We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place in a green paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Valle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa do Valle to your Saves list
Casa do Valle
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua da Paderna 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Sintra B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful place in a green paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It's a special place, with a beautiful atmosphere. Very friendly staff, with great tips for eating out or activities. The ambiance was really pure and peaceful. Fruit comes right from the trees in the garden. I would definately recommend this to friends and family. Keep the good work going!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendations. You were here at the time when we had - and still have - lots of apples, of different qualities, and figs as well. We have a lot of fruit-trees and whenever there is something ready to eat, we love to share them with our guests, That and the mountain air, the surrounding nature and garden, give Casa do Valle its characteristic. Glad that you enjoyed it and found this a peaceful place to relax.

Best regards,

Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    77
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
79
232
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Casa do valle is a really amazing place. It is located in a beautiful surounding, the rooms are comfertable and very nice decorated. The hosts are a lovely and charming couple and Joke is one of the best cooker ever!. we had a really good time there and it is a good base point for travelling around.

we had a great tourist guide- Fabiano, who took us to see the area. he took us to places we could never find by ourselves, very much reccommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello! Please to know you enjoyed your stay in Sintra and Casa do Valle. Our decoration is quite simple and light, we are happy that you liked it.
We are glad to recommend activities and restaurants to our guests, and it seems you were pleased with the choices, as well. There are good guides as well, like you had, so you can make most of your visit.

Thank you for choosing us as your place to stay in Sintra,
Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

we slept two nights in this beautiful hotel. This location gives us a Incredible view of the castles of Sintra. We were welcomed by the very wonderful hostess Virpi, who gives us good tips for various kind of activities. Highly recommended this location. When we visit Sintra again we very happy to come along.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! The view from here to Sintra mountain and its palaces is indeed very nice. And it is always changing, according to the seasons. You should come again and do some more exploring of the area.

Best regards,
Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a pleasant surprise we had! Our room (#5) was spacious and had a mini-fridge, the bed was extremely comfortable, the breakfast was brought to our door and gluten free for me, the private terrace was relaxing--and the view was outstanding. At night we watched the sea mist roll over the hilltop palaces and forts on Sintra Mountain, turning them into a mysterious display of blurred lights. The gardens are lovely, the pool delightful, and our hostess Virpi was a model of graciousness. An excellently run establishment. A short uphill walk to the town center. We plan to come and stay again--and next time, for much longer!

Room Tip: Room #5 looks out at the mountain--but you can see the mountain from the garden as well, on the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Well, your review was so flattering, I don't know what to say! Other than Please DO come again! The gluten free option for breakfast, as well as the lactose free option, we find so important now a days when there are so many people who prefer them.
You were lucky enough to come at a time when summer turns into the fall season, so we start getting that misty effect to Sintra, it is magical! The morning mist turns pinkish in the rising sun and the evening mist over the palaces gives an almost fairy-tale effect to Sintra as the lighting hits it. This is a great season for photography and walks, especially!

See you again, Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Sintra just blew my mind, and Casa do Valle was just the icing on the cake. The hostess Virpi was so excellent. She made sure that our stay was as great as it was in her power to make it. The rooms are comfortable, and at night the view of the Castelos dos Mouros from the pool is absolutely breathtaking! I wish that we'd had more time to be able to stay. Hopefully someday we will be able to return :)

Room Tip: If you are able to, try to snag a room with a view! That's the only thing that would have made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello - and thank you for your review! Sintra is indeed a magical place, and worth really visiting in detail! So please, do come back and spend a little more time and get to know it better, And this time, you can stay in a room with a view!
Best regards, Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nice place to stay. From the garden and pool you can see the flags wving on the Castel dos Mouros. From Casa do Valle we could walk up to Sintra town and the Moorish castle. When we left we received a very attentive thank you gift.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello - thank you for choosing Casa do Valle as your address in Sintra and thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Casa do Valle and the views to the mountain. The flags of the Mourish castle are Portuguese flags from different eras and make a nice addition to the history of the place.

All the best,
Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had three nights in Sintra in late July and this place was perfect. It's close to the town but despite what they say about cars and Sintra, on street parking was easy. The room was very comfortable with great views of the hilltop castle and palace. The owner and staff are exceptionally helpful with excellent advice about walks, visits and where to dine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaitsuSintra, Owner at Casa do Valle, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi there,

As we are situated just off the center of the town, your experience with the parking is so true: normally we easily find parking in the street right outside our gate, and the best thing is, it is free!
From here, we usually walk to town, as it is just a half a kilometer, as the center in fact has very poor parking. But again, driving to the monuments up on top of the mountain is again OK. Many new parking areas have been constructed, to make it easier for visitors with cars,

Thank you for your wonderful comments, and also for choosing us for your accomodation in Sintra.

Virpi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Address: Rua da Paderna 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Valle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.