We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical New Year Eve Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Palacio de Seteais to your Saves list
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Barbosa do Bocage 10, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Magical New Year Eve Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This year I wanted to have a new year’s eve dinner at special place and due to family circumstances I need a calm and quiet place located in a Palace. I chose this hotel and I am very pleased with my choice. The location within the Sintra forest and Palaces region was perfect, even one of the rooms had a view to Pena Palace. To be in this hotel is like to be in a Palace of the old days. The furniture is antique and the felling was authentic.

Dinner was very good and the service was excellent. My family and I enjoyed very much. The new year party was at the hotel bar with live music.

Breakfast was excellent and served on the dining room. Staff was attentive and cared for our needs.

I stayed for two nights and had the pleasure of exploring the Sintra region.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    97
    21
    13
    4
See reviews for
64
300
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel, making a stopover on the way to Algarve, wanting to see some of Sintra (for which you would need at least two full days, or rather three, we could not manage to see all the sights we had planned to). The Tivoli was not easy to find, in my GPS I tried the address Avenida Barbosa do Bocage 10 (as given by the hotel), but only too late did I learn that the GPS had it as Rua Barbosa do Bocage 10 (as correctly stated on the TA). I also made a mistake in entering the GPS coordinates (which the hotel had provided correctly when confirming the booking) – so it took generous help from a local to lead us to the hotel. It is really nice, we were greeted with some chocolates and an excellent Porto wine (Messias Tawny). The room was really luxurious with beautiful bathroom en suite, but it may just not be comfortable enough for longer stays – for the two nights it was perfect. The bed is somewhat softer than I prefer, but comfortable enough. Breakfast was fantastic with a selection of fresh tropical fruits (mango, papaya, pineapple), freshly squeezed orange juice, cheese and cold cuts. The almond cake was delicious, espresso coffee excellent. The scrambled eggs were the usual hotel quality.
It’s worth while walking around not only in the palace itself but also in the gardens. Our room overlooked the pool and the surrounding countryside, beautiful and peaceful. Although not cheap by any means, for this level it is justified.
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple.

Room Tip: Pool view is beautiful and in October it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Palace of Seteais is a very special place located in beautiful surroundings with a very nice garden which as you enter it and approach the main building feels truly palatial. The grand entrance and various rooms in the main floor are exquisite, tastefully furnished and full of light. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The atmosphere can be described as relaxed and elegant. There is a lovely dining room where a pianist is playing as you enter it, putting you in a good mood for a nice dinner. Breakfast is served buffet style, with a nice selection of dishes.
Don't miss the back porch where tea or a drink can be enjoyed in a lovely surrounding.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and quiet because of the extensive gardens surrounding the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is incerted in the old part of Sintra and you can actually fell that you turned back in time... You can fell like a member of the royal family and live in this Palace with all the comoditiesof a modern hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I can safely say a lot of these comments below are from the manger or staff. Don’t get me wrong I stayed for a week & this hotel is Beautiful and absolutely spot less, you could not fault the standard of cleanness here BUT the services is very poor.
I’ll start with the breakfast, the food excellent and also the service.
The rest of the food is terrible, the lunch by the pool is nowhere near the standard of a 5 star or any star, very poor quality and very expensive.
We were invited to a BBQ in the garden one day and we were lucky no one got food poison because a lot of it was raw.
The place was beautifully laid out, the cold salads were very good but the services was terrible the wine had been paid for but they still managed just to be so lazy & rude about the services, it got to the stage where we had to ask could we have our bottles of wine from them to pour for our guest at different tables our self’s.

It’s the same threw out the hotel they have a young lad working hard at the pool and the rest just seem to watch and give orders and do nothing especially at the bar.

You get a horrible feeling in this hotel after a few hours of being here that they just want your money and nothing else. Small things I asked for a plug adopter which are no more than 5 euro but they make you pay 25 euro deposit, tinny jar of nuts are 7.50, the towels are again another stupid price, WIFI, we all know hotels charge you more for items that your local places but with the poor staff and food it just gets on your nervous very easily. Other issues were at the pool bar, double charging us several times, on one occasion the staff from reception approach one the wife’s of the grooms men on the wedding day very aggressively to sign a bill that was not hers, which later was discovered was paid twice.

Stupid thing like that, it nearly ruined the hole experience, it could easily be one of the best hotels in Portugal because it is so beautiful and well kept but the staff and that horrible feeling of been milked of your money all the time ruins it.
I don’t usual write reviews but I thought it was important for people to see this, the other hotel in the centre seem to be a better bet till this place is given a serious shake up.

Room Tip: looking out over the pool is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It has just 30 rooms, tennis court, swimming pool, restaurant and bar the interiors of the palace are totaly furnished with antiques and the hotel was recently under improvement works .
Try to stay in the older section, second floor, great service and do not miss the restaurant .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Tivoli Seteais in Sintra for a holiday ( wedding anniversary and my birthday) in July 2013.

The palace is stunning and the hotel surroundings/gardens are very pretty. We were given a room with a view to the swimming pool/gardens which was breathtaking.

The staff was very good and made us feel very welcome. We also ate at the restaurant one night and the food is good. Breakfast has an excellent choice of fresh fruit, meat, cheeses, breads and the staff are very nice.
Both on our anniversary and on my birthday we had champagne, fresh strawberries, cherries and chocolates delivered as a gift to our room which was a very nice touch.

Also the concierge recommended a couple of restaurants- Tulhas, which is a traditional fish restaurant, very good quality and price and Tacho Real which was superb.

Every night we went for a dip in the swimming pool which was great, the pool attendant was very polite and attentive.

Sintra is a very nice little romantic town with a lot to explore.

Overall a great experience and would strongly recommend this hotel for a nice relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Address: Rua Barbosa do Bocage 10, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.