We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best b&b in Portugal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa
Estrada da Pena, 04, Sintra 2710-609, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Sintra B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best b&b in Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this incredibly beautiful b&b last September and I have to say it was the highlight of my trip to Portugal! This place is absolutely gorgeous and we felt so comfortable and welcome. Everything was perfect! Fresh flowers in the room, amazing breakfast, beautiful garden, wonderful and kind host... This is more than a 5 stars hotel! :-) I highly recommend this b&b!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Arriving after midnight from a very long flight we were greeted by Oseias and Michel as if it were in the morning. They took the time , even at that hour to show us around and explain things to us.They also helped carry our heavy luggage up the stairs. We rented the 3 bedroom apartment (we were 2 adults and 2 children) on the top floor. The apartment was charming and had ample room for the four of us. All mods and cons were provided. The views from all the windows of beautiful Sintra were remarkable. No air conditioning but you found that you didn't really need it as Sintra is probably cooler than say Lisbon by approx 5-6 degrees. You are right in the centre of the historic centre so you are literally a few minutes away from all the shops and restaurants but yet as you are situated up in the mountain, you do not experience any noise.We had a rental car with us and even though there was no parking on site, we had no problem parking the car on the street (even in the middle of summer).Oseias and Michel were always so helpful, informative and gracious and always gave good tips as to where to go etc..If you are travelling to Sintra, which is a must if you visit Portugal, then you must stay here.The villa itself has been immaculately restored by Oseias and Michel .The decor and attention to detail is divine and Oseias is quite the artisan, he makes all the curtains and bedheads and some of the artwork in the villa himself. The gardens are also immaculately attended to. Definately will be back again.Oh, and their beautiful golden retriever (who by the way was never a bother, I actually think my kids annoyed the dog more than anything) Gardier was lovely!

Room Tip: If you want spectacular views choose the 3 bed apt on the top floor. All other rooms are lovely too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Michel made us feel very welcome and was a wonderful host in this stunning B&B. We stayed in the flat / suite on the ground floor which probably doesn't have as good a view as the rooms on the higher floors do, but has a wonderful little private terrace. Everything about this B&B is immaculate and quality. Breakfast was excellent and served in a wonderful room full of antiques. Michel always had time to give us advice on good places to visit and eat. Simply divine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Do yourself a favour everyone, make this delightful B&B a definite stop on your travels around Portugal . Our only regret was not spending another few nights here. Michel & Oseias are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to make you welcome in their beautiful home. Their attention to detail is second to none & their restaurant & attraction tips spot on. They serve a 5 star breakfast in the beautifully decorated dining room every morning, with the added attraction of their lovely golden retriever who sits obediently at the door entrance looking in. Thankyou guys for a wonderful couple of nights we would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor bedroom which was beautiful , but if we were staying longer would prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

You cannot go wrong choosing this bed and Breakfast. The hosts were tremendously friendly and helpful. The whole villa was beautiful with a love and care that you would expect as if you were staying at someone's private home. Without hesitation i recommend this Villa for anyone seeking a magical stay in a fairytale like town

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

In early august my family and I rented the 3 bed apartment at the top of the villa for 5 nights. We really did not want to leave! The apartment itself was fantastic, very comfortable with great views and a fully equipped kitchen. The hosts michel and odeios went out of their way to make us feel welcome, gave great tips about where to go and what to see in sintra, drank wine with us and generally discussed life! Sintra is a must see town in portugal. It was a good temperature, even in the hottest part is summer, is bursting with castles and palaces, is a 15 minute drive from parks and beaches and a half hour direct train to lisbon. There are buses which go to various popular sights, but we rented a car and enjoyed the extra freedom. The villa is a two minute walk to the town, and is what we thought, the best located house in sintra!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian in España
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and son and I spent three wonderful days in this fantastic old house overlooking historic Sintra, the amenities and room we had were perfect not to mention how great our hosts treated us. I would highly recommend this place instead of staying in a normal hotel and the ambiance of staying there adds to the fantastic Sintra experience . We had breakfast on the veranda every morning overlooking the old town and could see all the way to the ocean. It was magical, the place was spotless and they allowed our dog to stay and let her wander there magnificent gardens. A absolutely great experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa

Address: Estrada da Pena, 04, Sintra 2710-609, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1898, the Bed & Breakfast - Villa Mira Longa is located in the historic center of Sintra, on the hillside, with a breathtaking view over the historic center, the National Palace, the ocean and the Moorish Castle. The Villa offers: On the ground floor a Standard double room with private bathroom with Garden view (Buffet breakfast included) for 2 persons. On the ground floor (side of the garden) a Estudio-Suite with kitchenette fully equipped and private bathroom. Also a little terrace.( The entrance is independent of the main house) (Buffet breakfast included). On the first floor a Junior Suite with private bathroom, view to historic center and Ocean. (Buffet breakfast included)) for 2 persons. On the top floor two bedroom ensuite ( Superior quadruple room) with private bathroom (Buffet breakfast included). For 3 to 4 persons. On the top floor a Superior double room with private bathroom, view to historic center and Garden (For 2 persons. (Buffet breakfast included). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.