We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have liked less with better quality.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tulhas Bar & Restaurante

Tulhas Bar & Restaurante
Rua Gil Vicente 4, Sintra 2710-568, Portugal
+351 21 923 23 78
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 190 Restaurants in Sintra
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would have liked less with better quality.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A family run restaurant - one of the busier places in quiet Sintra, we ordered the mixed grill that came quickly but was way too much for too people. The meat itself was alright but nothing to write home about. It came quickly but we didn't get through even half of the plate. We stayed to the end of the night and didn't feel rushed out the door. Adequate at best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    128
    53
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Big Canoe, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I really don't understand negative reviews about this place. Everything we ate was first rate. I had simple black grouper with vegetables. My wife had prawns with garlic sauce. The ham and cheese before the meal was just as good. The service was friendly and efficient. We asked the waiter for a wine recommendation In the states that would have meant the most expensive bottle in the house. At Tula's it meant an average priced wine with great flavor. I would definitely go there again and recommend Tulha's to all our friends

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Good service from the waiters, well decorated and absolutely normal wait time.

We ordered the kebab and veal steak with cream and mushrooms and both were delicious and perfectly cooked. The better part was the incredible portions. Totally fair for the, normally high, price asked.

Certainly one of the best places to eat in Sintra, recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
“Great food, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Tulhas is a very good restaurant in the old city center with a traditional atmosphere. The prices are reasonable and the service is perfect. You feel yourself comfortable. Thank you very much for the great food and friendship
Dr. Nazlı and Dr. Celal from Turkey

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Used to be great, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This used to be my favourite place to have a good, typically Portuguese meal in Sintra. It's not anymore. It feels tailor made for tourists now. The food is not as great as it was and to be honest doesn't make much justice to good Portuguese cuisine. As for prices, they're not high but aren't cheap either. On the other hand, the place is very cosy and the staff is (usually) pretty friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulhas Bar & Restaurante also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Tulhas Bar & Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulhas Bar & Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.