We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok food, but it's become a tourist trap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tasca Do Chico

Tasca Do Chico
6 Rua Arco do Teixeira, Sintra, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 170 Restaurants in Sintra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
723 reviews 723 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“ok food, but it's become a tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Decent food, slow service, jammed with tourists, loud, and over priced. It's in a trendy tourist part of town. We definitely ate better in other restaurants in the city.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    28
    7
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“We didn't stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

It's not often i walk out of a restaurant before ordering. Ok, this was the first time ever. We were seated by a nice enough member of staff inside one of the smelliest mouldiest rooms i've ever been in. Given a menu that was falling to pieces. The prices for starters were ridiculous. Mushrooms in cream,9.50 euros. This was one of the cheapest items. Mains didn't seem as bad, but wine was pricey and limited. We discussed it and found we were scrabbling to find things we wanted on the menu, so decided not to bother. They didn't seem surprised when we left, no other customers in there at all so others similarly unimpressed i guess.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Could be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Food was good Portuguese but dearer than average. Service very friendly but extremely slow, several people sat down but left without ordering. I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place for our family lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Went there after recommendations on tripadvisor and were not dissapointed. We came at a very busy hour - the staff hustling to and fro the tables - smiling in spite of a very hectic athmosphere. They managed to find a table for our group of eight (!) persons in fifteen minutes and we had a lovely tasty meal. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food and service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Read reviews on trip advisor, so went along to try.
Service was absolutely brilliant, very friendly, welcoming and 'natural'.
Food was very nice and traditional. We asked for recommendations, which we chose, and all were absolutely delicious. Our waitress was Sara, who was gorgeous, and so helpful.
Well recommended, great food, great staff, not mega cheap, but certainly not expensive. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasca Do Chico also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Tasca Do Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasca Do Chico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.