We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinco Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sintra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cinco Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Cinco Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Largo da Caracota 5, Sintra 2710-547, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Sintra B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“So relaxing....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We loved Cinco.The apartment is in a great location within walking distance of several of Sintra's iconic buildings, and some very nice restaurants. It's a real home from home, and gives you the space, freedom and privacy that you just don't get at a hotel, with Carole the perfect hostess.

The gardens and views are lovely, the lounge (with comfy sofa bed) is light and airy, the bedroom cosy, the fridge is stocked with all sorts of goodies for breakfast, and the full-sized kitchen also has a washing machine (always handy mid-trip). Nice large bathroom. Good free wifi connection.

We found it hard to drag ourselves away, but eventually wandered over to Quinta da Regaleira, as well as touring around various other local attractions. We stayed two nights, and ate well at two nearby restaurants (Tulhas and Lawrence's). Sintra is a special place, and so is Cinco.

Room Tip: Only one apartment at present, though Carole & Stuart were busily renovating a cottage in the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

As others have said, the hospitality of Carol was great and the views were fantastic, even with the damp weather we endured through most of our 2 weeks in Portugal and Spain. You do get separate lounge, bedroom and kitchen which is nice and the price is good value. It is homely; do not expect it to be 5 star. Do take careful note of Carol's directions if you are driving - and it would pay to have a small car - it is an interesting drive!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had expected to be comfortable at Cinco based on previous reviews and seeing photos of the accommodations and the incredible views. We were not expecting, however, the warm hospitality and special touches that Carole and Stuart provided. When we arrived, Carole greeted us warmly, gave us great information about touring in the region, gave great insiders tips on local restaurants and walked us around the Cinco property. The fridge was stocked with milk, butter, eggs and homemade strawberry jam. We had coffee, tea, fresh bread and oranges from Cinco's own trees. Asking if we needed anything else, we replied that fresh bananas would be nice and fresh bananas appeared next day along with continuing updating of fresh provisions throughout our 5 night stay. The beds are very comfortable and freshly made each day. The bathroom towels are large and plush. It seems that Carole and Stuart have tried to provide almost very necessity to meet their guests needs. They're also building an additional suite that, when available, will have as much charm, if not more, than the present apartment. But the real unexpected joy was.getting to know Carole and Stuart. They're interesting and friendly folks that we almost immediately thought of as friends. And, as a gay couple, we were accepted fully and without prejudice. We recommend Cinco with the highest rating.
Phil and Ken - Atlanta, GA USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomar, Portugal
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights end of February and enjoyed every minute, even despite poor weather. For a remarkably reasonable cost we got a private-entry suite of rooms. Kitchen large, fully equipped and fully stocked. Bathroom very large with good tub/shower. Nicely decorated double bedroom (we had initial concern that the mattress might be too soft, but we slept like logs). Best was the large comfortable lounge with glass doors looking out on scenic views and opening to a nice outdoor patio.
Easy stroll into tourist center of town.
Carole & Stuart were perfect hosts (there for you if you needed them and letting you do your own thing if not), and smart, fun conversationalists.
We will definitely be returning in better weather so we can more fully enjoy the outdoor space (and pool!).
Thanks, Carole.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cinco for four nights while visiting Portugal in January, 2013. We highly recommend staying there! The house itself is spacious and cheerful; the kitchen is fully stocked and the bathroom is large and airy. We slept quite soundly as there was no street noise or noise from the neighbors; the house overlooks a valley and it has a beautiful view. Carole re-stocked our breakfast supplies every day for us; there was always juice, yogurt, eggs, croissants, homemad jam, etc. Carole was very enthusiastic about the area and gave us lots of "insider" tips about the best way to get around the town and which parts of the attractions to focus on. We also enjoyed the location; it is quite convenient for walking around the town but it also feels private. I would definitely recommend it for couples and families; you won't be disappointed! We would love to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pros
-- Spacious and comfortable accommodations = nice kitchen with lots of appliances, big bathroom and living room, bedroom
-- Kid friendly = toys, games, DVDs to entertain kids; can rent a cot and high chair for extra
-- Helpful owners = willing to give suggestions and recommendations, offered to let us use a back pack carrier for our son, and gave us a pack of diapers when we ran out of diapers.
-- Independence = loved tht the fridge was stocked with juice, homemade jam, milk, eggs, yogurt so that we could cook breakfast (only time on our trip when we cooked for ourselves).

Cons
-- Wifi service is poor in the kitchen and bedroom.
-- No ability to control heat in the rooms = when we arrived in the late afternoon, we decided to stay in the unit until dinner and realized that the heat wasn't turned on. We learned that the heat automatically turns on at 5 or so and shuts down in the morning at 10. However, Stuart was very kind to turn the heat on for us when we asked. So, if you aren't planning to leave the unit fom 10-5, it might be a little cold unless you ask.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Cinco when we were on our honeymoon in Portugal. Carole and Stuart were both extremely helpful and friendly hosts. The apartment you stay in makes you feel like you're staying with friends or family. It's very comfortable.

There is a kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, and extra room. Plus you have access to the garden around the house (which offers a beautiful view). Additionally, we got in late for our stay, but Carole let us leave our bags at the house so we could see the sites the next day - very kind and helpful! Only (very small) downside: the bed is two twin beds pushed (almost) together.

We had a great stay here would love to go back if ever in Sintra again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinco Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinco Bed & Breakfast

Address: Largo da Caracota 5, Sintra 2710-547, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinco is a private home ideally located on the edge of the historic center, close enough to all amenities but situated in a quiet and therefore relaxing garden setting. We are the perfect hybrid accommodation, giving the privacy of a vacation rental in our apartment or cottage, while providing B&B style service to accommodate all your needs. Nightly price includes breakfast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cinco Bed And Breakfast
Cinco Hotel Sintra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinco Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.