We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the short walk from Sintra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant

Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant
Rua Consiglieri Pedroso 38-40, Sintra 2710-550, Portugal
+351 219 105 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 190 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the short walk from Sintra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Five star service from knowledgeable and friendly staff. They really made us feel valued customers despite our casual attire! Food was great quality and when we asked about wines we were recommended an excellent red that didn't break the bank. Their chocolate cake pudding is the best I've had.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    36
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A special evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We dined here with two other couples all of us celebrating our 35 anniversaries. The food was good to excellent and the waiters made a real show of removing the cloches from the plates. Only seen this done before in Prague.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old world quality food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Even if you're not staying at Lawrence's Hotel the restaurant is a must. Not cheap but worth it as the quality of the food, ambience, service is all excellent. A real treat. No gimmicks - just oozes class. We enjoyed a three course meal and just didn't want it to end - which is great as you are very welcome to linger for as long as you wish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“another excellent choice in Sintra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lawrence Restaurant, Dom Lopo and Tacho Real were the best places that we ate in Sintra. Lawrence restaurant had lovely service, and the food was delicious. I had a very good chocolate cake and a goat cheese crepe. I foolishly ordered tortellini as an entree, and it wasn't the special, but I think tha't my mistake for ordering Italian food while in portugal! The service was impeccable; our wine and water glass was always full and the food presentation was beautiful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“How could you not love this place?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Especially after dining at one of the tourist traps in the main square and paying dearly for mediocre food, this place is worth sharing. I am a (wanna-be) food snob and even after all my years of paying through the nose, I have never had two fully-suited waiters place covered dishes in front of a dining companion and myself and unveil them simultaneously. When we shared a half bottle of decent wine and the bill came to 40 euros I knew I had to let you all know. I wouldn't hesitate....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.