We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My idea of heaven for over twenty years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Capela

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sintra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta da Capela
Save
You added Quinta da Capela to your Saves list
Estrada Velha de Colares, Sintra 2710-502, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
UK
1 review
“My idea of heaven for over twenty years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Reading other reviews of the Quinta da Capela, it is clear that not everyone is as enthusiastic about it as I am. What I have found here off and on for twenty years is a retreat which provides tranquility and total relaxation. If you want a five star hotel and attendant amenities, then go to one. What you will find here, apart from an unsurpassably beautiful location, is a beautifully restored eighteenth century house, quirkily furnished with great taste and panache with a mixture of antiques and modern art. Each bedroom has a separate style and is comfortable. Bathrooms veer towards the antique, though I have never suffered the problems with showers noted by other guests. The service is discreet and attentive, and although no meals are served (a car is essential), snacks can be obtained, and there is an honesty bar where you pour your own drinks. Sintra offers a large range of restaurants, and sea food is obtainable along the coast. The pool is a problem. It is not what most people expect or are looking for, being unheated, small, and rather basic. But the garden is beautifully looked after and offers lots of places to sit and read, or just to loll in the summer heat. And, if you want to explore the surrounding countyside, the Quinta is very centrally placed and convenient.
If you have a sense of history - the quintas along the Sintra hills were the stamping ground of the English aristocracy in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries - and if you hanker after the conditions of total relaxation, you cannot do better than spend some time here. I am hoping to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

I booked the hotel back in December for a wedding this weekend (august 2008). Having arrived late Friday afternoon we were told that they did not have our booking. There was a party of 8 of us staying at the hotel and they only managed to secure one of the bookings so unfortunately our first impression was not that good. We all managed to juggle everything so in the end we did stay there - however, please please call and make sure they have your reservation.

Anyway the room we stayed in was glorious and i'd really recommend asking for this one - it is the only room on the top floor of the hotel - it's airy, large and absolutely stunning. However, the bathroom as others have mentioned on tripadvisor was terrible - a dripping tap as a shower - if indeed you managed to get it working.

On the last night we were moved to another room on the bottom floor which isn't so nice - very damp.

The breakfasts are nice but if you want anything other than a roll or cereal, you have to pay - even 3euros for the juice which we felt was unreasonable.

The hotel itself is so beautiful - the setting is simply stunning - it really is amazing. The grounds are to die for & i don't think i've ever slept so well.

There is a pool but don't hold your breathe as it's FREEZING!!!

All in all it's a wonderful hotel and we'd definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — Check in
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We were married on a Saturday morning in the US. By Monday morning (very early -- 7:00a.m.) we arrived at the Quinta da Capela. We knew we were very early to check in so we sat in our car to wait for a more appropriate time to wake the management of the quinta. Exhausted from wedding hoopla and "across the pond" travel, we fell asleep in our car. We were awakened by a maid gently rapping on the window. She formally and graciously welcomed us and escorted us to our accommodations. We were very lucky to have been booked in one of the separate cottage houses for the length of our stay. Beautifully furnished, with antiques in the sitting room and bedroom, the bath was a sumptious and welcoming example of Portugese tile surrounding a large soaking tub. Each night after touring the region we were greeted with Port of both the tawny and ruby varieties with a fire in our fireplace. In the morning we received a traditional European continental breakfast on a silver tray with silver accroutements. The rolls were baked fresh and fabulous, the coffee superb and the jams of homemade quality. From the linens of the bed to the linens of the table; from the bath to the bedroom everything was exceptionally clean and of the highest quality. The property is lovely, the staff exemplary and the value exceptional. We cannot wait to return.

P.S. Both my husband and myself have travelled within the US, Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia, Europe and Middle East and consider this a stand-out property.

  • Liked — No television.
  • Disliked — No television.
  • Stayed November 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

The area around Sintra is Portugal’s lush quadrant between Lisbon and the Atlantic coast, and Quinta da Capela is an excellent hideaway smack in the center of this natural playground peppered with palaces, gardens, and a Moorish castle. An unassuming inn that has the feel of a manor-house, Quinta da Capela is situated amongst dense and varied vegetation naturally laid out over an attractive topography.

Our corner top-floor room felt like a tree-house situated in a whimsical forest with close up views of the Monserrate palace and gardens nearby. The staff is extremely welcoming and helpful. And, the breakfast room provides for a refreshing start of a day of exploration. From there one is literally 10-15 minutes to the town of Sintra, another 10-15 minutes to the Atlantic coast, and around half an hour to Cascais. The grounds offer an opportunity for a slow stroll for the early bird.

While the view from the bathroom is certainly unique, taking a shower requires more than one typically counts on, given the weak water pressure. And, while the 17th century feel is welcomed in many respects, the mild musty odor is not. All in all, we’d happily stay there on our next visit.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Shower (weak water pressure)
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

*The only drawbacks were a slightly weak shower and a lengthy walk to Sintra town (latter is not a problem if coming by car).
*The house was beautifully set and tastefully furnished, breakfast was perfect!
*Loved that it was a really "feel at home place" with a "honesty bar" that you can help yourself at anytime and a big library so if you suffer from jetlag, plenty of options here....
*Look at the pictures and you'll see what I mean by "serene"
*10 min drive to the beach where we had crabs and king prawns too!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

This small former manor house is a real gem. Nine rooms in a restored farm house (2 of the rooms are below th main house offering even more privacy & self catering facilities with private outdoor lounge areas) Very friendly staff gave great recommendations for dining and driving in the Sintra area. Breakfasts are included but could be better -- tho' I often find them disappointing in Europe & at least here you can pay for upgrades to cooked breakfasts.

Fabulous views out to the coast on one side and upwards towards 3 distant palaces in the other. Glorious gardens flank the main building which has been lovingly restored with an intimate ambiance of rustic splendour. Great areas to lounge around inside & outside make this a beautiful retreat in the enchanting setting of Sintra. Highly recommended for smaller, independent hotel lovers.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

We loved the Quinta da Capela. This manor home is spectaculor, beautifully decorated and the setting is magnificent. The owners are very nice and informative. We can't say enough about this place. Sintra is a magical place and staying here was the right decision. We can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta da Capela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Capela

Address: Estrada Velha de Colares, Sintra 2710-502, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta da Capela a 17th-century manor in the Sintra mountains. 5 min. from the historical centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Capela Sintra
Quinta Da Capela Hotel Sintra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Capela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.