We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant

Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant
Rua Consiglieri Pedroso 38-40, Sintra 2710-550, Portugal
+351 219 105 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 170 Restaurants in Sintra
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pacific, Washington
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I ate the best Foie Gras of my life here. And the best duck breast! This is a small, intimate place with a superb, professional Maître d, a great winelist, and excellent value. I would say that this was one of the best meals of my life. Fresh, local, in-season produce, excellent use of fresh herbs and spices - wow. I want to go back! Do not miss this restaurant, it is very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Lawrence's restaurant has a very warm and inviting atmosphere, good for a romantic night out. The consomme was nice though a bit cold, the salad, duck and the kid were very good, and the Piriquita reserve wine was an excellent match. The service was professional and well paced, though I would suggest you don't get the bread because the cover charge is nearly 7 euros.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“The Best of Sintra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

So far this is the best restaurant in town. The atmosphere and service is impeccable, and
the food first class. I've eaten there several times. When in town I always have dinner one of the nights at the Lawrence, it's very romantic and a perfect place for a peaceful, enjoyable, and
pleasant stay, even when I'm not a guest at the hotel. The service is professional and old
World. You we'll pay, but it's worth it on a special occasion. Try lunch outside it's perfect for
those more casual moments. The rooms are historical and unique with very tranquil views.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“great service and delicious food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Terrific outlook and beautiful room.The service was very friendly and professional.Lovely outdoor area for the warmer weather.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjcon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent two nights here and the hotel was very pleasant, but the food in the restaurant was particularly good. We had goat's cheese crepes which were the goatiest we've ever eaten (in a good way!). The chicken in madeira sauce was delicious and came with really tasty vegetables, including roast chestnuts. The wines was really good, and reasonably priced, and the service was attentive but never overbearing. For a smart hotel restaurant it is a very comfortable place to dine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.