We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faja dos Padres

Faja dos Padres
Estrada Padre Antonio Dinis Henriques, 1 | Quinta Grande, Madeira 9300-261 , Portugal
+351(0)291 944538
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 86 Attractions in Madeira
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Arco da Calheta, Madeira, Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The lift from the car park (currently €7.50 return) takes you down to the fascinating environment on the faja. Pebbly beach and swimming possible. Walk around the area and see a wide variety of fruit trees. Possible to also stay in guest houses. Access also by boat at certain times of year. Good restiuarant by beach with quick, polite service and meals at reasonable prices. Go and give it a go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a fabulous location and if you don't have vertigo issues the descent in the lift is unforgettable. The restaurant/cafe down by the beach is very friendly and has good food at reasonable prices. Two days ago, Nov 11th, I swam here and sea was warm and refreshing. I can't wait to go back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Örebro
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Defeat your fear and go down the cliff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I admire Madeira habitants for building all these cable cars for letting us tourists enjoy beautiful views and in this case a lift. It goes down a steep cliff to the beach with a small settlement where once lived Jesuits. Now there is a restaurant, vineyard, orchard and several guesthouses where you can stay. Going down the elevator or take the seaway by boat are the only ways to get here.

It is a wonderful environment to walk along the ocean, watching the lush garden, perhaps take a bath if the sea is calm. When we visited the beach, it was not easy. High dramatic waves beat against the rocky shore. But this is a good place if you want to eat the classic espada with banana. We did. And we were a bit dubious indeed before we got here and wondered - would we dare go down down the elevator. We dared and it was definitely worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wow..........we met an English couple who told us about this place which was well worth the journey, cost and walk down the steps to the lift/elevator and then a further walk to the restaurant,sea front.
Apart from the restaurant and walks through the gardens the usual rocky beach awaits
you. The portions in the restaurant were very large (w'e had snacks) so if your not a 'Gannet' you could save a few euros.
The walk back though was quite hard for us, nearly 60 year young uns....but worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS BEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I adore this beach my boyfriends aunt actually works here. We visit every year for a few weeks in the summer & this is one of our favourite places to come for lunch, to sunbathe and swim.

They catch the food fresh & its on your plate before you know it.

The staff are all very friendly especially Ermilinda of course :)

Going to Madeira in 4 weeks & cant wait to come back here. Well worth the scary escalator. HAHA

x

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faja dos Padres also viewed

Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 
Porto Moniz, Madeira
 

Been to Faja dos Padres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faja dos Padres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.