We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This a lovely hotel, a little away from the centre.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Nova Sintra to your Saves list
Hotel Nova Sintra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Afonso Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This a lovely hotel, a little away from the centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, a walkable distance from the centre. The breakfast is typical continental. There is a lovely first floor open air patio where it is really nice to takes drinks
What made the stay so memorable was the manager who couldn't do enough for us. He booked everything including restaurants for our evening meals.
If I stayed in Sintra again, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    54
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
97
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My sister and I have just reluctantly moved back to Lisbon after an overnight stay in Sintra. This hotel was brilliant. The rooms were quiet, clean and quaintly decorated. Such a nice change from the big hotel chains. Our hosts were helpful in advising us on the best way to get to places. Breakfast was lovely. Really couldn't fault the place. It left us longing to return for a lengthier visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewing,nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for 10 days at the Nova Sintra in July. Rui, our host could not have been more warm and welcoming. Comfortable room, spacious patio, delicious breakfast. We were able to get helpful information about taking day trips, good restaurants and beaches. I highly recommend this hotel, it's proprietor and his staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We only spent one night passing through Sintra...but the Hotel Nova Sintra was perfect. Beautiful views, great night's sleep, lovely breakfast and helpful welcoming staff! I hope we return again someday...and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. We were tired and looking for an easy place to stay without a lot of dragging luggage up hills. This was a magnificent find. Clean spacious rooms, beautifully decorated and very comfortable beds. Quiet, great breakfast, very helpful and service oriented staff, I wish we could have stayed a week. I sat on the lovely, spacious, deck and enjoyed a glass of Vino Verde and watched night fall on the Pena Palace and the Moorish Castle. Fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lempaala, Finland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We got here great and welcoming service. As we arrived early we were offered special opportunity to choose between two rooms. Both rooms were nice and tidy. The breakfast was really good. Wifi worked ok. The location is good if you arrive with a train or bus but it can be quite difficult to get FREE parking place nearby if you arrive with a car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I were fortunate enough to stay at this delightful hotel last week. The day after we booked, I received an email from the owner, Rui, offering us a larger room simply because we had booked for 6 nights.The hotel was lovely and clean with a fantastic terrace looking over to the Sintra Mountains. Best of all were Rui and his staff who could not do enough for us, despite my wife and I being the least demanding of guests. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We even had our photo taken for their Facebook page. Now that is definitely a first for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Address: Largo Afonso Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nova Sintra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.