We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Birthday Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant

Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant
Rua Consiglieri Pedroso 38-40, Sintra 2710-550, Portugal
+351 219 105 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 170 Restaurants in Sintra
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cascais, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My birthday dinner was perfect with my husband in a romantic and cosy ambiance in Sintra .
The food is fantastic and the menu changes frequently

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    22
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not a must”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I was in the hotel and choose to dine here following the Lonely Planet, however the advise turned to be wrong.
The restaurant is not as romantic as described, the two waiters were absolutely chaotic and didn't pay attention to basic things such as how to serve the wine (served as a coke). Food was fine, expensive but fine. Summary: there are other places, perhaps less known, but much more worthwhile.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wante to have lunch here as we had read some great reviews, I was a bit disappointed, the food was average, but I found it quite epensive. It was a nice garden to sit and have lunch in though and that I would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine dining but a less than memorable meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The restaurant is lovely, very classy with fine linen and china. We found the waiter to be on his dignity and not very friendly, although a young woman server was sweet and attentive. We expected the meal to be pricey but memorable. It was pricey, but the food was not what one would expect and we were disappointed after having read high recommendations for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Expensive but really worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lord Byron used to stay in this hotel and I am not surprised. This is tucked slightly away from centre but has a wonderful menu to offer. The seating area is huge with well spaced tables, instantly giving a comfort lacking in the town centre tourist traps. The service was attentive and friendly. For 4 people we were given a huge table near windows - which could easily sit 6-8 in any other place. The food was prepared with attention, our minor modifications were welcome mainly driven by children's eating habits. The presentation was beautiful, portion sizes were adequate and taste was finger licking. There are options available for vegetarians and they can adapt dishes if required.
The bill was on expensive side but not out of the world and I would say worth the money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.