We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Nova Sintra to your Saves list
Hotel Nova Sintra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Afonso Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sintra
chicago, il
1 review
“Would definitely stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I loved Hotel Nova Sintra! The location is great, not far from the train station. We rolled our luggage there with no problem. We enjoyed the wonderful outside gathering areas, and the very helpful and friendly staff. Rui Bernardo is a most gracious host who will help you with whatever you may need. The breakfast was tasty. I recommend the bodega out and to the left, on the other side of the street for picking up some snacks. We would definitely return to this charming hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    54
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
97
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Nova Sintra. The location was excellent within 5 minutes of the train. The staff was extremely helpful with restaurant and sightseeing suggestions. We liked the location because it was within walking distance of the town center but away from the tour buses and people. The view from the patio was so pretty with the castle in the distance and a lovely breeze. The breakfast was fantastic - much better than hotels we stayed at in other locations in Europe. The return to Lisbon airport was quick (less than 30 minutes) and a van was arranged for us. We would like to come back to Portugal as the people were so nice and the sights were incredible.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in two rooms next to each other as we were traveling with teenagers. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I read the reviews written and ratings by other here before going and i thought I would be lodging in a non-plus-ultra hotel to be then disappointed by reality.
Positive points:
the hotel is located at the outskirts of the city making it easy to access it from the main roads to Lisbon and elsewhere without having to drive through the old town that is chronically congested. It is also situated next to a train station and also to the bus stops (5 minutes walk) that would take one to the main tourist attractions. A walk to the historical center would take around 15-20minutes. Most staff are friendly and helpful. They would help you carry your bag from street level to the hotel, at about 2 stories height above street level. The room and sheets were clean. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. Wifi was very good.
Negative points:
This is an old small house that seemed to have been a villa or a chalet before. Our room had a humid and moldy air. The furniture is a mosaic of mostly incompatible "styles", mainly cheep. sound insulation is pretty poor. Our room was located at the first floor and we were able to hear very clearly all what is said in the reception, floor and when our neighbours went in or out of their rooms. One can hear the sound of water flowing in the bathroom of the neighbours. Mostly annoying is a flashing fire detector that has been over the bed. It pulses every second a green light that flashes right into your eye. There is an illuminated exit sign over the room door that renders it impossible to obscure the room in case you need darkness for your sleep. There is a church close by that announces the time every hour between 7am and 10pm. A sleeping mask and earplugs are recommended if your sleep is sensitive to sounds and/or light. My mattress was also not very good and caused me pain in the neck next morning.
More info:
This is a small hotel. It was probably a villa or chalet for rich people from Lisbon. This what would give it the familiar charm that is described by some. This also causes the humidity in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not facing the street as the hotel is located at a street curve and cars are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We enjoyed seeing the Moorish castle from our window, especially at night when it was lit up. There are nice plants on the terrace and the breakfast was very nice with a good variety.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We walked to the castle and palace from the hotel but it is a fair hike.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, middle window. Very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a beautiful, small family hotel where you really feel cared for. We had a lovely room at the top of the building. If you want faceless bland contemporary 4* luxury where you are left alone, don't stay here. But if you want charm, friendly staff who go out of their way to make your stay great and an excellent location, all for really very little cost, stay here. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My daughter and I loved Hotel Nova Sintra, the location, the wonderful outside gathering areas, and the very helpful and friendly staff. Rui Bernardo is a wonderful host, and you can't beat the location and comfortable rooms. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had the choice of two rooms, one with pretty tiles and the other with a view of the garden, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

From the moment we arrived Rui Bernardo and his staff made us feel at home and went out of his way to help and advise us. Well located close to the station and the stops for buses to visit the local area. The restaurants recommended were excellent and the historic centre of Sintra an easy walk from the hotel. Our bedroom was clean, larger than I had expected having read some other reviews, and the view of the Castelo dos Mouros was breathtaking. Breakfast could not be faulted and the terrace outside is a great place to sit and have a drink just drinking in the scenery. All in all, the service we received contributed to a fabulous visit - and one we would like to repeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Address: Largo Afonso Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nova Sintra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.