We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Miradouro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Miradouro to your Saves list
Casa Miradouro
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua Sotto Mayor 55, Sintra 2710, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #7 of 22 Sintra B&B and Inns
Stonington, Connecticut
1 review
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

All aspects of the accommodations were as wonderful as expected. The facilities are well maintained, the staff is excellent, the breakfast is nicely prepared and served either inside or out, the views are some of the best in Sintra, the location is out of the main stream of Sintra activity which is great for relaxation at the end of the day, and Charlotte's recommendations are very helpful. Visiting in August, we really enjoyed being able to sleep with the large windows open for the fresh air cooled by the Atlantic Ocean which can be seen in the distance.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others. Room 4 is one of the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    36
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
157
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Luxurious boutique B&B - beautfully decorated with lots of original features and a nice mix of modern and older style furniture. Large, airy, clean rooms with sitting areas. Great breakfast, honesty bar and coffee available all day. Comfortable and welcoming communal areas with classical music playing and free wifi. Quiet location just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Sintra. Friendly and helpful owner/manager and staff (fluent in English). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Casa Miradouro was one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed at. Charlotte went out of her way to make sure that we were comfortable and felt right at home. Her recommendations for restaurants and day trips were also excellent. We're very much looking forward to returning and staying again. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This little jewel, perched on a hillside in Sintra is classically beautiful, super comfortable and offers gracious hospitality. We were greeted with a glass of Port and a large, lovely room with a stunning view of the nearby castles as well as a vista stretching toward the coast. The breakfast served each morning is wonderful and offers a great variety including eggs cooked to order. The house is within walking distance to many of the sites in Sintra and the local bus to the castles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is the second time we visited Casa Miradouro and again it was super! The house is very beautiful and exceptional, Charlotte and her staff are adorable, and the views amazing!
The atmosphere in the house is very cosy, but in a stylish way.
What we especially liked about our holiday is that the house is so central that we could have a nice mix of culture (Sintra), citytrip (Lissabon is nearby, only 30min), beautiful beaches, nice reastaurants,...And then it is nice to come 'home' everytime to Casa Miradouro.
We loved it again and will continue coming back, that is for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great inn with terrific service from staff and owner. We saw 3 rooms and all were gorgeous. Our room had a recently fitted, attractive modern ensuite with very nice shower and the bed was comfortable. The room had comfy chairs to enjoy a coffee while watching sunset over the ocean (in the distance). Breakfast was very good. Lounge area is lovely. Couldn't ask for more. A few reviews mention that the road into the historical centre from here is fairly steep and narrow (and a 7 min walk), but the charm of Sintra is its narrow and steep roads and alleys! Taxis are cheap and easy to find, so no problem getting to/from train station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I just glanced at the poor reviews of this exceptionally quaint hotel and question marks are floating over my head. This is not the Ritz. You can't criticize every minute detail because you are not paying for perfection.

This place is GREAT for what it is. The room we stayed in was a nice size even with the little couch unfolded for our son to sleep on. The bathroom was large by European standards.

There was a little leakage from the shower but we soaked it up with a towel and hung it inside the shower stall. They are also over-the-top nice and accommodating.

Yes, it's an old house and the floors creak a little. They also have comfortable couches and free coffee downstairs in the living areas.

Yes, there is no elevator but the stairs are wide. You are also staying in a fairytale building.

And, yes, it's uphill to the town center...but its downhill coming home. You could always call for a taxi and pay the 4 euros. The also leave a little dish of candy in your room.

They also have soothing piano music playing downstairs, and an honor bar, and a great little garden, and great views, and…

We are always just grateful that we get to see great places like Sintra and stay in places like Casa Miradouro. I recommend this hotel if, like us, you are easy going and grateful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Miradouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Miradouro

Address: Rua Sotto Mayor 55, Sintra 2710, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Miradouro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Miradouro has 8 rooms, all with private bathrooms and balcony. Double-glazed windows and central heating make the rooms comfortable even in the Portuguese winter. All rooms are kept in bright colours and dispose of large windows so you can enjoy the magnificent views. Some rooms have beautiful stucco ceilings. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Miradouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Miradouro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.