We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in a different type of hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Serra Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Serra Golf to your Saves list
Porto Bay Serra Golf
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio dos Casais Proximos | Santo da Serra, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-255, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Serragolf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Madeira
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay in a different type of hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we wanted to try something different from "normal" Hotels. As it is situated at around 700 metres above sea level it can be a bit cooler than in Funchal. The atmosphere in the hotel Was very gips, the staff always friendly. The breakfast was good and tasty- although there could have been a big choice of cheese and sausage.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the positive review of tripadvisor and happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in another opportunity,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    45
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
117
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had two pleasant nights here. The room was very comfortable and well stocked. The pool was lovely. The restaurant was very attractive. The food was very good although not 5 star. This was not a major issue considering the small number of guests and the very reasonable price per night. The staff were very helpful. (We did not play golf!)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review shared on Tripadvisor about your holiday at Porto Bay Serra Golf

We are happy to know that overall you had a positive experience with us.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for the last night of a holiday and it was really lovely. We arrived late, just before the end of dinner service and the staff were very accommodating. They went out of their way to offer us a menu whilst we checked in to allow us order before we settled into our room. The food was beautiful and the service was great. The breakfast buffet the following morning was also one of the nicest I have had, with a large variety of high quality sweet and savoury foods situated in a well decorated and furnished dining room. Furthermore, as our room was not required later that day and our flight was not until late, the hotel allowed us to stay for the day and make use of its facilities. This was incredibly helpful and a very kind gesture. Overall an excellent hotel, with well equipped rooms and great service. Thank you for a lovely end to our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your “excellent” review shared on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to Porto Bay Serra Golf

We are delighted to know that you had such a good time with us and we will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to our Island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just a short stay but wonderful! Great location for walking the levadas. A lovely, large room with a swimming pool and sauna - wonderful after a long walk. Fabulous breakfast with lots of fresh fruit plus a good variety of hot and cold foods. Dinner very good. Packed lunch provided. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Afternoon tea very good - though the cream for the scones would have been better as whipped or clotted cream - however the home-made jams made up for this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guests,,

Just a short note to thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Porto Bay Serra golf and we are happy to know that overall you had a positive holiday break.
I have taken good note of your thoughts about the afternoon tea cream.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had two nights here in the middle of a Headwater-organised walking package. It provided an excellent standard of service and a different experience. Despite the name of the hotel, it is no longer directly related to the well-known golf course just across the road. It is an architectural one-off. A belle epoque mansion that has had a swimming pool and 22 rooms added onto the back of it. There may also be a suite or two in the main house. The combination works quite well. The welcome we received was friendly if a bit chaotic but after that, things improved. The rooms are a good size, looking out over the vegetation behind them and the food service in the restaurant is of a very high standard. Breakfast and dinner were served in the restaurant, with very attentive service and a great selection.If you are touring Madeira and want a small and interestingly different hotel, we would recommend this highly. A note about ownership. The Porto Bay group only took over the hotel in 2012 but have added some style to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guests,,

Thank you for your thoughts about Porto Bay Serra Golf, shared on tripadvisor and for such a comprehensive review.
We are happy to know that overall you had a positive experience and it will be a great pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeira
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

escaped from Funchal for a night up in Santo da Serra for my wedding anniversary. first time staying at Serra Golf but it wont be the last. its a lovely country style little hotel with just 22 rooms and the staff are so so friendly and nice! it was the same girl who checked us in, took our food order, served us, got us drinks in the bar and its just such a friendly place.

we only stayed one night, i wish it had been longer. we had dinner in the hotel itself. there are other options in the village and if we had stayed longer we might have ventured out. however the hotel restaurant was excellent and decently priced too. there is a set half board menu which i think was 21 euros, but i had the beef espetada and the wine list has some very nice wines and also some very well priced ones.

breakfast was immense, much more than i imagined for a small hotel. we were embarrassed to walk in at 0950 when it finished at 10am but the minute we sat down everything was topped up again, good cooked breakfast and great fresh breads and fruit.

rooms are recently refurbished, free wifi, large tv, mini bar, everything you need.

didnt have time to play golf but its less than 10 minutes walk to the course, we went horse riding instead at quinta do riacho which was fantastic.

we will definitely return, next time probably for two nights so we can play golf and go to the famous sunday market.

Room Tip: didnt see the superior or suites but standard rooms have everything and its not a place where you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to say thank you for your kind review shared on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you had such a positive experience in our hotel and we will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Santo da Serra,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I visited this place for a weekend with my family and we all loved it very much, it was my husbands birthday and they made that day a very special one. Its old and a modern hotel, i loved the restaurant area and the area with the fireplace. It was very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: the rooms at the bottom floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Bay Serra Golf. Your evaluation will help us to improve the services level.
I am happy to know that overall you had a positive break and sincerely hope to meet you in a future visit to our property.

Wishing you a great year,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Serra Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Serra Golf

Address: Sitio dos Casais Proximos | Santo da Serra, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-255, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Serragolf)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Madeira
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Serra Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Bay Serra Golf is a small charming property surrounded by nature and by the traditions of Madeira, with decoration that is both elegant and comfortable and with the golf course nearby !! Enjoy a stay in the middle of the country, with luxurious greenery, and a welcoming atmosphere. The main house dates from 1920, was restored in 1999 and is classified as part of the regional heritage. The facade, with decorative elements from the Art Nouveaux period, the frieze in floral tiles, windows with white wooden slats, and its fish-scale roof are unique features . .. 22 rooms, living room with fireplace, traditional restaurant, heated covered pool, sauna, library, games room and gym . .. in the heart of nature !! . .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porto Bay Serra Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Serragolf Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Serra Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.