We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not totally authentic but excellent nonetheless!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midori

Midori
Penha Longa (A Ritz Carlton Hotel), Sintra, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 170 Restaurants in Sintra
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Not totally authentic but excellent nonetheless!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The food is delicious and the service excellent. Unfortunately, the restaurant is located inside a golf hotel and golfers can get pretty boisterous and loud which is a bit annoying when the restaurant's atmosphere is calm and the decor is elegant. Nevertheless, the tempura was perfect, the ingredients fresh. The Wagyu was pretty stringy but tasty. The black cod a nice alternative to bacalao!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    6
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor,very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Situated at the Ritz Carlton hotel in Sintra ,the restaurant which has been completely redecorated is absolutely BEAUTIFUL. Very modern,mixing restaurant and lounge has amazing views of Sintra mountains,through the beautiful hotel gardens.Food is quite good ,probably one of the best japonese in Portugal.There is a different buffet every wednesday and saturdays.The service is attentive and efficient and the waiters speak several languages.It is pricy ,like everything that is good ,but not too expensive. It is a must for japonese food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

All you can eat sushi..sounds sketchy...not so! This was a fantastic restaurant - simply beautiful with fabulous service. I do think they overuse their serving plates (one piece of sushi per little plate...), but everything was divine. We visited during the buffet...they had sushi, dumplings, pot stickers, fried rice, etc, etc. Everything was wonderful (one of the other diners may have gone up for dessert at least 5 times). Pricey, but the quality and service make it worth it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Probably the best Japanese restaurant in Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I'm not a big fan of Japanese food, but Midori's tepaniaky is an exception. Very good service, high quality...and of course very expensive. Good for special occasions!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, but service needs improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I made reservations for my wife and I to celebrate our anniversary. Upon arrival at the restaurant reception, staff was not very welcoming. The food took some time to arrive considering we were amongst the first diners. The whole meal was divine and presentation was brilliant. On the other hand, the table service has much room for improvement, considering the restaurant is the flagship of a five star luxury hotel. I had to constantly get up to fill up my wine glass and serve myself. Regarding the decor, nothing suggestions exotic oriental dining experience. Rather very modern. Not likely to return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midori also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Midori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.