We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisited - Still a great place to be !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Valle

Save Saved
You added Casa do Valle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa do Valle
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua da Paderna 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Sintra B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Revisited - Still a great place to be !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed at Casa Do Valle last year and great to return again this year. Sintra itself is a magical destination and from the terrace/ garden/ swimming pool at Casa Do Valle you can see all it's natural beauty unfold. The mist in the valley in the morning, the strange light formation around Pena Palace at night, looking over at the brooding,majestic Quinta de Regaleria as you swim. Owners Virpi and Manuel, as ever, were a delight to be around and now they've extended the property with new rooms there's even more opportunity to stay. Yes it's a steep climb into town but it's worth every step ! The weather was kind and we got to swim everyday as well as play with Pandora, the Great Dane. Virpi arranged a massage for my wife on her birthday and made sure everything was good for us.
A wonderful place to stay in a truly breathtaking setting.

Room Tip: 5 and 6 on top floor have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    61
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
206
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

‪We had a wonderful stay in Casa do Vista, a new suite on the lower terrace of Casa de Valle. The rooms were bright, airy and spacious and equppied with everything you need for your stay. The view from the rooms and the veranda outside was spectacular, particularly while enjoying a delicious breakfast delivered to our room! This is a must for a relaxing getaway spot and for those that like walking, amazing views, and to be made to feel that little bit special. The room, the gardens, the pool, the hospitality, the flowers - everything(!) - was superb.‬

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I would highly recommend this B+B to anyone. Great room with everything you need, plus a great view!

So many positives, but the only negatives are that the walk into town in super steep, so some might struggle. Also the wifi didn't reach our room. Even with these 5 stars!

Thanks for the great stay.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somero
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I am a regular Sintra visitor. This eyar my usual b&b was fully booked so I ended up staying in Case da Vista - and loved it. I came to find a quiet place to do some reading and writing on my holiday, eating good food and just relax. For this Casa sa Vista is really perfect.
The view from full wall size windows is so beautiful! The beds were comfortable and rooms very beautiful.
The staff was very helpfull and friendly and the location of the place is good - a few minutes walk from the historic old town (uphill, so if you have trouble walking, this may not be your place, or then you'd want to take a taxi).
THe breakfast is great - you don't have to take it (and pay for it) if you don't want breakfast, and you can choose what type of breakfast you want - very nice!
I most certainly would recomment this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We called ahead to book a ride from the airport in Lisbon and we were met by Virpi"s daughter at 6:00am - what a wonderful sight after a long day's journey! The views are spectacular, the service is terrific, the staff are very helpful, and the neighbors were quite friendly. Our only regret is that we only stayed for two nights. Our travels throughout Portugal became a bit hectic after we left Sintra, and we both wished we had stayed a few extra days and just lounged by the pool. If we ever have the opportunity to return to Sintra, we will definitely stay at Casa do Valle.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor with a sitting area that overlooked the pool and grounds - it could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island WA
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Arrived via train from Lisbon. Highly recommend getting a cab from the train if this is your first time in Sintra since this place would not be that easy to find on your own. It's about a 20 minute walk from the train but it's not in the most obvious spot.

Our room was a very nice suite, not large, but very comfortable with great bathroom and comfortable bed. It was very clean as well. Three things are special about this place warranting my rare 5 dot rating: 1) The view from the deck includes the valley, Pena Palace, Quinta de Reglieria and the Moorish Castle; all absolutely breathtaking. 2) A very high level of concern that you have a great stay from the innkeeper (Verpi) I talked with her on the phone a few times after I made the reservation and she was very helpful with tips to make the most of our time in Sintra. 3) The quiet of being out of the main square. We slept like babies.

It is a bit of an uphill walk to the main part of Sintra, but not that bad. We took the bus up to Pena and the Moorish castle and then walked downhill home. It was a lovely trail walk back.

The wireless internet service was excellent.

Room Tip: The new building includes the unobstructed views mentioned above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

Casa da Vista is located at the same garden as casa do valle, which has good reviews on this site. We tried to book a room in casa do valle because we found Cascais too hectic. Do valle was booked, but we're really happy we could get a room in casa da vista.
It's located just below the city os Sintra, but the view is one big sea of green, with here and there an old mansion and at the far right, the castle. This view can be enjoyed from the big balcony, which also connects the rooms.
The rooms are tastfully decorated. Nice bathroom, good water pressure. Everything you would whish for is there, including Wifi and television. We had the larger room, which is actually two rooms and has a kitchenette. Breakfast is brought to your room. The garden is very well maintained and there is a very nice pool with beds. The staff is very helpful, guests leave tips in a common computer room also at the property.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa do Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Valle

Address: Rua da Paderna 5, Sintra 2710-604, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Valle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa do Valle is central yet relaxed: located in the Historic Center of Sintra, within a walking distance to monuments and restaurants, in a large garden with swimming pool. 30 km to Lisbon, 15 to Cascais and Estoril, 8 golf courses within 20 km. We have 7 standard double rooms in Casa do Valle, 3 superior double rooms and a suite in Casa da Vista on the same property -all with private bathrooms with shower; all rooms have a fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. Free internet and a small library for on-site reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Casa do Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Valle Hotel Sintra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Valle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.