interessted Golfcourses the nice Hotelcharacter and the good service of Hotel and Golfcourse. We will come again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
r Guest,


Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for your feedback about it shared on tripadvisor.

So rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday golf experience at our hotel and the golf course as well.

It will be a pleasure to welcmoe you on a future visti to Madeira,

Warm regads,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Selected this for the first part of our trip, stayed for four nights everything exceeded our expectations. A small hotel it was like staying in a country house. The room was excellent, expertly cleaned each day and even ready on arrival which was great having left home a 2am in the morning.
Breakfast was superb a great choice and plenty of it in a lovely dining room. We did not eat in the restaurant choosing to go out to the local town, which does require you to take the car, many residents did stay in.
Leisure facilities perfect able to swim each day a real bonus, perfect lounge to sit in and relax.
Great location if you are a golfer,(reduced green fees welcome), well worth visiting the golf for the views if you are not.
We stayed four days had a lovely time but please can the reception lady be more welcoming and guest friendly, a bit of a cold fish.
Great location in the hills perfect for jumping off to visit the other side of the island. Be there at the week end to enjoy the locals market and make sure you drop into Blandy Park.
Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for staying in our hotel of Santo da Serra and for sharing your “Perfect stay” thoughts about it on tripadvisor.

Really happy to know that you have enjoyed the hotel, its facilites and also the service. We have taken good note about our recepcionist atitude..

We sincerely hope to welcmoe you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regads,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I returned for a second visit to this hotel and loved it just as much as the first time. Really nice food at both breakfast and dinner and the staff are lovely. A small complaint is the use of long life milk at breakfast which was a real shame.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay at Porto Bay Serra Golf and for the nice review about it shared on TripAdvisor.

Regarding the milk, please note that we live on a small island and nearly all the milk comes from Portugal mainland so it is a bit difficult to find fresh milk .
In any case the difference between the two types , fresh and long life milk is not much, in fact the second one gives us more guaranties in terms of bacteria risk due to the treatment process and of course it gives an extended shelf life.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira and do not hesitate to contact us in case there’s anything you can do for your next stay.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Small and with lovely rooms and with super service and food. It a perfect place for a honeymoon or a few days of golf or a long walk in the montains around. Especially the 3 hours walk out on the Pico do Furado was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in 301 a superior room and that was large and comfortable. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor your “A lovely place”” review about Porto Bay Serra Golf hotel.
It is really rewarding o know that you took such a good impression of our hotel and services provided.

We will always be pleased to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This little boutique hotel in the center of Madeira Island is simply just to love! I was with my boyfriend two weeks at Madeira in August and our thought about this place is just "no more intimate and absolutely superb place at all Madeira". The staff is extraordinary and the location is stunning, surrounded by forests and mountains. One is made to feel at home- just comfort and rest. Gorgeous rooms, amazing service, beautiful decor, perfect location. The whole hotel is breathtakingly beautiful decorated and atmosphere is really impressed. The restaurant is the top: food and service with an excellent concierge and staff. The breakfast that is served is sublime- pastries, fresh fruit, delicious cheeses and home-baked breads- served in a beautiful setting:)
We will always go back to this hotel when we are back at Madeira!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor your “The most intimate and absolutely superb place at all Madeira” review about PBSG.
It is really rewarding for the team to read your thoughts . I will certainly share it with all of them.

We will always be pleased to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
353 helpful votes 353 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I really loved this very cosy, friendly place.
It is NOT for handicapped people, as there is no elevator and steps up to reception.
Standard rooms are in the annex, two floors. Rooms up to number 209 are best. I had 209, which is the last one so no neighbours on one side. Best room is 301, the Ballesteros room where he stayed. It has a terrace with privacy and sun loungers.
All rooms face greenery so away from street so no noise at all. A bit of inside noise from next room but very little, no real disturbance.
Soft beds and I need that very much. Good TV with even BVN Dutch channel.
Good bathroom with (Dutch) toiletries, made in Italy.
Two seats in front of TV which is mounted on wall, a bit too high for me, but was OK, as for a big TV with many more channels (like Mezzo classical music) one can go down to games room.
Good breakfast, even with champagne, (Portuguese bubbles). Quite wonderful dinner. For 21 Euro halfboard but then ony a choice of a few starters and main, and all deserts.
Good prices of drinks. Just 45 Euro for a full bottle Moet et Chandon tells you how reasonable their prices are.
Great pool, 10 meters with at far end a whirlpool. Press a button and one has a great jacuzzi over whole width of pool at that end. Sauna also.
Small hotel and during day nobody in hotel, so one has the pool, sauna and recreation room nearly always to oneself, me all the time. It is 28 degrees in that pool area, 23 degrees water.
In summer doors open to garden in two sides. Pool has glass roof so feels like being outside.
Really marvelous staff, like Idalina M. and her colleagues.
Breakfast 8 till 10 AM, dinner 7 till 9 PM ,
Hotel is 400 meters from bus and supermarket, quiet location. Bus 77 takes 75 minutes to Funchal.
Hotel one of my top best finds of my life.
Only down side: very very poor and slow internet PC, very frustrating so bring own.
Also I thought the decorations are boring but all in all a hotel to come back too often.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto bay Serra golf and the such a comprehensive description of our property and of your holiday experience.

Glad to know that overall you had such fantastic experience that hopefully will bring you back in the future.
We would be most pleased to welcome you once again,

Have a great 2014,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Serra Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Serra Golf

Address: Sitio dos Casais Proximos | Santo da Serra, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-255, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Serragolf)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Madeira
#24 Luxury Hotel in Madeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Serra Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Bay Serra Golf is a small charming property surrounded by nature and by the traditions of Madeira, with decoration that is both elegant and comfortable and with the golf course nearby !! Enjoy a stay in the middle of the country, with luxurious greenery, and a welcoming atmosphere. The main house dates from 1920, was restored in 1999 and is classified as part of the regional heritage. The facade, with decorative elements from the Art Nouveaux period, the frieze in floral tiles, windows with white wooden slats, and its fish-scale roof are unique features . .. 22 rooms, living room with fireplace, traditional restaurant, heated covered pool, sauna, library, games room and gym . .. in the heart of nature !! . .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Bay Serra Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Serragolf Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Serra Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.