We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Nova Sintra to your Saves list
Hotel Nova Sintra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Afonso Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sintra
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is close to the Sintra train station and to all tourist attractions there. Perfect location if you didn't arrive by car. The staff is kind, attentive, and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Overall the place is calm and with a nice view.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    60
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
105
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Situated very close to the railway station of Sintra, Hotel Nova Sintra is an ideal place to stay if you're arriving by train. The young man at reception was very kind: he let me choose the room of the three vacant ones (I chose the one with fantastic view to the moorish castle), gave me map and all necessary information how to move around in the town etc. The the bus stop of the two buses going to the main attractions (434 to Pena Palace and the moorish castle, 435 to Monserrate Palace and Quinta Regaleira) was in front of the railway station, and the bus stop to the buses going to Cascais and Estoril (timetables at the bus stops) even closer, just the opposite side of the street. There were about 2 km to the centre, but the road had nice views and you could also take bus or taxi (you could always find one in front of the railway station).
The hotel itself was quiet and cosy, with atmosphere of an old villa. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom spacious enough. Also breakfast was nice, I especially enjoyed the tasty bread and delicious omelette.
I could warmly recommend Hotel Nova Sintra to all travellers, who are not looking for luxury but for a charming, little hotel to stay while their stay in fairy-tale town of Sintra. And I would really recommend to stay in Sintra at least a night or two, in a busy day trip you don't have time to see much - and especially not to catch the unique atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Nova Sintra for 5 days and explored historical Sintra & the surrounding coastal region. The Historical Centre of Sintra is about a 10 minute walk away. The Hotel was perfectly located with a bus stop outside the entrance & the train station a short walk across the road. Our room was on the ground floor & was roomy with a good size bathroom & aircon. The room was kept spotlessly clean & beds made up & towels changed daily. The Hotelier, Rui, & his staff were brilliant! Everyone was very welcoming & nothing was too much trouble for the staff & they genuinely took an interest to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We actually moved onto a 5 star hotel in Lisbon & quite frankly wish we had remained here!!! If we ever return to to Portugal we will definately return to this Hotel again. Thanks Rui & Thank You to Your Team for a great holiday!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Our room was comfortable and clean, and we had a great view of both the Moorish Castle and the National Palace out our windows. However, it was the service that put Nova Sintra over the top for us. We had planned to take trains north and pick up a rental car in a more rural area. However, with the ticket inspectors strike, those plans were put in jeopardy. The desk clerk jumped into action and arranged a transfer of the rental reservation to a location only a short taxi ride from Sintra. It took three phone calls to do it, but he stuck with it, including convincing the rental agent that we had indeed booked the original car directly rather than from a booking agency. When we thanked him, he waved it off as "no trouble at all."

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and got some great local advice from Mr Rui and he could not have been more welcoming. We had an attic room, with its own bathroom, and breakfast was included in the rate. Our car was broken into while in Cascais for the day, and Mr Rui was extremely kind to us, even offering to drive us back to Cascais when a few of the items that were stolen were found by a local person. Unfortunately my camera was also stolen, so I can't share my photos with you, but I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. We couldn't make use of the beautiful roof terrace, as the weather was cold and rainy, but it would be a real bonus in the summer.

Room Tip: Our attic room was very quiet and spacious. The compromise was the shower which was rather small an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilenkirchen, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel was OK and not very far from the historical center.
My room was small with no air conditioning. Breakfast was just OK.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel must be the best place to stay in Sintra if you like unpretentious places which are good value. We were in room 4 which has a great view and was very quiet. You are made to feel welcome and all the staff are friendly, interesting and helpful. We are independent travellers and because the hotel is so near the station and all the local buses you do not need a car. When you come out of the train station turn right and keep waking on the right for 100m. You will see the hotel to the left on top of a terrace and you reach the hotel by a stairway from the road. If you travel by train it is the terminal station that you exit. We stayed for 6 nights and took our time to see the historical sites.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Address: Largo Afonso Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nova Sintra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.