We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Miradouro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Miradouro to your Saves list
Casa Miradouro
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua Sotto Mayor 55, Sintra 2710, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #7 of 22 Sintra B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I recently stayed at Casa Miradouro in early August for 3 nights and I really enjoyed my stay there. I had a basic twin room and it was super clean. The room was very charming! (although the small twin bed wasn't the most comfortable really) I went there alone and I was worried at first, but it was the perfect place for me, as I felt super safe and was thrilled with the close location to historical Sintra. It is a tough uphill walk to the centre but I enjoyed the exercise. It takes just under 10 minutes walking to the main area. I loved also how quiet the B&B was so after a day touring around, I liked going back to the B&B and relaxing in the common areas. I did have breakfast there as well and if you are a normal eater than it's worth it because you get fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, eggs, cold cuts, breads, pastries, etc. I am not a big eater, so I could have just gone into town and had a pastry for 1.50 Euros instead. However, 10 euros is still a great deal to have breakfast there. Overall, I really enjoyed my experience there and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    36
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
157
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This slightly out of the way B & B was charming and beautiful, just like Charlotte & Joy, who greeted us at the door with a welcoming glass of port. There are so many tasteful touches. We had the top balcony room with a view of the Palace on the hill. We don't usually opt for the breakfast and prefer to explore but we did here, and we weren't disappointed - eggs cooked to order and served on the terrace or inside, with other typical Portuguese items. It is only a short walk into town, but it is all uphill and very steep! This wasn't a problem at all but it might be if you have any physical issues. Parking is on the street but close by. They were all very helpful and knowlegeable about Sintra and all of Portugal really! ( No elevator but staff was willing to assist with bags if needed). Stay here, you will love it!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or attic room with a view - very high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Casa Miradouro is truely a lovely B&B that one should opt to stay in Sintra. Nicely sitted on a hillside, it offers a great view of Sintra valley and beyond. We were checked into an attic (a pleasant surprise for us) where the room is real cozy and comfortably setup with ample space for one to chill while enjoying the view out of the window. The B&B has been thoughtful in providing a nespresso coffee machine with wide selection of coffee capsule and homemade local pastry to be self served all day long which is really delighting. The breakfast served in the morning was superb with a considerably wide spread for such a small scale of lodging. We really love the stay at Casa Miradouro and would highly recommend to anyone to stay here!! Great job Casa Miraduoro!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

All aspects of the accommodations were as wonderful as expected. The facilities are well maintained, the staff is excellent, the breakfast is nicely prepared and served either inside or out, the views are some of the best in Sintra, the location is out of the main stream of Sintra activity which is great for relaxation at the end of the day, and Charlotte's recommendations are very helpful. Visiting in August, we really enjoyed being able to sleep with the large windows open for the fresh air cooled by the Atlantic Ocean which can be seen in the distance.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others. Room 4 is one of the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Luxurious boutique B&B - beautfully decorated with lots of original features and a nice mix of modern and older style furniture. Large, airy, clean rooms with sitting areas. Great breakfast, honesty bar and coffee available all day. Comfortable and welcoming communal areas with classical music playing and free wifi. Quiet location just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Sintra. Friendly and helpful owner/manager and staff (fluent in English). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Casa Miradouro was one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed at. Charlotte went out of her way to make sure that we were comfortable and felt right at home. Her recommendations for restaurants and day trips were also excellent. We're very much looking forward to returning and staying again. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This little jewel, perched on a hillside in Sintra is classically beautiful, super comfortable and offers gracious hospitality. We were greeted with a glass of Port and a large, lovely room with a stunning view of the nearby castles as well as a vista stretching toward the coast. The breakfast served each morning is wonderful and offers a great variety including eggs cooked to order. The house is within walking distance to many of the sites in Sintra and the local bus to the castles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Miradouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Miradouro

Address: Rua Sotto Mayor 55, Sintra 2710, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Miradouro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Miradouro has 8 rooms, all with private bathrooms and balcony. Double-glazed windows and central heating make the rooms comfortable even in the Portuguese winter. All rooms are kept in bright colours and dispose of large windows so you can enjoy the magnificent views. Some rooms have beautiful stucco ceilings. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Miradouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Miradouro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.